We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,496)
Filter reviews
2,496 results
Traveller rating
1,345
559
303
154
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,345
559
303
154
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar birds of prey land rover experience tranquility spa afternoon tea roll top bath the wow factor secret escapes wedding venue four poster classic room beautiful venue main restaurant wedding breakfast birthday treat cheshire countryside special occasion
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 2,496 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Best stay ever. 5* treatment by all staff; Receptionist superb, writing staff second to none. Hotel - absolutely nothing to fault. Accommodation fantastic and the whole hotel clean to the highest standard. The Groupon deal made this and affordable luxury stay. Can't recommend highly enough. Downside .... so popular was difficult to rebook so keep trying. Worth the wait.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Verna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

There were 6 of us so in 2 vehicles. Firstly both drivers struggled to locate this place in the dark as it is situated on a rural country lane. There are no lights at the main entrance which we found strange and made it difficult to locate. Once parked again no lights were on in the car park (at 7.30 so maybe a timer issue) and no signs directing us to the entrance so we found ourselves at the delivery entrance !! Finally we stumbled upon the correct entrance and must say the castle looked beautiful. We dined in the 1851 restaurant which looked lovely. There was a set 3 course menu (4 choices on each course) for £25.00 which we all thought was good value. However the wine menu was a very different story !!! Based on those prices it certainly wasn’t going to be boozy night !!! We all agreed that the wine prices were very expensive and would stop us all from retuning. The meal was good, all 6 of us enjoyed it. Not the best I have ever had but very good for the price. The staff were not overly attentive or particularly friendly and the service slightly slow. Was surprised when we asked our waitress a question on the menu which she didn’t know the answer to. Suggest the servers are prepped on what is what on the menu in future so they know what each thing is on the menu. We did enjoy our evening but there is room for improvement in the lighting, signage, wine prices and teaching the staff to smile.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wendyc497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We visited and stayed over at Peckforton castle last Saturday for a family wedding. On arrival what a stunning castle very grand and enchanting.
We were very excited to stay here.
Beautiful grounds and well kept.
We checked into reception where we were greeted with a smile and asked how we were. Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived so I asked if I and my daughter could get changed and they said this wasn’t a problem.
We met Adam he was really helpful probably the most helpful person on our stay. He carried the cases up aload of stairs and showed us to the changing room.
Once changed we could kick back and relax before the wedding got underway.
We took a walk round the grounds and took some pictures.
We then found a lovely seat and made ourselves comfy with a drink. Adam was very kind and brought us some wine glasses.
People were just starting to arrive and it was getting busy.
The wedding was due to start for 12 so we were shown to the wedding ceremony room.
It was a stunning service even Bobbi the owl played a part by flying with the rings which was lovely.
The food at peckforton castle was nice but very small portions also the drinks were very expensive a beer was £5
Our room was lovely and enchanting it was lovely to stay in a castle we were charged over £30 for an extra bed for our daughter I had told reception that we wouldn’t want this and they said it had to go in.
The little extra items in the room like the luxury shampoo and conditioner is lovely and I used them and they were great. A nice touch.
The bed was lovely but the pillows were hard.
Our room was quiet we slept well and never heard any noise in the room where we were.
We never made it down for breakfast the next morning so can’t comment on this, could smell it and it smelt lovely.
Overall our stay at peckforton was lovely but I don’t know if we would stay again as it is really expensive and remote.
Thank you

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anna-marie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

A beautiful Victorian castle in stunning surroundings. The entrance is definitely making a statement about its grandeur and what is behind the doors.
The brasserie has delicious food and the afternoon tea was delicious and they catered for dietary requirements without a fuss.
The castle is well signed of the A49 and their is valet parking if you want or you can park your car yourself if you want.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 798nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

The entrance to this place is magical!! Free valet parking and a Wonderful welcome as you entered the Castle. Onsite dining. Breakfast included. Not that continental rubbish either. A must if you're heading north.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank darrengriffiths2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews