We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
273
36
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
273
36
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath small hotel lake district hogget bird feeders borrowdale valley superior room without being intrusive dining room walk in shower within easy reach high standard peace and quiet food was wonderful modern bathroom leave the car half board
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

The reviews all correctly comment on the beautiful location, excellent food, great rooms etc., all of which is absolutely correct. We want as a group and what we really noticed was the little kind touches from the staff. This is a very professional and well run small hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel last week. The location is lovely in Borrowdale within easy reach of many places. The hotel is immaculately clean and the service is very good. We stayed in room 9 on the ground floor; it had an excellent spacious bathroom with a great little unusual vanity area with very good lighting and mirrors. The bedroom itself is very small and unfortunately nowhere comfortable to sit other than the bed, ok for one night but was not ideal for more. I do believe there are more space and chairs in other rooms, just a pity we didn’t get one! The food was very good indeed, a little more change to the menu from day to day would be appreciated; the chef is excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure there are chairs or a sofa.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank happytosew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We stayed in room 3 with views to die for ! It was very clean ,smart and pleasing room.
The bathroom was very well appointed especially the position of the toilet for viewing red squirrels in the beautiful grounds below.
All the Staff were so polite and couldn't do enough for you.
We dined both nights of our stay and the food could not be faulted. It was exceptional cuisine especially the venison. We also enjoyed trying different wines that were recommended.
We will definitely be back to this perfect small hotel.

Room Tip: room 3 views and size
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank caz644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Lovely dining experience although took several attempts to book a table - always an indication of good cuisine. Only sometimes able to take bookings from non-residents, so perhaps worth staying at the hotel to make sure!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank JRMaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Celebrated our ruby wedding anniversary with our grown up children and their partners in this lovely hotel. From the moment we arrived we were very well looked after by Laura and the team. Rooms were spacious, well equipped and very comfortable, 2 had spa baths which were very welcome after a long walk. 2 nights of fabulous food expertly served. Great choice for breakfast too. The newly refurbished bar is a great place for a nightcap. There was nothing else we could have wanted - except perhaps some sunshine. Would definitely recommend it and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank JulesVinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews