We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$103
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Engine Inn(Cartmel)
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
249
45
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
249
45
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjar of sweetsbeautiful dining roomgravel drivewonderful countrysidegrandfather clockupstairs loungeother guestseach eveningcomfortable hotelcountry housefriendly receptionistsuperb hotelsame high standardwine listlake districtfirst floorowners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

This was our 7th visit in 18 months and the hotel never fails to please. The large number of familiar faces (guests) is testament to the popularity and satisfaction gained in all areas of hospitality.

The fine dining and excellent clean and spacious rooms all with upgraded bathrooms/shower rooms provide excellent value for money. Country house hotel comfort for the price of a traditional B&B !

The house is a traditional Georgian properly that has been sympathetically upgraded without the loss of character and retains its ornate plasterwork and cornices. All too often these types of properties are spoilt by over modernisation, but thankfully the long-term owners Andrea and Chris have kept the property in excellent condition and complete with original working fireplaces, antique furniture and grandfather clock, all enhancing ones experience during ones stay. The 400 or so excellent reviews across the internet confirm the high level of hospitality, fine dining and the accommodation. Look forward to our 8th visit in October. Keep up the good work Andrea,Chris,David and the chefs and staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank globaldaveskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a lovely setting in the magical vale of Cartmel, with views across the meadow to the priory. The proprietors are charming and helpful and generate a lovely house party atmosphere for dinner (welcoming you coming downstairs, ushering to bar for drink etc.). The dining room is elegant with a large bay window looking onto meadows.

Unfortunately that's the end of the good news. The decor is beyond tired. It was cheap when first decorated, and hasn't aged well over the last twenty (at a guess, for the most part) years. Artex ceiling, wallpaper clashing with carpet and sofas, plastic windows in the public areas. Polyester bed covers. Cheapest pine veneer furniture and shiny fake brass light fittings. Then it's getting tired: our (single glazed) sash window was broken. No a/c and very stuffy (weather wasn't hot), and I suspect cold in winter from the fan heater in the cupboard. Shower flow very poor. Creaky chairs (to the point of near collapse) in the bar. Tiles slipping on the roof. Mismatched furniture etc. Felt like a negative spiral - dropping prices as can't make repairs so getting in even less money to do repairs so dropping prices further...

Again, the people who run it seem lovely and the setting and underlying building are unique and special. Please, please take advantage of current cheap credit and renovate thoroughly - this could be amazing!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank HolidaySpiritLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aynsomemanor, Owner at Aynsome Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

I am at a loss with this disappointing, confusing, hurtful and in part libelous review.
Your comments about location and atmosphere created by the owners are kind, however the remainder of your review is snide.
Allow me to correct some of your comments that are factually wrong.
- We have NO artex ceilings any where in the building.
- We have NO plastic windows in public areas, they are hand made and fitted accoya wood.
- Polyester bed covers - are you being serious?
- The bedroom furniture is bespoke Hammonds solid oak furniture NOT pine veneer !!
- "creaky chairs on the point of collapse" in the bar, is just plain ridiculous.
It is obvious that Aynsome Manor was not for you, but the 250 excellent reviewers on Trip Advisor found many aspects of Aynsome to enjoy.
I take all comments seriously and will endeavour to continually improve our lovely 300 year old manor house.

Chris Varley.
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

One night stay mid August. The hotel is situated in a very quiet location just ouside of Cartmel, an idea base to explore the Lake District. Entering the property on the gravel drive leads you directly onto the residents car park. The main enterence leads straight into a lounge area. The carpets and furnature are maintained to a very high standard. I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was extremely helpful. After a tour of the hotel and shown to my room. The room was immaculate. The carpets and furnature were of a high quality and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was equipped with a tv, kettle, coffee/tea, biscutes and even a jar of sweets. Spotless bathroom with shower cubicle. The bathroom had a selection of grooming lotions which were larger than you find in most hotel rooms. The furniture in the dining room was grand and the window commanded a wonderful countryside view. The evening meal was one of the most enjoyable I have experienced in a UK hotel. Staff were razor sharp and attentive. The evening meal was followed by coffee and nibbles in the first floor lounge. Breakfast followed the same high standard as the evening meal. There was everything you would expect and all cooked to order. I cannot wait to book another visit!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. First thing that I felt was the superb service received right from the start.
Nothing is too much trouble. The room we had was comfortable, not huge, but adequate. The view was superb, a few cows and green, green fields. So quiet, it was extremely peaceful.The hotel is very traditional, in decor and service. The restaurant is very popular in the area, for good reason as the food is very good and the menu changes daily, with locally sourced ingredients.
Breakfast was excellent, a lovely menu, a great service.
The only danger is a risk of getting seriously overweight! There are lots of great walks in the area to help with this.
Recommended. Will return if we visit the area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank molly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We have just returned from a lovely few days at Aynsome Manor, what a find.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who showed us to our room. The Chef produced some very high end food at a very reasonable price. The breakfasts were some of the best, we had perfectly cooked poached eggs, back bacon,grilled tomatoes mushrooms and black pudding. Butter beautifully served in slices on a plate, (no foil covered packs), and marmalade in a little dish, was a nice touch. The dinner menus were varied with fish, game, meat and vegetarian options. We particularly liked the pan fried cumbrian pork served on a chickpea cassoulet with red wine and herb jus, the roasted breast of guinea fowl served on grilled portobello mushroom, sage and onion polenta and madeira cream sauce, Cod in creamy chive sauce. The vegetables were also good selection and cooked well - fine green beans, mediterranean vegetables,herb roasted new potatoes and berrichone poatoes (a sliced potato stack in cream - yum!).

Often we have found some chefs are better with savory courses and not desserts or visa versa, but not here, the puddings were great we loved the panaccotta and berry sauce, brandy snap basket filled with passion fruit sorbet drizzled with rasberry coulis and the rhubarb creme brulee. Every night there is a good selection of hard and soft cheese and you are offered to choose two, and coffee in the lounge.

The service was excellent and got even better when Chris the owner returned from days off, he had a very nice style on interacting with guests, on one night he offered us a nice table from the one allocated to us, and more so when we saw him talking to a disabled client, offering all sorts of adaptions to the menus to suit his dietary needs, that was a really nice touch. Two of the waiters were brilliant they were students,the service they gave us was outstanding, a friendly but not intrusive service, of a standard you would expect in top style restaurant!

The reasons for not giving five stars are the following:
We were hit by the unpleasant smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor outside our room when we arrived and on two other occasions (there are no smoking signs on all bedroom doors).The waste paper basket was still full from the previous inhabitant. on one occasion the fire door was left ajar all night.No hooks and poor lighting in bathroom.
A member of staff banged their bedroom door (adjacent to our room) late at night and early morning. Smoke seemed to seep into our bathroom not sure where from. No flask of milk as described on back of cupboard door.

All these housekeeping things would take very little to sort out and would leave guests feeling they had had an exemplary stay. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jap395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews