We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
24
29
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
29
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift ski equipment hot tub park city condo alta skiers soaps
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of April as part of a family ski vacation. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the inn is in a great location for the slopes (3 minute walk) And the ski locker easily accessible on way to/ from the slopes. The outside pool and jacuzzi at the Inn were a big hit, being nicely located by the slopes although a little tired looking. However we experienced poor service from a number of staff at the inn. The room was not made up until 5pm on a number of days and even then it wasn't vacuumed. The service at breakfast was terrible: the selection of food was very limited for a "buffet" breakfast (1 hot dish of eggs, two cereals, one fruit and a few pastries). All ran out often and were either refreshed too infrequently so that there was no food, or in some cases we were informed they had run out as it was close to the end of the season, even though this was still well over a week away. The breakfast attendant was especially grumpy and the vacated breakfast tables not cleared quickly enough. Reception staff were disinterested and unhelpful, although Philip the manager was a pleasant exception to the majority. Spa service was lovely however, but really only limited to treatment rooms: lovely massage/ facial.

At full price not sure we would stay at the Inn again because although we like to ski Solitude mountain (which is wonderful), the Inn is lacking some of the quality and service we'd expect for the price. Next time we might choose a condo instead....

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debandjimUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Solitude for 3 nights. We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished - consistent with a 4-star hotel, but probably not a 5-star hotel. The hotel was reasonably quiet, although there was a family with children staying in the room above ours and there was some loud thumping on our ceiling when the kids were running around.
The continental breakfast buffet was decent, but nothing great. On one morning during a fairly busy weekend, the hotel ran out of milk, which is kind of a major error on somebody's part.
If you're a skier/snowboarder, you certainly can't beat the location.
My wife booked a massage in the spa one afternoon and she definitely enjoyed that too.
I think our only other minor gripe is that they over-heat the hotel in the winter to the point that it felt stuffy at times. Even with the thermostat turned all the way down in our room, it felt too warm. We needed to open the window at night to feel comfortable sleeping. On the other hand, it was really nice that there were humidifiers available in the rooms because the air in Solitude is severely dry.
Final piece of advice to skiers/snowboarders... don't go to Solitude if you're looking for lots of lively nightlife options in the resort village. You won't find it here.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 2 days in February, skiing on one day. We found the location to be very accessible to the ski lifts, and easy to come and go from. The staff at the Inn and village were very welcoming and helpful, the restaurants excellent, and the selection and variety to be nice if we would have been staying longer. Unfortunately we were not there on a day with fresh powder snow, but couldn't help but see the outstanding potential for wonderful off-piest powder skiing. The resort did an awesome job grooming their slopes, however, and we enjoyed our day. Particularly fun was eating lunch at the nice burger grille on the mountain and enjoying our seats on their patio/deck to soak up a little sun and enjoy the spectacular view. This resort is much smaller than some, but is also quieter, less crowded, and lives up to their name well. No lift lines, open slopes, and a feeling of peacefulness rarely found at some of their neighboring resorts. This will be one of the places we would consider returning to and will gladly recommend to others. As we are involved in trip planning for ski councils/clubs, this property would make an excellent choice. The ski-in/ski-out hotel and variety of restaurants is a plus for a large group. We did not get to see the condos, but they also are ski-in/ski-out. The ice rink looked wonderful, but was not open, which was disappointing. But we enjoyed the hot tub at the Inn for after skiing activity instead. The breakfast was another pleasant surprise with a hot scrambled egg dish, bagels and breads, good coffee, cereals with fresh berries, all presented in their dining room with beautiful views of the mountain.

Room tip: Rooms with a mountain view are spectacular and quiet
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdahoTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We travelled with another couple for this trip so we ended up working w/Solitudedirect.com and rented a 3 bedroom condo w/a full view of the lift and mountain (photo attached). Everything is accessible including ski in/out. If you want hot cocoa, Starbucks, wine, slice of pizza and fine dining-you can find it right there. You can also book a great message or pedicure! We liked it because we had kids-they're Ski and Play Kid's Ski school is amazing (It's $$) as they take your child 2 times for a one hour lesson. It's very quiet and the mountain is small-I think it's really more for people who don't take the sport too seriously and beginners. We're out of shape so it was perfect for us. Our condo was nice although a bit out dated- tvs, etc but the kitchen was fully functioning. If you are planning to be there for a few days-be sure and shop in town before you head up to the mountain-we found a really nice Whole Foods. I highly recommend this vacation.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A great place to stay. We had a standard hotel room, and it was large, clean and well-furnished. The room included a refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, humidifier (good thing at altitude) and large TV. The staff was very generous with the towels and with refills for the coffee maker. The beds were pretty comfortable, although my wife and I found ourselves waking up periodically.

The property is located right in the Village at Solitude, and it is ski-in-ski-out. (less than 100 yards to the nearest lift). Solitude is called that for a reason. We were there on Presidents' Day weekend, which everyone was saying was the busiest weekend of the year. That meant we had to stand in a 4-person lift line twice. The rest of the time, we skied right onto the lift. On the other hand, the village at Solitude is VERY quiet. There are a few small bars and restaurants, and once they close, they may as well roll up the streets. If you're there for the skiing though, you'll be asleep long before then.

Our room deal included breakfast at St. Bernard's, the hotel restaurant. The breakfast was great, always having a hot eggs/meat dish, plus yogurt/cereal/berries, and some first-rate pastries.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews