We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,403)
Filter reviews
3,403 results
Traveller rating
1,413
868
474
292
356
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,413
868
474
292
356
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby baranimal exhibitsthatched roofplaya del carmengolf cartjungle atmospherenight lifesushibeach cluball inclusive packagepeace and quietlounge chairsa la cartejacuzzi tubrelaxing vacationtravel agentbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 3,403 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

The main reason I picked this resort was because of the outdoors jungle like experience and the onsite zoo.. I was very disappointed to find out that the animals had been removed.. I understand the reason they were removed, but still a disappointment.
I also agree that the empty animal cages were a bit of an eye sore and disappointed about the onsite beach access. And think that a shuttle for guess wanting to see sights would make for a much better experience.. Our experience going into town was not a good experience.

With the negatives out of the way everthing else was wonderful... We loved the seclusion and the jungle feel. The wildlife that live on the resort made it even better. The Cenotes were amazing as both as a view from our deck as well as the snorkling.

They staff was all very attentive, never had to wait on cart transport more then a few minutes... However I would have to say the best experience came from the restaurant staff... (Spent a lot of time in restaurant thru out day) although everyone was always so cheerful and attentive on making sure we had every thing we needed. There were a few that always went above and beyond.

From the hostess that held the door as you entered and/or exited and always making sure your seat placement with the restaurant was acceptable. To the wait staff (Jesus Pina) that never let your drink glass go empty and always made sure you had more than enough to eat.

But I will have to say that one person that truly went above and beyond and treated us like family was adrian huratado bustamante... His dedication to his job and to our experience at the resort is what makes the negitives from above not even matter. I have told all of my family and friends about this young mans hard work at making sure we had a experience that he will be the reason that we will come back.
Tommie and Toni Hefner
Edinburg Va.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge B, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Toni H:

Thank you for the time taken to share your valuable feedback with us, please know your review is very important to evaluate our hotel and services. We take pride in offering the highest level of service and we always want our guests to feel welcome. Our service is designed to be timely, efficient and informative, our staff is committed to excellence by providing our guests with the finest level of hospitality and personal service. However, it is very disappointing to receive such comments about the quality of the resort; we are deeply sorry that we did not live up to the expectations that you have so rightfully set before us. Please know that we do not strive for mediocrity, so we will use your comments to ensure that we are providing our guests with the very best.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in our Hotel. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

wrote a review prior to leaving but I will comment again here. As an owner with Bel Air Collections I would say the the first and foremost asset are your employees. We were treated with the greatest respect and professional regard.

I would like to first recognize our waiter from the restaurant Jesus Arturo Marquez Pina. He was excellent. First was his reception of us the first night. He was respectful welcoming and sought to provide us with top service. He did not request a tip but was most gracious. At the end of my stay I took good care of him as I did other employees. Please see about promoting him to a supervisor or head waiter. Also in the restaurant was the sweetest most joyful young lady, Lupita. She was an absolute joy the entire week, her smile and kindness was so appreciated.

The employee that truly made our vacation a joy was Lazaro Rosales of (animacion). He along with Hector truly provided a great spirit of enjoyment. From assisting with Bicycling to water sports and pool activities to the enjoyable nights in the Lobby Bar. Lazaro has a true selfless heart and gives what he can of himself to see to it that all guests are Happy. I would encourage you to give him greater responsibility in his area, he does great work.

I believe we've only had Bel Air Riviera Maya a short time. I would imagine 30 years ago it was a wonderful place. With all the empty animal pins and cages it gives a feeling of having been abandoned. This is the first impression as you go through the property. A high priority would be to remove these eye sores. In addition as you are aware is the maintenance. From a dirty pool, to broken air-conditioning in your sushi restaurant. Not to mention the carts that are worn and rusted. Black mold on stone throughout the pool area.

Updating and remodeling your restaurants and pool area. One banister with caution tape because it is a hazard to fall off the bridge. Much is needed and you would do well to reward well your employees. Let them keep full tips, they are your connection to our guests. They will keep the lower middle class customer coming. Improved facilities with an indoor gym that is spacious and modern, your spa is so hidden I never saw it. Got massage in playa del Carmen. Offer the option of female and male massage therapists.

The area where your tiger cages once were and the other area around it would make perfect spot for new athletic facility and spa. Current spa area maybe a Business Center.

Promote your surrounding area, there is a quaint small village nearby, shopping and ATM machines. Provide transport to the small town with dolphins and restaurants on a river. People want variety. We spent mostly at BelAir but also went into town Get an ATM on grounds, we were told to go the Playa el Carmen to get cash. Terrible and inconvenient
My thought and observations. Please personally thank employees mentioned acknowledge their work.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank StefonT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge B, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Stefon T:

Thank you for the time taken to share your valuable feedback with us, please know your review is very important to evaluate our hotel and services. We take pride in offering the highest level of service and we always want our guests to feel welcome. Our service is designed to be timely, efficient and informative, our staff is committed to excellence by providing our guests with the finest level of hospitality and personal service. However, it is very disappointing to receive such comments about the quality of the resort; we are deeply sorry that we did not live up to the expectations that you have so rightfully set before us. Please know that we do not strive for mediocrity, so we will use your comments to ensure that we are providing our guests with the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Even though the animals are no longer there, the experience was amazing. It was really cool to walk through the jungle paths to get around the grounds, and the staff was amazing! The beach was great - although you can't swim in the water because of the rocks.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank birdypie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge B, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear birdypie21, thanks for all the comments, the animals
they move to a better place, more biggets, for the reproduction, about the club beach its wonderful and provide you private baths, long chairs, and a bar.
Come back soon, have a good travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I was highly disappointed in your liquor selection. No Hennessey, Remi Martin, crown royal, patron. I wasn't too sure of the other drinks do to the liquor situation in Cancun. Besides that , a good experience I did have. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T1281LLdennisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge B, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear T128LLdennisr:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and has been shared with the correspondent department. We hope to have the opportunity to deliver an improved experience on your next Bel Air Riviera Maya stay.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

First time at Bel Air. Great experience. A/C not working, was moved to another room promptly. Great food. Resort personnel were fantastic. Took several tours that were awesome. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 121wilmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge B, Guest Relations Manager at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank your Mrs, Wilma, We hope to come back soon, And apologize for the A/A, we fix the problem changing the room.Have a great trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews