We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taplow House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cliveden House(Taplow)
US$960
US$865
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Thames Hotel(Maidenhead)
US$114
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidenhead Town Centre(Maidenhead)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$132
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingswood Hotel(Maidenhead)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
373
178
79
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
178
79
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaberry's restaurantwedding breakfasttulip treewedding venuewedding co ordinatorsconesgroupon dealjunior suitelovely groundswhite companycream teabeautiful hotelwedding receptionfour poster bedcountry housewedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Lovey friendly staff, wonderful food and a beautiful and clean room.

Could not of asked more for the money. Attention to detail was excellent.

I would highly recommended. (And I am a fussy git!)

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful weekend.

Kind Regards

Phillip

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My other half had a horse running at Kempton Park on Friday evening so we looked for somewhere to stay over and have a bit of a rest. She found Taplow House on line but booked by phone having spoken with Matthew. He was charming and on arrival we sensed this was true of the whole hotel. Having been shown to our junior suite we got changed and headed for the bar. Drinks served in front of the fire where made our dinner selections. The food was well prepared and the service quiet and efficient. We slept very well on the best bed ever - Mattison Monarch mattress. In the morning we had simply the best cooked breakfast with my partner's eggs benedict cooked to perfection. This is a great place to unwind, everyone is charming and we could find no fault. Thanks to staff and management for making this a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Hampton Suite was a delight
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelPDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at Taplow for two days whilst attending a wedding.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, cheerfully accommodating all our requests. A member of the party whose lactose intolerance hadn't been mentioned to the hotel was responded to with apologies, and a suitable dish was quickly prepared for him with no fuss.

The food was very pleasant, the canapés were excellent and plentiful, and the waiting staff attentive and polite. The veggie option of risotto was a little on the al dente side to eat, but I find it often is in large-scale catering situations, so had prepared myself by eating plenty of the delicious bread rolls.

Our room (no. 2) was very nice. Large and light, with views over the pretty grounds at the back. The bed had a memory-foam mattress, which i don't personally find comfortable, but my husband did. There was a heating/air con unit in the room, so we could control the temperature to our requirements. There was an iron, hairdryer, large tv, and tea and coffee making facilities (including biscuits!). The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. I liked the bottles of still and sparkling water left by our beds. I was also impressed that our room had been cleaned (with neatly folded pyjamas) while we were at breakfast, even though we hadn't given our room number.

Breakfast was very good, although the breakfast room is small- people had to wait for a table during the last half-hour rush. A hot drink and toast is brought to your table, with a good choice of cooked breakfast options, and a continental breakfast buffet. On the Sunday, there was a hot buffet instead of the breakfast menu, which I was a little disappointed at as I had been looking forward to trying the highly recommended waffles, but my scrambled eggs from the hot plate were a perfectly nice substitute.

But the best thing about the hotel is the atmosphere. Many stately home hotels feel over formal, like you have to be on best behaviour, but Taplow felt relaxed and unpressured. There are plenty of comfortable seating areas, a warm fire, and it's small enough that nothing feels very far away. The children using the stairs as a toboggan run didn't raise an eyebrow- it all felt like just staying at home, but with staff and lots of friends!

Room Tip: Room two faces the grounds at the back, and was spacious and light.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeggieVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Was on business with a collegue stayed in the tulip and room 2 both rooms were exceptional, for the service given this hotel is very well priced, close to facilities very clean, the staff were very polite and patient. would be a pleasure to return.

p.s the rubber ducks in the bathroom were the cherry on the cake

Thank you for your service we will be using you again in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We got a discounted nights stay for a last min booking and it was worth every penny. The receptionist was lovely, very helpful. Food was great, room was perfect, we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edcyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews