We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with lots of personality and a fab restaurant”
Review of Shap Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shap Wells Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The hotel itself could best be decribed as English country charming. To get to my room (74) was a maze involving a few staircases up and then down. There is a lift, but only from G the 1st floor, so note this if you cannot manage stairs very well. The lobby looked somewhat like a hunting lodge, with a huge, comfortable bar, leading into the restaurant. The bar was well-stocked and was very nice to sit and relax in. Let me say the food here was excellent, I had their daily 3-course on Friday and then Fish & Chips off the bar menu on Saturday. Very tasty, and also the breakfast was excellent, good continental and cooked choices.

The room itself was a good size, with a double bed, two armchairs, a worksurface and chair, and a good-sized bathroom with shower/tub combo. The bathroom did seem tired and in need of a facelift, felt like an early 80's formica flashback, but it was nice to have a vanity large enough that I could actually set out my toiletries. TV was small and suspended above the worksurface, but worked fine. Bed was comfy especially with the extra pillows in the wardrobe. Would have been nice to have a proper duvet, as opposed to the old school thick bedspreads.

I did have a peek in room 75 and saw this one had a larger flat screen TV mounted on the wall, and a bathroom with an outside wall, thus benefiting from a window. Otherwise, seemed the identical decor and room size.

This hotel is located outside a village called Shap- there is nothing "nearby", unless you drive into Shap where there is a Co-Op market and a New Balance factory shop (totally unexpected for me!). It is really a hotel where one goes to relax and unwind, and base themselves out of for Lake District touring. The grounds are extensive and feature a waterfall, stoney brook, sheep, and a resident red squirrel. Being an older building, you can hear a lot of footsteps through the halls and upstairs but not as bad as some hotels I have stayed in recently.

Despite no duvets and a tired bathroom, this hotel was precisely what I was looking for on this holiday and would try and stay here again on my next visit in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,142 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

My wife and I, and friends, stayed for 2 nights as part of a couch tour. The hotel is in a pleasant rural location near a stream and a wooded valley which is home to red squirrels, not far from the M6. We were welcomed by the hotel manager who gave a brief introduction to the hotel services. The 2 bedrooms that I saw were small but adequate, clean and comfortable. Restaurant service for dinner and breakfast was good, and the staff pleasant and efficient. There were 3 coach parties staying there at the time of our visit; this did not pose any apparent problem or congestion.There is a large and well-furnished lounge/bar area. Some musical entertainment was provided on the first, but not the second night of our stay. Independent hotels which rely on coach party bookings can vary enormously in terms of quality, decor, cleanliness and the overall tourist experience. In my experience, this hotel compares extremely favourably with other similar places that I've stayed at.

Room Tip: Probably best to aim for front-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyweljones642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I have taken large groups to Shap Wells Hotel before - this time it was a gathering of over 100 professionals - for a morning talk and 3-course lunch. Careful planning in conjunction with the very helpful Events Manager, Charles, resulted in a most succesful event.
Staff were friendly and helped to carry equipment into the Hotel. Food was good - not 'gourmet' but all my guests were well satisfied. After lunch Manager Stephen gave a very interesting talk about the intriguing history of the Hotel. No bedrooms were used.
Overall a most succesful event - and great value. We certainly plan to return next year.
Yes - we also saw the red squirrels - wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greyontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed here with a group to revisit 'the lakes'! The food was mediocre (fairly monotonous, but that alone I could forgive) Unfortunately our first room had no water! We were given a second, but no one helped us move our stuff.

On a positive though the red squirrels really are amazing! :o)

Room Tip: Don't put up with less than ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodle012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

On arrival i found the staff very friendly. The room was really clean and decorated very well. The beds were comfy and the bathroom clean and well presented. The view of the moors and a small stream was delightful. I heard no noise from other quests, no creacking floors. These is a lift to other floors but a small walk from it down a corridor to our room. The breakfasts were very good and yes, there are Red Squirrels, we spent over a hour watching them feed in the woods. A really delightful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shap
5.5 km away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shap
89 reviews
4.3 km away
Tebay Services Hotel
15 km away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,771 reviews
20.4 km away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
478 reviews
21.2 km away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shap Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shap Wells Hotel

Address: between the A6 and B6261 | Nr Penrith, Shap CA10 3QU, England (Formerly Best Western Shap Wells Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Shap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Price Range: €54 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shap Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Stayforlong S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shap Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing