We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
184
4
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseorganic toiletriessausagelovely bathroom productsluxurious stayrolling countrysideunique shopsbig comfy bedchurrascohighest qualityspacious roomsmall fridgejust returned from a night staysuited us perfectlystar serviceevery morningevery respect
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We recently stayed again in the barn of this wonderful B&B. It is just like having our own luxury apartment for the weekend. Beautiful White Company bedding and towels, designer toiletries and superb facilities, all combine to make Candlewyck our favourite escape. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the comfort of the extensive barn, and the lovely Sam is the perfect host. Candlewyck is situated on a peaceful country lane, yet is only a 10 minute walk into the town of Ulverston, where there is a superb tapas restaurant, L'al Churrasco and the lively Farmer's Arms pub. It is a scenic 25 minute drive from Coniston, so,as keen fell walkers, we are well-served for Coniston Old Man, Dow Crag and the lake itself. There are several books of local walks available to browse in the barn. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The barn is beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debscarter2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the barn on NYE as a family of 4 with our 2 boys. The barn was spotless, modern, beautifully decorated with added special finishing touches that made a fantastic experience. ( Sweeties left for the children and a real mini Christmas tree with lights).It was like home from home with all the facilities you could possibly need under one roof. The home made breakfast along with fruits and juices the next morning was scrummy with everyone catered for. The owner of the barn Sam was lovely and very welcoming and very understanding about a little mishap with a Father Christmas candle !Overall would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a luxurious stay in the Lakes.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

I have stayed at Candlewyck on and off for the last 6 months and have been very well looked after, nothing really is too much trouble.
The setting is idyllic and the property is well looked after and beautifully furnished. You are on the edge of the countryside, for a picturesque walk, but close enough to Ulverston to stroll into the historic market town for a drink or meal.
You are made to feel welcome from the start with a complimentary chocolate and a great choice of hot drinks, the rooms are tastefully furnished with a comfortable bed.
Only the best for breakfast, bacon and sausage from the pigs outside in the field, or at least they used to be, with local butter, bread and milk.

I really love this quiet rural retreat......

Room Tip: Ask for the barn, to be completely self contained in a large luxury room....
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Beautiful B&B with lovely hosts and a wonderful breakfast. Easily the best accommodation we have stayed in for many years. So many little things that added up to a luxurious stay. Location was excellent for a weekend in Ulverston.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Conor_Klaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Candlewyck Barn was the last stay in our mini road trip of Cumbria. We has been to Ulverston previously and were fully aware of all its charms so were delighted to find accommodation that would help us gain maximum enjoyment of our trip. This is a top class B and B with so many wonderful details and we especially liked the bathroom toiletries and of course the breakfast and although I eat porridge every day it is done so much better at Candlewyck. I do not think I have ever stayed in a cleaner place so huge thanks to Sam and Daria for all their hard work and charm

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank USAholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews