We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Inn(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Inn(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crosslands Farm(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Virginia House(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fishermans Arms(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rock House(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
180
4
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic toiletriesthe main housesausagewhite companylovely bathroom productsluxurious stayshort walkunique shopsbig comfy bedchurrascohighest qualityan excellent hostspacious roomsmall fridgejust returned from a night staysuited us perfectlystar service
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We booked this for a one night stopover when doing a cycling sportive. Whilst more expensive than other options, it was an incredibly relaxing place to be. Fine quality in every respect. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank salnursing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased you stayed so that we were able to look after you both, the weather was great for your cycle ride too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Never mind the weather, the welcome was all we could wish for...comfortable bed, excellent Cumbrian breakfast (who needs lunch?!), friendly dogs and no effort spared on Sam's part to look after us. I would have no hesitation in returning!
This is a B & B not a hotel (see below) so I've answered these questions accordingly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you so much Liz, it was lovely looking after you all and so pleased you had a lovely family weekend staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend away with my husband at Candlewyck B&B. Stayed in the beautiful barn room with wide open accommodation, tasteful furnishing and the highest quality breakfast.
Wonderful hosts and one of the most relaxing comfortable weekends away ever! Highly recommended, once you visit you will return time and time again I am sure.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elainedeeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam D, Owner at Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so very much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure looking after you both and hope to see you again soon. Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Myself, my partner and our 19 month old daughter have just returned from a 3 night stay at Candlewyck b&b and we had the most wonderful time we want to go back!

We stayed in the barn which was simply beautiful, huge space for ourselves, our own little fridge, big comfy bed, lovely bathroom & products with big fluffy towels. Breakfast was brought to us in the morning which is a huge bonus and was simply divine.

Sam who owns the b&b and Daria are incredibly welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

The setting is perfect, Ulverston is a lovely town with great restaurants and cafes within a 5-10 minute walk. I recommend the tapas and farmers, both of which you will need to book in advance.

We drove to Hill Top & Windermere which was roughly 40 minutes away. Also must pay a visit to the Buddhist temple which is incredibly beautiful and has a lovely walk to Morecambe Bay from Conishead Priory.

All in all a spectacular 3 days, do not hesitate to book!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kazboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

This was my second trip to Candlwyck, this time in the barn, away from the main house. Very spacious loft room, super clean and lovely bathroom products. Small fridge and kettle. Best part is being served a delicious breakfast, all locally sourced produce. Very happy just planning my return trip. Thank you Sam.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jeanie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews