We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveller rating
389
462
260
100
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
462
260
100
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach partiesred squirrelsbath housecoach tripbuffet breakfasthotel groundslake districtsingle track roadevening mealparty nightthe main hotellarge hotelinteresting historybar menuoff the beaten trackremote locationduty manager
Filter
Updating list...
1,221 - 1,226 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My wife and I, and friends, stayed for 2 nights as part of a couch tour. The hotel is in a pleasant rural location near a stream and a wooded valley which is home to red squirrels, not far from the M6. We were welcomed by the hotel manager who gave a brief introduction to the hotel services. The 2 bedrooms that I saw were small but adequate, clean and comfortable. Restaurant service for dinner and breakfast was good, and the staff pleasant and efficient. There were 3 coach parties staying there at the time of our visit; this did not pose any apparent problem or congestion.There is a large and well-furnished lounge/bar area. Some musical entertainment was provided on the first, but not the second night of our stay. Independent hotels which rely on coach party bookings can vary enormously in terms of quality, decor, cleanliness and the overall tourist experience. In my experience, this hotel compares extremely favourably with other similar places that I've stayed at.

Room Tip: Probably best to aim for front-facing rooms
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyweljones642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I have taken large groups to Shap Wells Hotel before - this time it was a gathering of over 100 professionals - for a morning talk and 3-course lunch. Careful planning in conjunction with the very helpful Events Manager, Charles, resulted in a most succesful event.
Staff were friendly and helped to carry equipment into the Hotel. Food was good - not 'gourmet' but all my guests were well satisfied. After lunch Manager Stephen gave a very interesting talk about the intriguing history of the Hotel. No bedrooms were used.
Overall a most succesful event - and great value. We certainly plan to return next year.
Yes - we also saw the red squirrels - wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greyontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed here with a group to revisit 'the lakes'! The food was mediocre (fairly monotonous, but that alone I could forgive) Unfortunately our first room had no water! We were given a second, but no one helped us move our stuff.

On a positive though the red squirrels really are amazing! :o)

Room Tip: Don't put up with less than ideal!
  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodle012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

On arrival i found the staff very friendly. The room was really clean and decorated very well. The beds were comfy and the bathroom clean and well presented. The view of the moors and a small stream was delightful. I heard no noise from other quests, no creacking floors. These is a lift to other floors but a small walk from it down a corridor to our room. The breakfasts were very good and yes, there are Red Squirrels, we spent over a hour watching them feed in the woods. A really delightful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Not the best Best Western hotel we have stayed in but still good value for money. Fantastic location just off the M6 but you felt like you were right in the middle of the countryside. Rooms were fine and food perfectly acceptable without being outstanding. Staff were generally friendly although some of the reception staff we felt could have been more approachable. Overall would recommend it if you are looking for a quiet hotel as a base in the Lakes or as a stopover if travelly further north.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews