We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
36
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge bed stayed here one night low fell many thanks lovely room comfortable bed karen cockermouth conservatory furnishings lambs cleanliness lounge tv
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Karen & Andrew excellent hosts, cannot do enough for you. This was our 4th visit to this wonderful guesthouse, nothing is to much trouble. Karen even brought us chocolate's & a bottle of wine in celebration of our marriage, will be visiting again very soon.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Petina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Karen and Andrew the proprietors are very warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The house is spotless, the breakfast is plentiful, the scenery is jaw dropping. The rooms are tastefully furnished, firm beds, clean linen, all the toiletry essentials to make the stay pleasant and the room I take at the back has the most lovely large shower and a proper hair dryer! The double glazing keeps out the sound of the morning crows from the cockerel.

Karen has dried our clothes when sodden, prepared flasks for the day (ask the night before) and can do a pre packed lunch if you ask. Also, the gardens are gorgeous to walk in and the bird feeders near the dining room windows/doors are a delight to watch in the morning over breakfast.

They have a large guest lounge which is just like sitting in your own lounge at home - you feel totally welcome here.

If you are into your cycling, then the Whinlatter forest is moments up the road,
If you are into your fell walks, lake photos, birds then just step outside the front door and they are all right there waiting for you...

Room Tip: All rooms are nice! One room has a super king which divides into twin single beds
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with three other members of my family for a nearby wedding. The guesthouse was beautiful with perfectly manicured gardens and spotlessly clean accommodation, without that 'sterile' soulless feeling. Our host was warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.Breakfast was great and local produce was clearly included. The only downside for me personally was that breakfast was only served within a half hour window and I'm used to a little more flexibility.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank 468dawnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We were on a 5 day walk. Our first night out of Keswick was at Swinside End. It made a perfect end to a wonderful day. We were traveling with our son, his wife, and 18 month old grandchild and found a warm welcome with comfortable rooms. This area would make a great center for hiking and hanging out in the Lake District.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank cf1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Everything here is just perfect and all that a great B&B should be. The hospitality from the moment you arrive, the cleanliness of everything in the rooms and the communal areas, the quality of furnishings and the superb breakfasts every morning. The gardens are ideal to sit and relax on a summers evening and watch the birds feeding. Several great pubs serving food are within a few minutes drive as are walks with great scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneshiftuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews