We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zaci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zaci
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Valladolid
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I'm not sure why this hotel comes so highly recommended on this forum and others. At $495 MP/night for a double with a/c, it's no bargain. The pool was empty, looked to be under construction, however, in the five days we were there we saw no one working on it. The bed was like sleeping on concrete and worst of all the room was full of flying insects, which was very annoying. On the plus side, it is reasonably clean and is very close to the bus station.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oaxacacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    111
    57
    11
    16
See reviews for
57
101
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed here only one night. Were in Vallodolid during hot rainy season so opted for an air-con room ($M490/night). It was way overpriced. While the courtyard and pool are gorgeous and the hotel looks lovely from the outside and is in great location, the beds and pillows were incredibly hard and the bathroom stank.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzybabe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

We traveled 2 hours on an ADO bus (74p each) from Tulum to Valladolid where we stayed 2 nights at Hotel Zaci, just around the corner from the bus station: 300p for a clean room with 2 double beds, tv (nice to have during the World Cup!), wood furniture, stencil decorations, and hot water (had to be really patient for the hot water but it arrived eventually). The towels and beddings were a little worn but they were clean so we weren't offended. The staff was helpful (Spanish only); we used the wifi in the entry area and enjoyed the nice pool. It’s just a few blocks from the lovely, shaded zocalo and the 1700’s cathedral and 4 or 5 blocks from a large grocery and the public market (opposite directions). The streets and sidewalks in Valladolid are new and the buildings freshly painted and colorful - a pretty town. We liked how lived in and tranquil it felt.

We ate 1 breakfast and 2 lunches in our room and dinner out both nights. The 1st night we loved Cafe Itali@ on the Candelaria park - great pasta (55p each) and ambiance. We would have eaten there again the 2nd night but it was closed (Monday) so we wound up at Las Campañas on the zocalo, decent food (~70p each, nearly every item on the menu had cheese as a main ingredient), nice live guitar music, and good people watching.

The day in between we headed 1st thing to Chichén Itzá (51p each) via a colectivo (25p each) which left from near the bus station just around the corner. We loved beating the heat and beating the crowds plus the venders inside the park were just setting up and were friendly rather than pushy (we'd heard rumors). Frankly, we weren’t terribly impressed with the ruins and part of that, as with Tulum, was our inability to connect with the ruins physically like we’ve enjoyed in other countries.

Back in Valladolid we caught a colectivo (25p) in front of Hotel Maria Guadalupe a block south of Hotel Zaci to Dzitnup where we swam in 2 cenotes, Dzitnup (sometimes referred to as Xkeken) which was packed - lots of swimmers and photo snappers enjoying the cool lighting and interesting cave formations. The 2nd one, Samula or Sakmu’ulja, was quieter and we loved the big old tree growing by the small ceiling opening with roots reaching down toward the water. Both were incredibly cool and refreshing, a nice escape from the heat (27p each for each cenote).

Our final morning we headed to Meson de Marques for coffee and juice (39p for both) - beautiful setting in the courtyard of an historic hotel on the zocalo. We’d arranged transportation north through Rodolfo of Rudy Tours (on 40th between 37th and 39th, 985.102.5262) - personable and knowledgeable; he and a driver picked us up right on time at our hotel ($100US). First stop was the ruins of Ek Balam (31p each) which we loved - the massive Acropolis is a huge temple 135’ high (more than 1/3rd again as high as El Castillo at Chichén Itzá) and offers not only incredible views but gorgeous angel sculptures and excellent birding - motmots, my favorites! There was a nice small ball court and lots of buildings to climb and explore.

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zaci and Valladolid which together made the perfect base for exploring the area. Happy trails!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

it is so run down. It looked as though there was ongoing building work, but I didn't actually see anyone doing any building. There was no hot water (we were warned about this when we checked in though), the towels and sheets had seen better days, and while the room was cleaned daily, the walls and bathroom could do with a good scrub.

On the positive side, it was spacious, in a good location and the staff were helpful. Just don't expect it to be quite as good as the photos suggest.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhNoTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

We followed our Moon Handbook advice to stay here. Upon 1st look it seemed OK. But when we pulled sheets back (p paid, unfortunately!) there was caca on sheets. Upon further examination, we found grease, juice & blood stains on pillowcases. Also caca on floor & extremely stained carpet. In bathroom the walls had smashed bug bodies on them. The towels skimpy & threadbare with unravelling edges. No blanket at all available on cold night. When we complained they did nothing, did not clean, did not change our room, did not even say sorry. they DID NOT CARE!
We couldn't wait to leave! Disgusting & infuriating!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glennyfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valladolid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.2 km away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 km away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 km away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#13 of 14 in Valladolid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaci

Property: Hotel Zaci
Address: Calle 44 # 191 por 37 y 39, Valladolid, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zaci 3*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Zaci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaci Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing