We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
All Roads Lead to Rome

We visited this little museum on a bank holiday expecting it to be busy only to find we were the... read more

Reviewed 1 September 2020
mzdave
,
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
via mobile
A quirky little museum.

Although small, the museum manages to cover the history of the port and shipbuilding. Fascinating... read more

Reviewed 28 September 2019
Dumbunny
,
Leek, United Kingdom
Read all 52 reviews
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
33
14
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
14
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exhibits information harbour coastline reception
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

this is ideal for children and families. Lots to do and quite reasonable you have the roman museum nearby and also the harbour.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

lovely little gem of museum looking out onto the solway firth, this is birthplace of Thomas Henry Ismay of White Star Line fame. well worth visit

Date of experience: December 2012
1  Thank dolly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

A small but very interesting and informative museum charting the history of Maryport and its growing importance as an innovative shipbuilding centre - and then its decline through commercial changes. I was fascinated by the sideways ship launch technology and the sad stories of distasters at sea. The small library & archive are worth studying. The staff were extremely helpful and obviously take a pride in their museum. Do keep your entry ticket as this entitles you to a 10% reduction to entry to the fascinating Senhouse Roman Museum near by. NOTE : I've noticed 2 recent reviews which talk about an aquarium, with one mentioning that food can be obtained. The Maritime Museum does not have an aquariun and does not serve food. I wonder if the Reviewers have muddled this with the Lake District Coast Aquarium which is further down towards the old docks.

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank MedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

We were really dissapointed after paying our entrance fee to this attraction.
The majority of the displays were dirty and clearly not well kept, the fish were lifeless but the condition of the tanks they lived in i'm not suprised.
Shame for the staff though, as they were friendly and polite.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Loopylee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Its only a small aquarium but a nice day out non the less. The food is delicious and all staff are very pleasant. This is a place I have visited several times and will definitely go again. The park is brilliant as well.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank foodyhelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews