We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My wife and I booked an overnight stay at the hotel, on arrival we were met at the bar area by a pleasant member of staff asked to pay for the room before our stay and given the key to room 5. Having left the bar and entered the area to the bottom of the stairs we noticed a shall I say 'smell', and I'm sorry to say that the walls, doors and carpet can only be described as filthy. The bad smell continued into the room which was tiny (a single room at best) extremely hot on a warm summers day and desperately in need of renovation. There was no way we could stay here, and to the credit of the duty manager was given a full refund. Sadly it meant we had to return home to North Wales a wasted break from work not to mention the expense of fuel, food etc.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank robertwB6313LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_TheMerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

robertwB6313LH, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at Innkeeper's Lodge Wilmslow, Alderley Edge. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns and work towards a resolution. If you would like to discuss the issue further please reach out to us directly at 01625599959 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Leighanna and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We staued here as we were attending a party in Wilmslow. All the other places were booked up due to a wedding in the area. On arrival we waited at the bar to check in. The staff were serving drinks. We waited longer than i thought we should have.
The room was basic but ok.
I sat down at the dressing table to get ready but the mirror was way too high to see. Had to kneel on the stool. See picture. Shower was fine. Had a good night sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

If you like sleeping on a bed with nothing between the mattress and the sheet, this hotel is for you. We had quite an uncomfortable 2 nights on a bed that seemed to slope from one side to the other and we could feel every bump and ridge in the mattress because there was no mattress pad between the mattress and sheet. One wonders about the sanitary implications....Yuck. We tried remaking the bed by inserting the extra duvet from the closet but noticed that had stains all over it....yuck again. This is not a quiet hotel. Our room was over the bar area downstairs and we could hear music until about 11:30....also we ran low on toilet tissue and maid service did not seem to notice or care....we will not be back.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giles41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I've never stayed somewhere so terrible in all my life. I came to the area to work at last minute and unfortunately everywhere else was booked up, so I had to stay here. My first impressions were that it seemed like a Travelodge/Premier Inn type of place.

On arrival my reservation was not found in their system, so a man (who seemed to be the manager...) looked to see if they had any rooms free. Fortunately they had a family room available which was fine. However, apparently they had a new IT system brought in recently and he didn't have a clue how to use it, neither did ANY of the other staff there... I was stood at the bar for over an hour whilst he tried to figure it out. He called someone for help who also didn't know how to do it. Then he asked me to re-book online, but there was no signal in the building and the wifi wouldn't work so I couldn't. He gave me their landline phone to ring up the reservations team and book. The worst part is that he asked me to pretend on the phone that I wasn't in the hotel so they didn't know he couldn't work the system! But they were closed because it was past 6pm by this point (I arrived just after 5!). Eventually he figured out that he was just pressing the wrong button and checked me in.

The whole time this was happening there were a few people at the bar, not many, and 1 other bartender working. It wasn't busy. But whilst trying to sort out my room, he kept flitting back to the bar and serving people who'd been waiting a couple of minutes when I'd been waiting an hour! Absolute joke.

The room was mediocre. Breakfast was awful - stale croissants, small boxed cereals and apples - nothing else. The only good thing was they had nutri-grain bars I could take away. I ate in the restaurant one night and the food was average, but very over-priced for what it was.

I would definitely not stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_TheMerlin, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Lucy,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the events you encountered on your recent stay with us here at The Merlin. I will be sure to investigate what happened on your arrival and ensure that this does not happen again. All the team have received full training so I'm unsure as to why they handled the situation in this way.
I would really like the opportunity to discuss you feedback in more detail and the opportunity to apologise.
Please could you email me with your contact details so that I can begin to restore your faith within The Innkeepers Lodge here at The Merlin in Alderley Edge
Kind regards
Kimberley Buck
enquiry@themerlin.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Good location, handy for the local villages and bypass. Room was modern and relatively clean, beds comfortable, minimal interaction with staff who were not unpleasant, nice atmosphere and plenty of space to park, wifi was a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 7 are along the creaky corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_TheMerlin, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to tell you that our wifi has now been upgraded so is no longer 'hit and miss' but much more reliable.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon
Regards
Team Merlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
1.5 km away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
409 reviews
1.3 km away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
4.2 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
399 reviews
4.9 km away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
3.5 km away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range: €86 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing