We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night”
Review of LEGS OF MAN

LEGS OF MAN
Ranked #12 of 80 Restaurants in Sandbach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Table booked for 7pm and 7people and when we arrived people were all ready eating and bar area was busy. All the reviews go on about the place set in the 70/80's well if that's what you don't want well don't go to this place. We have had many get togethers here over the years yes the menu is the same but what you get is well cooked fresh food and considering how busy it was last night we didn't have to wait long for our starters. I had the best starter of salt and pepper spare ribs far better than any Chinese restaurants we have been too as a starter and had fish and chips as a main course the fish was so fresh and white and batter was lovely. In fact everyone's meals were first class plates sent back empty. Yes main courses some are pricey but you do get value for money here. Also there is no point with the orange slice on all meals legs of man save yourself some money stop serving it on all your meals!! Thanks for a lovely meal.

Date of visit: November 2017
4  Thank smfSmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017

Attended for lunch today in a party of 6. First thoughts - old fashioned decor, menu has too many items - not possible for all to be freshly or even recently cooked. However, the food turned out to be highly satisfactory and good value. Don't understand the slice of orange with every meal - no matter what, but I like orange. The spread provided with the very nice included bread rolls was some kind of grease that I could not put a name to but certainly not butter. Most of our party loved the chip shop style chips provided as a side dish whether requested or not but I prefer crisp and dry outside, fluffy inside - twice or triple cooked. Service was reasonably speedy and the staff were efficient and pleasant. Bill preparation rather slow. All in all, not exceptional but satisfactory and good value.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

The last time I ate here was 6 years ago for a family celebration. I recently visited here in the last, again for a family celebration and it was exactly the same menu.
Every meal, no matter what it is, starter or main is served with a slice of orange. Why? Why would I want a slice of orange with a mixed grill? Why would somebody want a slice of orange with a curry?
The pub is stuck in the 1970's. The menu is stuck in the 1970's. The waiters and their silver service are stuck in the 1970's. Maybe I'm missing the joke?? Maybe it is actually a 70's themed pub.
Below average food at high end prices...
Time for a change and get in 2017

Date of visit: November 2017
4  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Visited here last Saturday 29th the food , service and ambience was superb cannot fault the wonderful meal. Well worth a visit. We will return

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank SHINING26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

A party of 6, we visited this lovely restaurant today. I have to say that the food and service here is second to none. We arrived at 12.30. Table was Pre booked and we sat in the bar area. Service was very quick. We bought our drinks at the bar, was shown our table and then took a look at the extensive menu. We did not have starters as we knew the meals would be large but we were still served bread rolls with butter prior to our meals. 2 of the group had lasagne, 2 had chicken/mushroom pancakes (which are smothered in cheese), 1 had sliced lamb and one had steak pie. All were served with vegetables and the chips were proper home made chips. The food was piping hot and the vegetables were perfect. We could not eat all of our meals but only because there was so much food. We were all well satisfied. The staff were attentive at all times. Just cannot fault the place and we will definitely go again. Could not have had a better lunch.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jodieblue2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LEGS OF MAN also viewed

Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Been to LEGS OF MAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing