We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveller rating
641
324
125
58
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
641
324
125
58
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prestige room wine tasting silver service no lift conservatory area lake district sister hotel on arrival dining room scones sunday lunch classic room course dinner lovely hotel high standard short break first class
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Hotel fine apart from given tiny room with two dogs on second floor which made it awkward in middle of night if dogs needed to go out . No space to swing a day in the room unfair as we did say we had two dogs !
Apart from that all very average and acceptable dinning was best experience !

Room tip: Check room if bringing dogs and bring towels food bowls nothing is provided for them not even a wash down area before coming into hotel!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim-GMBorrowdale, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for the feedback.

I am sorry that due to availability we were unable to allocate a larger room to accommodate your request.

I am pleased that you enjoyed dining with us, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, and in one of our larger rooms should you bring the dogs.

Best wishes.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We booked this on a spur of the moment as we always seem to head to Windermere. Well I can say that Keswick is stunning !! The hotel was very friendly and we booked The Borrowdale specifically as it stated "Dog Friendly" and it was. Our dog Reuben was in our lovely room (Can't remember the exact number but 30-something - on the top floor with double aspect window looking at at the front and to the side garden too.) The breakfast was lovely - everything you would expect - and we had this in the conservatory, where Reuben was allowed to sit under out table. We had champagne in our room on arrival as a treat (only £35 which we thought very reasonable) and we ate in the bar area in the evening by choice as Reuben couldn't go in the restaurant. We did know this before we booked. We like the bar area and had the restaurant menu, one night we also too the wine flight to accompany it. I would definitely go back it was clean, friendly and a great location.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jane_costigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim-GMBorrowdale, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for the review, and for choosing the hotel and Keswick.

I hope you will come back for another visit.

Best wishes

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We had a lovely stay at Borrowdale with friends from Australia. Welcoming staff at check in. Rooms slightly small but tastefully refurbished with a good sized bathroom also well refurbished. Dinner was a real dining experience. Excellent service from delightful young staff. Food was delicious and high quality at both dinner and breakfast. Coffee was served in the hotel's bar/conservatory which was refurbished and had a lovely atmosphere. Very impressed with everything about this hotel. We should like to return when time permits.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim-GMBorrowdale, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for the review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 2 nights for my birthday, we loved the place, the food was beautiful, both breakfast and a 7 course dinner, small and we'll presented each one,but am sure you wouldn't want 7 massive plate fulls!! All was delicious, the views around here are fantastic, drive out the hotel right and straight into Keswick, which is full off bars, restaurants and beautiful shops,there's a big market here Thursdays and Saturdays, if you go left out the hotel and just keep driving you go all through the mountains, absolutely stunning!!! if we visited this area again I would definitely stay her again, oh yes the room we was in was beautiful, back of the hotel so not a view of the lake, but hey we didn't come to sit in the window, would highly recommend thankyou for a beautiful weekend X

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank samfarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim-GMBorrowdale, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you, and you are very welcome.

I hope that we were able to make your birthday a memorable one.

You clearly loved the location and the surroundings, which are simply stunning and dramatic.

Welcome back anytime.

All the best.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

My daughter and I enjoyed a three night stay here.The quality of food served here is, in our opinion, excellent both in terms of quality and presentation. Our dinners were some of the best either of us had eaten for a long time. Add to this excellent service from the servers and you end up with two very satisfied customers.
Breakfasts were excellent although we did think that the quality of the bacon was not quite as good as the rest of the ingredients. The fresh fruit salad was particularly good as was the wide choice of cereals, fruits and juices.
Our rooms were comfortable and very well equipped from the bath robes to the sachets of drinking chocolate. A welcome feature was the fact that the bedside lights allowed one to read in bed - something that is lacking in many hotels. The room was a little small and cramped but this is, to some extent, to be expected in hotels that date back to the Victorian era.
We'd be more than happy to return when next in the Lake District,

Room tip: Ask for a room at to front of the hotel - they have better rooms.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bix1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim-GMBorrowdale, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you so much for your excellent review.

It is clear that we met and possibly exceeded your expectations and I am delighted that our hospitality and fair is appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Best wishes

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews