We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
117
58
8
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
58
8
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub great food stayed here for one night friendly atmosphere salt and pepper lovely meal will visit again family meal fish and chips steak friendly staff and locals lake district live music serving food slow service family room half term
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stumbled across The Black Cock Inn on the last night of our five day stay in the lakes...and desperately wished we'd come across it sooner...The bar tender greeted us in a manor that made us feel instantly welcome & comfortable.
The menu was varied and interesting & the 'specials' board even more so....we both ordered from the specials board and what a delight...my partner had the gammon whilst I had mushroom stroganoff...all of the ingredients were fresh and beautifully prepared & presented.....the sweet....WOW....chocolate torte with ice cream & cream....again beautifully prepared & presented and so fresh it just melted in your mouth....if we visit the lake district again we will be making a B line for the Black Cock Inn :-)

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kenny_Jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Stopped unexpectedly for lunch & were treated with excellent food and service. The teenage boys said, "this is the best food we've had in a restaurant", which is high praise indeed. The desserts were excellent. Little sun trap of garden was a treat on autumn sunny day. The beer was very good from Cumbrian breweries.

Room Tip: We only ate here.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey-Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Great pub, great ale and great food. Staff and the locals very friendly, always give a great welcome.
Stayed for two nights b&b. Reasonably priced, breakfast included. The full monty breakfast was delicious. Ideal for walkers. The room had everything you needed with the little extras thrown in, like the tea/coffee box, the alarm clock, soaps and shower gels.
Well worth a visit or a stay.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank BlueyGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stayed for a couple of night while walking in The Lake District. Good location for some of the southern fells and located in a pleasant village with other amenities such as a bakery. The Inn does good evening meals. Helpful staff.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank PaulH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Love this pub it's in a lovely location in Broughton in Furness, Lady behind the bar
was polite & friendly, good varied home cooked food meat supplied by local butchers,
good selection of drinks, has small beer garden

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews