We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
18
9
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
9
8
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Went for a family meal celebrating a birthday. I found it a little pricey At the bar then I looked at the menu it didn't have a brilliant selection but not bad. I chose a mixed grill and to be honest I've had much better elsewhere for less money it came out on a red hot cast iron plate which the waiter almost dropped into my lap and a little bowl of chips I would have preferred it all on a plate. It wasn't to bad but again I've had better all the other meals were about average but the brother in law opted for a pork chop and basically that's all he got I was shocked no vegetables just the smallest serving of mashed potato underneath the chop as if it was glueing it to the plate. I found you were paying for the surroundings as it is a stunning place but I definitely won't be running back there for s long time

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kenbanditrider1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

The food here was very good but we waited ages for it to arrive. It was lunchtime and they were not particularly busy. When it arrived one of the dishes was incorrect so there was yet another delay. A pity as this spoils the occasion when we cannot eat all together. Otherwise good value for money.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Coppington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Visited on 17th December arrived with 6 other one of which is very elderly and deaf and one who has had a severe stroke is is disabled.I had booked 6 weeks ago asking for a quiet table on arrival the place was heaving and the table we were given was in the bar right by the speaker and television which had the football on full vlast. Asked to be moved no tables we waited 35 minutes before anyone came over and a further 15 minutes for a drink! We ordered the food and when it came I can only describe it as mediocre, we could not have a proper conversation as the noise from the football was overpowering. My elderly friend was paying and when the bill came she paid on her card only to be asked 10 minutes later for an extra £80 because they had made a mistake. I spoke to the supervisor who was very helpful and offered me £30 compensation which I took as I didn't want a fuss, the bar manager came over and what a rude man he was no sympathy or understanding of the situation. I wrote an email to the general manager outlining my points and he offered me another meal for two with 25% off when I said I would never go again he said there was nothing more than re he could do as I had taken £30! The bill was over £250 for appalling service and mediocre food. The hotel always had a good name but they have become complacent. Avoid it because if you have a problem it isn't addressed and quite frankly the management couldn't care less, will never visit again

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mickeymouse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Arrived with a group of friends after a day walking in Llangollen.
Had a private room for about 35 people.
We booked the Christmas menu which was excellent.
The staff were courteous and the food was served efficiently.
The atmosphere was good, we provided our own entertainment and overall a very pleasant evening.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank susanne059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We booked a night here to stay after a day of shopping at Cheshire oaks. The hotel was beautiful and the room was amaizing. We had dinner at the restaurant. (Christmas menu) and I would recommend to anyone. The staff are really attentive and made us feel really welcome. We also had drinks in the bar afterwards and had a lovely night. The room and Ensuite are like new and no expense spared! Not to mention the lovely spa that we used (included in room price).Well worth that bit extra in price compared to other local hotels. Will definitely be visiting agin soon! Wonderful hotel!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leee620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews