We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“three irish lads on a work based stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Highwayman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highwayman Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“three irish lads on a work based stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

have to say i was wary of booking this establishment due to reading previous reviews,, having stayed here for ten nights i have to say the highwayman was an exellent choice ,, it had everything we needed good food, good beer decent rooms and very friendly staff , especially winny who really helped us when we first arrived and throughout our stay,, would not hesitate in recommending the highway man to anyone, and i would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    40
    54
    42
    97
See reviews for
50
67
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My Nine year old daughter left behind her purse with £31 that she saved to go on holiday in it the hotel have only just sent it after she stayed a week ago, they said they are doing my daughter a favour by sending it home, does this mean if you leave something behind like money that the hotel will not want to reunite the owner with their property? My daughter is only a child and children do forget as well as adults. would like to know why they hung on to the money for a week after my dad had rung on the Sunday morning to say she had left it in the room earlier on that morning to catch a flight, Were they hoping for us to forget about the money?. The manager saying they are doing us a favour by sending it is a little rude.

Room Tip: make sure you do not leave things behind by mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen201272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunstable hotels

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have stayed at this Inn a few times and it was great fun. Sally and Bruce are brilliant hosts and Bruce makes the best vegitarian breakfast ever!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very poor restaurant service ........ had to wait 20 MINUTES for a cup of coffee ( Told "bear with us , cant work the machine ! " ) Children running around unsupervised at 12 -1 am . Staff nor parents did nothing .Tuna wrap was presented with very little salad .......... Certainly WON'T be going back there for Lunch !!!

Room Tip: Dont eat there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have stayed at The Highwayman on my own due to business comittments through Dec 2011. Firstly, plenty of parking space and a good safe location on the outskirts of Dunstable, away from the town centre but close enough to travel in if you wish.

Rooms are kept very clean and tea/coffee making facilities freeview tv, towels and even a handheld hairdryer are all supplied in the room. The hotel is very popular for contractors working within the area but dont let that put you off. The double room i booked was very cosy and warm with a minimal amount of noise.

The pub/restaurant is separate from the hotel within 1/2 min safe walking distance away with a very reasonably priced no frills good food menu along with sky tv, pool table, Atm machine and plenty of seating, open or secluded.

Staff were excellent in both the hotel and restaurant, not a brand image type accomodation, but if you are looking for good clean well kept rooms at a very reasonable price, you wont go far wrong with The Highwayman.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob231231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunstable
1.4 km away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
2.8 km away
Premier Inn Dunstable South A5 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Dunstable / Luton Hotel
11.6 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leighton Buzzard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.1 km away
Chiltern Hotel
Chiltern Hotel
#18 of 25 in Luton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Hotel

Property: Highwayman Hotel
Address: London Road, Dunstable LU6 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Dunstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Dunstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwayman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highwayman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highwayman Hotel Dunstable
Highwayman Hotel Dunstable, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing