We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mini spa break”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Went to Crewe Hall for my wifes 50th birthday, a suprise from the kids.
Arrived about 11 o'clock and although the room wasn't ready we were welcome to use the facilities immediately. Decided to have a look around and have some lunch before checking in. The lunch was included in the spa break and was very good and could be taken either day.
After checking in we decided to upgrade to a four poster room in the old part of the hotel for £25. The room was very nice, albeit a little on the warm side even for the end of February, may be too warm in the summer months, I think this was due to being very close to the boiler room, it wasn't a major issue but it might be useful to others.
The evening meal was very well cooked, fresh and with decent portions, the spa break allows up to £26 per person for this meal which meant that the locally produced steak was off the menu for us, but we could have paid the extra.
The break included full use of the pool which we used and the gym which we didn't and 2 spa treatments each (I gallantly gave one of mine to my wife) which were taken the following morning after a full and continental breakfast.
For around £100 per person it is not a cheap night away, but it is a very good value one, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilsalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear neilsalop,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent spa break with us at Crewe Hall which was a surprise gift.

I was delighted to read your detailed account of your stay with us and that the food, Spa break and levels of service were very well received. We have a great team here at Crewe Hall as each and every member of staff is proud of the product and services we offer, and it’s a pleasure to receive such feedback from our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write about Crewe Hall Hotel.

Best regards
Mart Louwerse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,818 - 1,822 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday treat 3 years ago and were so impressed that my husband booked it again for my 40th birthday last April when we also renewed our wedding vows. (a surprise to me). We stayed for 3 nights and found the staff very helpful, especially Andrew who helped my husband during the planning stage. We stayed in a suite, in fact we booked 3 different suites for our family. We had the Kings suite and it was fabulous, with a seperate area with 2 sofas, 2 tv's and plenty of room to spread out.The other suites were all different but beautifully furnished. Most of our family stayed in the new part and were also impressed with their rooms.
The hotel is simply stunning and has 2 seperate distinct areas, the old part and the new extension. I spent some time in the spa and found the staff there to be helpful and professional, they did a great job of my make up on the day. My kids enjoyed the pool and it was never overcrowded.
The food was a bit hit and miss, Breakfast was great each morning, lots of choice and the food was cooked fresh. We had room service for lunch and had sandwiches with hand cut chips which were the best chips I've ever eaten (and I've eaten lots!!). Dinner in the brassarie was also great but the service was very slow. The food served during our wedding breakfast was fantastic. My only criticism was the beef was served a little too rare for my taste and some of our guests. It would have been nice if they asked how our guests would like it. The creme brulee was amazing. The food served in the evening wasn't great, we opted for sausage and bacon sandwiches with chunky chips. They were not presented very well and the chips were a little undercooked. I did't actually eat any of them as I was still full from our meal.
I was a little disappointed with the staff on the day of our renewal of our vows as there wasn't much communication on the day. After our meal we were asked to leave the room while they prepared it for the evening. This took much longer than anticipated and our evening guests were arriving and there was not much room in the bar area. It was well after 9pm when the room was finally ready when we were told it would be ready by 8pm. I wouldn't say it spoiled our day and I think all our guests seemed to have a great time.
I would definately recommend this hotel for just a short break or for a wedding, The rooms are amazing especially in the old building. The grounds are stunning and we have some great Wedding pictures. I hope to return again soon for a relaxing break

Room Tip: Stay in the old building, the rooms are amazing especially the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 240vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear vick11

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your weekend with us three years ago for your birthday and surprise renewal of vows.

It appears that overall you had a great stay with us, and I hope that the weekend holds happy memories for you,

As I am sure you can appreciate, the hotel has a new management team in place, including myself, however your comments will still be passed on to the relevant departments to help with their team training. I will personally pass your thanks onto Andrew, as he is still working hard as our senior wedding planner at the hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write about Crewe Hall Hotel, and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.

Best regards
Mart Louwerse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel for work and was surprised at the lack of service, poor quality food and drink we experienced throughout our stay. Dinner was served late, the vegetarian in our group was given meat and fish in his main meal, choice of alcohol was poor (and expensive) and no food or drink was sourved locally. Additional cutlery was not provided at dinner for steak or the after dinner cheese and at breakfast I was not offered a warm drink. I also had to retrieve cutlery from another table! The old house feels completely disjointed from the new hotel and brasserie with confusing signage. Overall I was very disappointed with my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotelharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Rotelharp,

Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us at Crewe Hall, however I was very disappointed to hear about your experience at the hotel.

I have shared your concerns with both the Restaurant Manager and Executive Head Chef to ensure that they take lessons from your feedback.

I would however really appreciate it if you could contact me personally at the hotel about your experience on 01270 253333.

Kind Regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We got a very good deal on this hotel, unfortunately I hadn't appreciated it was on the same day as the bridal fayre!
When reaching our room it smelt of smoke and this was immediately rectified by being shown to another room. I couldn't fault the service.
The spa was lovely and relaxing, the room was very clean and comfortable and when ordering room service the food was delicious. I only had two minor niggles, the initial being that they didn't have the sparkling wine that i wanted there was an alternative offered but this was more expensive and there was no allowance for that. I was a little disappointed that our dinner was served in the bistro, although I would say that there was nothing wrong with the food, the menu was limited and when I came to have lunch the next day ended up with the same starter. the bistro was cold and don't think that you have to dress up as I thought I would but then I thought I would be dining in the main hall as I had on a previous visit!! As I said they are only niggles and it certainly wouldn't put me off going again or recommending it to other people. The service was excellent and for me that is very important.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear LiverpoolLam

I would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay at Crewe Hall for a spa break.

I was disappointed to hear that you experienced a couple of issues whilst staying at the hotel. I am unsure as to why the wine you requested was unavailable, but have asked the Brasserie Manager to look into this. Our Brasserie Chef has since changed our restaurant menu to ensure it is in line with what our guests would expect including locally sourced items.

I hope that this will not deter you from visiting the hotel as we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My sister took us and our mum to Crewe Hall for a full spa day and meal in the main restaurant. The staff and entire day were faultless and very relaxing. The spa includes beautiful treatment rooms and waiting area, as well as a medium pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, experience shower, ice bath and heated stone seats. The hotel was easy to find and absolutely stunning architecturally. A visit/tour of the main section of the oldest part of the building was a great way to finish a perfect day. We are hoping to go back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Laura B

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent spa day with us here at Crewe Hall.

I was glad to read that you felt your visit was top notch and that the day itself and staff were faultless. It appears that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself. We look forward to your return.

I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Crewe Hall.

Best regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
7.5 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
29.6 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,609 reviews
30.8 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
36.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
27.3 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: €102 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing