We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Valentines Night Meal at Taplow House Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Valentines Night Meal at Taplow House Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have visited Taplow House Hotel many times over the past 5 years and have always been really impressed. Last year we had afternoon tea on the terrace for my daughter's 19th birthday and it was exemplary. This week my wife and I visted for the Valentines Night evening meal.the service was really good and the food was lovely, it was a busy evening and we took our coffee in the lounge by the fire which was very relaxing. The ambience of the place is relaxed and homely and in the summer the grounds are a pleasure to behold. Thanks to all the staff for another very pleasant dining experience. Keith and Angela Cowper

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    143
    72
    41
    22
See reviews for
115
249
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Lovey friendly staff, wonderful food and a beautiful and clean room.

Could not of asked more for the money. Attention to detail was excellent.

I would highly recommended. (And I am a fussy git!)

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful weekend.

Kind Regards

Phillip

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My other half had a horse running at Kempton Park on Friday evening so we looked for somewhere to stay over and have a bit of a rest. She found Taplow House on line but booked by phone having spoken with Matthew. He was charming and on arrival we sensed this was true of the whole hotel. Having been shown to our junior suite we got changed and headed for the bar. Drinks served in front of the fire where made our dinner selections. The food was well prepared and the service quiet and efficient. We slept very well on the best bed ever - Mattison Monarch mattress. In the morning we had simply the best cooked breakfast with my partner's eggs benedict cooked to perfection. This is a great place to unwind, everyone is charming and we could find no fault. Thanks to staff and management for making this a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Hampton Suite was a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelPDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at Taplow for two days whilst attending a wedding.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, cheerfully accommodating all our requests. A member of the party whose lactose intolerance hadn't been mentioned to the hotel was responded to with apologies, and a suitable dish was quickly prepared for him with no fuss.

The food was very pleasant, the canapés were excellent and plentiful, and the waiting staff attentive and polite. The veggie option of risotto was a little on the al dente side to eat, but I find it often is in large-scale catering situations, so had prepared myself by eating plenty of the delicious bread rolls.

Our room (no. 2) was very nice. Large and light, with views over the pretty grounds at the back. The bed had a memory-foam mattress, which i don't personally find comfortable, but my husband did. There was a heating/air con unit in the room, so we could control the temperature to our requirements. There was an iron, hairdryer, large tv, and tea and coffee making facilities (including biscuits!). The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. I liked the bottles of still and sparkling water left by our beds. I was also impressed that our room had been cleaned (with neatly folded pyjamas) while we were at breakfast, even though we hadn't given our room number.

Breakfast was very good, although the breakfast room is small- people had to wait for a table during the last half-hour rush. A hot drink and toast is brought to your table, with a good choice of cooked breakfast options, and a continental breakfast buffet. On the Sunday, there was a hot buffet instead of the breakfast menu, which I was a little disappointed at as I had been looking forward to trying the highly recommended waffles, but my scrambled eggs from the hot plate were a perfectly nice substitute.

But the best thing about the hotel is the atmosphere. Many stately home hotels feel over formal, like you have to be on best behaviour, but Taplow felt relaxed and unpressured. There are plenty of comfortable seating areas, a warm fire, and it's small enough that nothing feels very far away. The children using the stairs as a toboggan run didn't raise an eyebrow- it all felt like just staying at home, but with staff and lots of friends!

Room Tip: Room two faces the grounds at the back, and was spacious and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeggieVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Was on business with a collegue stayed in the tulip and room 2 both rooms were exceptional, for the service given this hotel is very well priced, close to facilities very clean, the staff were very polite and patient. would be a pleasure to return.

p.s the rubber ducks in the bathroom were the cherry on the cake

Thank you for your service we will be using you again in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
2.0 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.4 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.4 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.9 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#5 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
4.4 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Property: Taplow House Hotel
Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taplow House Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing