We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,601)
Filter reviews
1,601 results
Traveller rating
816
415
174
116
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
415
174
116
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river nature trail lovely hotel bar and restaurant sunday lunch beautiful location high standard birthday treat lovely food lovely room sauna and steam room fish and chips both nights weekend break wedding anniversary full english evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 1,601 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We were travelling through Cumbria and decided to stop off at The Swan Hotel for a late lunch. I’m so glad we did. A superb position right on the edge of the end of the lake and plenty parking available. The food was freshly cooked with a great selection. We only opted for soup and sandwiches but these were beautifully presented and the crisps / fries were fantastic. Reasonably priced , around £40 for 4 people including drinks and coffees. Only downfall were the muffins, not much taste but we had filled up with our lunch already. Will be back and possibly stay over next time as the spa and pool looked great.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank weldonwares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Visited here today with kids for use of the spa. It was £30 for two adults and two children. You didn't get towels included in the price and had to pay an extra £1 each for the use of the towels or take your own. Sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi were for age 16 and over, so only the pool can be used. Bit of an expensive trip for a small over crowded pool. However, it was clean and pool floats were available to use and there was no time limit. Will not be rushing back there any time soon.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bobster9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

The room was modern and very clean but the breakfast really let the hotel down.
Food choice was hopeless and very low quality such as hard cheap pastries,no yogurts ,no fruits ,toaster did not work ,no individual jams as expected in a hotel charging very high prices.Very poor service and no management at all in restaurant just youngsters .
Improvements really need to be made at breakfast as was extremely poor.
Hotel is on the river so nice setting but was very dark in carpark at night as not much lighting.We would look at other hotels in area on next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank claudio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Just spent a Sunday night in the Lovely Loft room which was up there with the best room I gave ever stated in. The hotel was full but this did not affect our stay. We ate in the hotel restaurant and as others have commented it is expensive but was very good and felt like a special treat. The staff were great without exception throughout the hotel. I have given 4 stars instead of 5 for two reasons. The continental breakfast. I expected some meat and cheese but there was only a limited choice of 3 cereals, fruit and toast. However for an additional cost there was an extensive choice of cooked breakfast. Full English £10. Secondly, the health suite wasn’t usable on the morning prior to checkout. There was a class on in the pool 9am - 1030am and the instructor was shouting at the top of his voice at the ladies taking part. You can imagine how this echoed around the small pool. It was impossible to have a relaxing sauna / steam / jacuzzi. There really was no need for him to be shouting like a drill sergeant at a boot camp. A few couples walked in heard the racket and walked out again after a few minutes. This spoiled our morning and meant that we left feeling a disappointed. This class is on 4 out of 5 weekdays. The instructor need to just lower his voice a little. He would still be heard clearly. Or the class be on 10 - 11 am when guests are checking out.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janey7748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We arrived and checked into one of the lovely rooms which indeed was lovely and with great views. The hotel is amazing with lovley decor and great facilities we ate in the restaurant at the night and in the morning both times great food and drinks. We used the spa the next day and also that was great. All the staff where very friendly and helpful. Will definelty be going back to this hotel.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank helenj0nesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews