We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Inn(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Inn(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Crosslands Farm(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Virginia House(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fishermans Arms(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rock House(Ulverston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
180
4
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic toiletriesthe main housesausagewhite companylovely bathroom productsluxurious stayshort walkunique shopsbig comfy bedchurrascohighest qualityan excellent hostspacious roomsmall fridgejust returned from a night staysuited us perfectlystar service
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the barn on NYE as a family of 4 with our 2 boys. The barn was spotless, modern, beautifully decorated with added special finishing touches that made a fantastic experience. ( Sweeties left for the children and a real mini Christmas tree with lights).It was like home from home with all the facilities you could possibly need under one roof. The home made breakfast along with fruits and juices the next morning was scrummy with everyone catered for. The owner of the barn Sam was lovely and very welcoming and very understanding about a little mishap with a Father Christmas candle !Overall would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a luxurious stay in the Lakes.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

I have stayed at Candlewyck on and off for the last 6 months and have been very well looked after, nothing really is too much trouble.
The setting is idyllic and the property is well looked after and beautifully furnished. You are on the edge of the countryside, for a picturesque walk, but close enough to Ulverston to stroll into the historic market town for a drink or meal.
You are made to feel welcome from the start with a complimentary chocolate and a great choice of hot drinks, the rooms are tastefully furnished with a comfortable bed.
Only the best for breakfast, bacon and sausage from the pigs outside in the field, or at least they used to be, with local butter, bread and milk.

I really love this quiet rural retreat......

Room Tip: Ask for the barn, to be completely self contained in a large luxury room....
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Beautiful B&B with lovely hosts and a wonderful breakfast. Easily the best accommodation we have stayed in for many years. So many little things that added up to a luxurious stay. Location was excellent for a weekend in Ulverston.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Conor_Klaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Candlewyck Barn was the last stay in our mini road trip of Cumbria. We has been to Ulverston previously and were fully aware of all its charms so were delighted to find accommodation that would help us gain maximum enjoyment of our trip. This is a top class B and B with so many wonderful details and we especially liked the bathroom toiletries and of course the breakfast and although I eat porridge every day it is done so much better at Candlewyck. I do not think I have ever stayed in a cleaner place so huge thanks to Sam and Daria for all their hard work and charm

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank USAholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Had a wonderful stay here. Everything was perfect. Truly a cut above the norm. Highly recommend. Communication before arrival and on arrival was faultless, cleanliness, amenities and breakfast all 100%

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Snake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews