We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Uldale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
14Happytr...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Well equipped cottage, in a beautiful quiet hamlet. A short walk down a footpath to beautiful views. Great parking outside and lovely interior with period features. Great for sitting out at the back of the house on an evening in the piece and quiet. Fabulous history - the house was once the barn that was owned by John Peel-a local farmer made famous by a local song.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at this lovely cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed this quiet retreat and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScubaRach...
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy and cute”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful snug little cottage with bags of charm and character. Perfect location for exploring the area around Keswick.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your kind review following your stay at Barn Roost. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at this charming cottage and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peachy102...
grimsby uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

lovely little cottage in middle of no where, irbey village was just under a mile away, although there was nothing there... the sites say little shop and pub, well the pub has been shut 6 months and there is a little house that sells eggs and some fresh veg with a donation pot so thats ok, we found nearest village to be Wigton, about 7 miles away and that had a few shops, Spar and things like that so if you run short id recommend that.
The cottage itself was lovely, brand new kitchen and bathroom, very clean, nice enclosed garden out back which was a big plus for us as we had a little dog and he could go out without being on his lead...
everything you needed was the a fridge and dishwasher (although we didnt us that) and another fridge out in the conservatory with a small freezer on top.washer dryer very handy as we got rather muddy....
the bed room was massive with a very comfy big bed...
the cottage itself was very warm as well, we took some logs and lit the fire, you didnt need to mind you but it was a nice experience to have an open fire...
you dont get no phone signal there but once you get out and about you soon pick one up... there if wii fi which was good we was still able to keep in touch with people back home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being away from it all
Liked least: no cupboard space to put your shopping as it was full of pots etc...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of Barn Roost

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the property suitable for your requirements.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Barn Roost.

We are pleased you found the property well-appointed, enjoyed the bathroom and the drying area at the property.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Barn Roost or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Preston
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jan 2014
Thank you for your review of Barn Roost.

We are delighted you found the cottage well appointed and enjoyed the wood burning stove.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hope to welcome you back to Barn Roost or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing