We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 2 weeks in Mexico xx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely loved this place,lots to do 3 great pools, always plenty to eat, got to recommend the steak house and italian. Night time shows really good and the stalls on a tuesday and friday are great (especially the bartering). If you are fussy with your alcohol if u asked for branded spirits you will get branded. Have to say a massive thank you to Clemente at the lobby bar he totally made ours and our kids holiday...TOP BLOKE.. The room was cleaned daily with out fail, we even said it didn't need it one day and the cleaner asked if every thing was ok .I was nervous about the wild life before we went but they really don't bother you and its amazing to see, there was a little cat we saw everyday and the kids named him GINGE haha, we have been to quite a few places but this we absolutely loved .... wether was great....Very HOT and HUMID.. also you have to swim with dolphins best experience EVER.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kirstywaters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kirstywaters2,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your wonderful stay here with us at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

It is very rewarding to read this kind of reviews; Our main job is to make you have a memorable stay with us and we are very pleased that this was your case!

We are also very proud to have received your personal comments about our staff members, we will gladly pass on your compliments to each one and let them know that they make the difference with the impeccable service.

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to Sirenis and look forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14,506)
There are newer reviews for Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 14,506 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Without wanting to jump on the 'negativity bandwagon' we were so very disappointed in this resort. Initially sold to us as a 5* platinum resort, it definitely did not live up to it. The rooms are dated, require maintenance, and generally far from luxurious. Despite the not so cheap price of holidaying here, the resort is keen to sell upgrades and desperate to sell "members packages". The beach area is also very disappointing, very rocky, not so clean, and very limited (do not go here if you love a stroll along a sandy beach). The entertainment team, the shows and pool area entertainment was excellent (if that is your thing) the staff are a credit to the Hotel. However, we travelled as a party of 6, total cost was over £10k, and do not accept the tour operators excuse that 5* relates to the fact the hotel has a Spa!?! Having visited other resorts in Riviera Maya, we would NOT recommend this Hotel.......sorry but it is just lagging behind others that are available for similar money! Food was okay ( generally catered for Americans and Brits) limited choice of authentic Mexican food (we visited outside the wire to achieve this). As for Tui, hugely costly tours available (do investigate doing these outside of the reps) . The Spa is good. The room service is very hit and miss, sometimes towels were not replaced, bins not emptied and generally not cleaned very well. If you like a relaxing peaceful holiday THIS IS NOT FOR YOU. The overall resort is too big, you will need to walk lots to get to anything, and be warned if you want a sun bed you need to get up whilst it is dark (despite there being signs advising reservation of beds is not allowed). This is not 5* behaviour IN ANY resort!!! We have never encountered this before. Keep flicking through the brochures/internet there is definitely much better choices out there.

Room Tip: Avoid until it has been renovated
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JefferysDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hola JefferysDorset,

Many thanks for your review and for having chosen Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya for your vacation.

I want to also thank you for having taken the time to write this review, as all your feedback is very important for us in order to evaluate and improve our services.

We always appreciate our guests' contribution, suggestions and comments which help us find out about their preferences and help us to improve our services for you and future guests, I have taken the proper notes about the areas of improvement and passed to the people in charge to apply the corrective measures.

However I truly hope you will afford us a new chance to host you in the near future and provide you a real Grand Sirenis experience and enjoy all the amenities the resort has to offer.

Kind Regards,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Definataly not a 5 star hotel!
Positive stuff: we upgraded to premium room which on the whole was nice and not to far to walk to everything.
Beach was nice, if you go to the left past the members area you can walk into the sea with no rocks. Saw quite a few turtles when out snorkelling.
Japanese restaurant was a good night out with nice food.
Food in Mediterranean restaurant was nice.
Bar staff in lobby bar and waitresses were lovely and all staff work very hard.

Negative stuff: Food in the buffet restaurant was bland and boring with the same options most days for lunch and dinner.
Not much going on in the evening apart from the show at 9.30 for an hour if you could manage to get a seat!
Our room was not cleaned on 1 occasions even after ringing up to complain it was still not done. Another day the dirty bedding was left on the bedroom floor, cleaning the rooms was definitely not up to standard.
Drinks served in plastic beakers and were not allowed straws unless you had a cocktail!
Do not going and see the dojphins, it was very sad to see them in a pool smaller than the hotel swimming pool and when they jumped they could see the sea
Also a monkey being taken around the hotel on a chain for photos.!
The hotel is a good 30 min bus ride from any where there are no local shops and I paid £8 for a packet of crisps from the hotel shop!
I was very disappointed with this hotel and will not be returning.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank galedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hola galedavies,

Thank you for taking the time to express your impressions regarding your recent in Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

We always appreciate our guests' contribution, suggestions and comments which help us find out about their preferences and help us to improve our services for you and future guests, I have taken the proper notes about the areas of improvement and passed to the people in charge to apply the corrective measures.

However, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the accomodation, our beach and the Japanese and Mediterranean Restaurants.

Thank you for highlight the services of our bar staff. We will pass on you comments to all of them and let them know that they did the perfect job for you to have a great experience at Grand Sirenis.

However we truly hope you will afford us a new chance to host you in the near future and provide you a real Grand Sirenis experience and enjoy all the amenities the resort has to offer.

Kind regards,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is split with those who's paid premium prices and those who haven't. The food was average except at a couple of the specialised restaurants which you have to book through Concierge who also tried to sell you a timeshare by getting you to come to a welcome meeting with a bribe of getting your Wi-Fi paid. The Wi-Fi you have to buy which we got a e.mail off Thompson's a week before saying that it wasn't included neither was the safe. So until a week before you're under the impression everything is included but it's not. What you reject the Concierge staff their attitude towards you changed. Can't fault any of the waitresses never met such friendly hard working staff ever, they were a pleasure to know. We spent alot of the time on the beach and Esperanza was a pleasure to know. She went out her way to be helpful and was most friendly. By only gripe was the bar staff in the hotel they would serve every Mexican person around you till they got to yourself which was annoying. Look out for the hidden Wi-Fi charges and the charge for the safe it's disgusting as it's the only hotel I've had to pay for it at.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Tiadrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tiadrop,

Thank you for taking the time to express your impressions regarding your recent in Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

Regarding the wifi , I confirm you that we are quite aware that as a resort of that caliber we have to offer the wifi in the rooms; this is why we are working very hard to be able to offer it in a very near future.

We would like to thank you also for confirming to the TA community how hard the staff works. We will send your regards to them; they are going to be very happy for your remark.

We are however pleased to hear that you did enjoy some aspect of your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Kind regards,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a week at May for our anniversary at Grand Sirenis. It is a good resort. We like pretty much everything: restaurants, beach, comfortable room, friendly staff. They even have a dolphin show on their property. You also can snorkel right off the beach. It is a good resort

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ILTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hola ILTR,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your wonderful stay here with us at Grand Sirenis. It is always such a pleasure to welcome guests back to the resort and we are pleased that this stay was as memorable as the previous ones!

It is very rewarding to read this kind of reviews, even more to know that you chose our beautiful resort to spend your anniversary, congratulations! Our main job is to make you have a memorable stay with us and we are very pleased that this was your case!

We hope to see you again very soon and we would be more than happy to welcome you back!

Best wishes,

Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
238.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
38.3 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#73 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,326 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
239.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
35.5 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: €137 - €374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing