We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty shabby overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The room was filthy. OK the sheets were clean and the main parts of the bathroom were clean but all around the edges were dust strewn, cobweb strewn and had insect cocoons.

The Breakfast food was fine but the equipment was broken. For example pulling away the drip coffee jug meant the coffee kept dripping, the server tried to explain to me that was the way it should be. The cover over the Croissants fell apart when I lifted it and again the server said that it had been broken for some time.

Throughout breakfast we were entertained with vacum cleaners and around out table and mopping on the hard surfaces where we were sitting.

Superficially the pub area was attractive, but look closer and the chairs were frequently covered by nasty stains.

The actual food at breakfast was ok and we had a meal the night before that was very good value and tasty, but one does wonder what the kitchen is like if the rooms are so dirty.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnofNewsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_TheMerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

JohnofNewsham, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback of your experience and bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve, and we humbly ask for the opportunity to make this right. If you are willing, please contact the general manager directly at 01625599959 so we can discuss your feedback in more depth and work towards a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Leighanna and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

The room was big and comfortable, but the common areas (especially the stairs) had a strong smell that permeated many of my clothes and, sadly, the bedroom. The bar and restaurant looked good but details like a swing door into a cellar (I think) and other woodwork was dingy and in need of paint. The room was more than listed originally and then breakfast was an additional cost. I wanted to stay there for sentimental reasons, but will not make that mistake again. At GBP99 plus breakfast it was grossly over-priced. The evening staff were good but the morning one was brusque and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_TheMerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Alison T, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone, so It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve, and we humbly ask for the opportunity to make this right. If you are willing, please contact the manager directly at 01625599959 so we can discuss your feedback in more depth and work towards a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Leighanna and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My wife and I booked an overnight stay at the hotel, on arrival we were met at the bar area by a pleasant member of staff asked to pay for the room before our stay and given the key to room 5. Having left the bar and entered the area to the bottom of the stairs we noticed a shall I say 'smell', and I'm sorry to say that the walls, doors and carpet can only be described as filthy. The bad smell continued into the room which was tiny (a single room at best) extremely hot on a warm summers day and desperately in need of renovation. There was no way we could stay here, and to the credit of the duty manager was given a full refund. Sadly it meant we had to return home to North Wales a wasted break from work not to mention the expense of fuel, food etc.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank robertwB6313LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_TheMerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

robertwB6313LH, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at Innkeeper's Lodge Wilmslow, Alderley Edge. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns and work towards a resolution. If you would like to discuss the issue further please reach out to us directly at 01625599959 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Leighanna and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We staued here as we were attending a party in Wilmslow. All the other places were booked up due to a wedding in the area. On arrival we waited at the bar to check in. The staff were serving drinks. We waited longer than i thought we should have.
The room was basic but ok.
I sat down at the dressing table to get ready but the mirror was way too high to see. Had to kneel on the stool. See picture. Shower was fine. Had a good night sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

If you like sleeping on a bed with nothing between the mattress and the sheet, this hotel is for you. We had quite an uncomfortable 2 nights on a bed that seemed to slope from one side to the other and we could feel every bump and ridge in the mattress because there was no mattress pad between the mattress and sheet. One wonders about the sanitary implications....Yuck. We tried remaking the bed by inserting the extra duvet from the closet but noticed that had stains all over it....yuck again. This is not a quiet hotel. Our room was over the bar area downstairs and we could hear music until about 11:30....also we ran low on toilet tissue and maid service did not seem to notice or care....we will not be back.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giles41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
1.5 km away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
408 reviews
1.3 km away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
4.2 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
399 reviews
4.9 km away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
3.5 km away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range: €84 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing