We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
302
217
79
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
217
79
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealperfect englishthe pubsteak and ale piefull englishhis teambeautiful villagethe main squareold buildingmy partnersteeped in historynight staysmall roomlow ceilingsopen fireevening mealvillage square
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We stayed at the Cavendish Arms for 2 nights for the races. It's in the most perfect location, only a few minutes walk to the racecourse situated in the beautiful Cartmel. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, the rooms are quaint and spotless. The bed was really comfy and we got a good nights sleep. The food in the Cavendish is fantastic, breakfast was included and was to a high standard with lots to choose from. We also had a Sunday Roast and it did not disappoint. The place has a lovely atmosphere and was a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Stayed at the Cavendish arms 3 nights. We arrived on the 2nd May to a warm welcome. The rooms are not 5 star but are absolutely spotless. The food was excellent and breakfast 5 star without doubt. Thank you Cavendish Arms for a great 3 days.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Have come to Cartmel every year since I was little for the races, so this year we decided to check it out on a lazy Saturday afternoon.

We set the satnav to this pub after looking on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed.

We sat outside in the sun for lunch, the fish finger sandwich was lush!

We ordered a main each and a drink each which came to just under 30 pounds which we thought was a reasonable price.

Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff, would love to return

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pink243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I took our 6month old daughter with us for 2 nights away staying at the Cavendish Arms. We had a fantastic time - we felt immediately relaxed as soon as we arrived at the welcoming and warm Cavendish. The room was very clean and bright - we loved that they provided a mini coffee percolator to make filter coffee in the room- very nice touch! Tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable. Only minor issue is that we could hear the visitors next door so walls may be quite thin - but it wasn't loud enough to bother us and we all slept well. We had our evening meal at the Cavendish and the food is outstanding: I had the lamb shank main and it was perfect! The gravy was out of this world and all our food was very tasty and perfectly cooked and seasoned. Breakfast was just as delicious - we opted for the full English and it was THE BEST bacon I have ever had!! I was assured that much of the food is locally sourced and the bacon comes from a local farm. I have to say the quality of the food was excellent and it you could tell it was skillfully prepared and cooked so a top class chef too. The local area is very relaxing and we visited Grange over Sands which is pretty as well as a short drive to the Lake District which is very beautiful. We will definitely be returning for another visit - cannot recommend enough.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ffion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We have been to the cavendish arms ... a few times and absolutely love it .. the staff, food, location is amazing... the village is beautiful and cavendish arms serve the best food with a great atmosphere... rooms not 5 star luxury but so authentic and quaint not like a premier inn ... but lovely with all you need .. can't wait to return ... ❤️

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath which I prefer just Check when booking
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Epilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews