We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly, homely, great breakfast and quaint location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly House Hotel

Holly House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenglass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, homely, great breakfast and quaint location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

My room was ensuite with a great shower and pleasant decor. a perfect place after a day's riding. Great village too, don't miss the Steam engines!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanClimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I've just had a weekend in the Lakes with a motorbike touring group. We used the Holly House as our base. It was a fantastic experience all around. The location with the estuary out the front door was superb. What made the trip complete was the friendly relaxed atmosphere here. We were treated to a fantastic full English to start the day. After a full days touring, it was so nice to be welcomed back at the end of the day. The Pub had a nice chilled out friendly atmosphere with some good Ales on tab. The evening Pub meal was great as well. The accomodation was basic but clean and tidy. It may not be 4 star, but for the budget traveller, I'd highly give this place 2 thumbs up.
Bob (from Boston)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmac_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

The decor is no frills but this doesn't detach from the fact that it is clean and very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities and television provided and fantastic views over the estuary. The breakfast is absolutely superb. We knew about the Holly House because we had camped at the local site a couple of years previously and had enjoyed the bar meals and real ales. We weren't disappointed with either on this occasion. If I had one complaint it would be the welcome when we arrived which wasn't particularly warm or welcoming - just a case of here's your key, your room is number 4 up the stairs turn to the right. There was no showing to the room or offer of help with the cases. This shouldn't detach from the overall experience however. Ravenglass is superbly situated for exploring the wilder area of Wasdale and the high peaks there, notably the Scafell massif, Great Gable etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

I would like to say this was a lovely holiday . The Holly House Hotel had a friendly atmosphere, we felt welcome through-out our stay. We were a little conserned with what was written on previous reviews. Dont let them fool you, we would be back to visit. Yes there is a cat and a dog but who's home dont these days. This was a lovely country adventure where we made the most of the weather and surroundings. We were please with the room which had an en-suite shower and plenty hot water....:-}

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybomill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0.1 km away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 km away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Muncaster Country Guest House
1.9 km away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Property: Holly House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing