We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliveden House
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Thames Hotel(Maidenhead)
US$113
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidenhead Town Centre(Maidenhead)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingswood Hotel(Maidenhead)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveller rating
804
193
96
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
193
96
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational trustafternoon teaandre garrettoutdoor poolchewton glenastor grillfrench diningvisited clivedenmain halltasting menuspring cottagestately homespecial occasionsteeped in historylady astor suiteclub roomformal gardens
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,166 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We were welcomed at Cliveden for a special birthday celebration. The hotel arranged for us to have a private room.The food, and the service, was quite outstanding. Lukas looked after us in exemptary fashion. The hotel is everything it is cracked up to be.

Room Tip: We did not stay, so cannot comment on the rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 546roba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

Cliveden really is the place for celebrations - nowhere can add the "special" to a special occasion better than this lovely old house.

I have passed your thanks on to Lukas - he really is quite a star in the making.

Best wishes

Kevin Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic afternoon tea with my Mum. Such a beautiful hotel and surroundings. Staff were very helpful and attentive and the food was beautifully presented and very tasty. Would highly recommend Cliveden to my friends.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your recommendation - I wholeheartedly agree - but I would say that wouldn't I?

Best wishes

Kevin Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We couldn't have had a better experience! A lovely table overlooking the grounds, attentive staff, champagne on arrival delicious sandwiches and cakes, even hot chocolate in a tea pot so she feel grown up!
Highly recommended afternoon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank alfa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review.

Full Afternoon Tea in a stately home hotel (especially Cliveden)) really is one of those special experiences that has to be done to discover the pleasure it can give.

I am glad you all had a wonderful time

Best wishes

Kevin Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We checked in for 1 night for my husbands birthday and as we arrived and they showed us our room we were not that impressed. Thankfully they offered us a suite after we complained which was perfectly nice.
The restaurant is very elegant and we enjoyed the evening with friends at the hotel!

Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It is excellent news that you enjoyed your stay.

Each of Cliveden's rooms are unique and they come in a variety of sizes and a selection of views - we usually find one that will suit most of our guests' tastes.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the house very soon.

Best wishes

Kevin Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Cliveden house is beautiful from the outside, atmospheric on the inside, with a sleek, calming spa. It’s a stunning National Trust property, but i wouldn’t say it’s a great hotel. It’s seriously overpriced, and it’s also rather lacking in ambience. Our room was lovely... and the Easter egg was a sweet touch, but no tea and coffee making facilities in a room costing £700 a night is completely unacceptable - it implies this is a hotel aimed solely at people with more money than sense. Incidentally, two cups of tea delivered to your room would cost £22. I would absolutely recommend visiting on a day trip or spa day, perhaps for afternoon tea so you can experience the house interior and soak up the history. We enjoyed our night away, but I don’t think Cliveden compares favourably to hotels like Lime Wood or Dormy House.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am pleased that there were a number of elements of Cliveden you enjoyed - the Spa is really wonderful having only recently been fully refurbished and the history of the house stretching back over the last 350 years is amazing.

Tea and coffee making facilities a for the room are available on request for those that do not want to avail themselves of the 24 room service. I do hope you were not charged £22 for two teas in the room as this would most definitely not been correct!

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the house in the near future.

Best wishes

Kevin Brooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews