We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Went here for a week with my girlfriend and both of us had a deadly time. This resort offers great value. It didn't matter whether we had a day by the pool or on the beach, we had a relaxing day. The Sports & Rec team by the pools can be annoying, but the drink service is quite quick. Really liked the snack bars too. Great idea if you are drinking in the sun all day. We easily booked excursions through our Transat rep. The grounds are quite big and offer plenty of walking paths. Had trouble getting into some of the restaurants, but didn't have a bad meal anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cptdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14,523)
There are newer reviews for Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,811 - 8,815 of 14,523 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our past five experiences had been to one of three Bahia Principe hotels and for a change decided to try somewhere else. To cut a long story short we booked at the Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach, le mirage.
Checking in and transfer to the room went smoothly. After this it fell apart. Firstly, the brochures indicated a shuttle service, which when one considers the size of the resort, it is an essential. They were never available when requested. This is a major problem for a family with small children, when it is raining or super hot and you need to get to the main dinning area, have a health condition or when checking out. Our return transfer to the airport was delayed for close to an hour because luggage had not been collected from a number of rooms and some passengers had to walk through pouring rain. It was only after two days of complaining that my wife and I were given priority shuttle service.
To top it off we were continually hassled by 'their staff' to purchase their new time share offer and they became upset when we declined their advance.
On a positive note we found the food in the buffet area better than previous experiences with the exception of the so called 'French restaurant'. The lobster was so tough it seemed as if it had been cooked the day before. Pseudo french yes, french NO.
The rooms were always clean but for a hotel only six years old it has been badly maintained. The fancy shower unit only allowed water to flow out of one of seven shower heads. Who ever ordered the mattresses must have requested the lumpy version because they were unbelievable.
We have never in the past had a problem when speaking English but this time both the front desk and telephone operators had a major problem with basic requests.
We were grateful for the break and the sun and sea and will return to Mexico but never again to one of this chain's resorts. Three and a half stars yes, five star NO

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel and the staff that worked there are nothing short of amazing! I am very very happy and I am quite satisfied with ALL the services provided. The atmosphere is highly energized and quite professional at the same time. I highly suggest a visit to this resort. You will not regret it.

I would also like to add reviews for my favourite Grand Sirenis staff members a review as well.
Top 3 people would be:

1. Alejandro (Tattoo Artist) - Probably the friendliest person I met that whole week. Not to mention that his work is superb! He also informed me and my companions about the most fun most importantly safe places to go. He is definitely should be up for some sort of promotion!!!

2. Verjilio (Buffet Server) - At the very least, I can say that he is the most colourful person up there. He was on the ball when it came to serving me and my whole family during our buffet visits. He never forgot about any orders, always came to see if we were ok or if we needed anything, and I don't think I ever saw him without a smile! What a character!

And last but not least..

3. Alejandra (Lounge Server) - She is the sweetest little thing! Served us with great charm and pizazz. She is very knowledgable with regards to the drink orders and had an endless list of drink suggestions if you ever felt like drinking something other than the usual cervesa. Ask her to make you random tequila shots and mixes, sit back, and enjoy the night! She'll take care of you!! You can bank on that!

Room Tip: My best advice is to get the highest room you can get. Low level rooms just don't compare to the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed Randolf Daca... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Any harsh reviews of this resort must be from people who are impossible to please in any circumstance. This resort is excellent. The rooms are adequately sized, and even the frosted glass that many people take issue with, between bedroom and bathroom, is perfectly fine. There is almost complete privacy while in the bathroom ~ albeit the glass doesn't go completely to the ceiling therefore there is a gap that people may/can hear you while you're in there. No biggie for most people. The food was excellent ~ many, many choices of both restaurants as well as the buffet. If you're fussy and only eat a small number of buffet items, then yes, after a few days you may begin to tire of it...but for most people, you could go every single day of your holiday and never eat the same thing twice. This resort is very large and a lot of walking is necessary ~ no the shuttles are not there to porter everyone around from place to place throughout their day. So, if you have a disability or walking is an issue, then this may not be the place for you. The beach is quite a bit smaller than what many people may be accustomed to, or expect, but if you're there for snorkelling, then this is the place to go. There is enough cleared area (sand without coral) that you could swim, but this isn't the beach to frolic in the waves. More fish than you'll see anywhere ~ it's like being in an aquarium. The beach staff are glorious ~ as is all the staff actually ~ Didi on the beach and Enriqué in the lobby were especially exceptional and went above and beyond to make sure we were treated well. If you don't wish to go to the 'presentation' then simply say so, and there is no issue. Pools were wonderful ~ clean and always seating. We spent an afternoon at the spa, and in all honesty, it is the best spa I have ever been in to in my life! All in all, this was a terrific holiday and we are planning to return to it again next year. Thanks everyone at Grand Sirenis!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at this lovely property. Our room was large and perfectly cleaned. Large for two tub and also a large walk in shower. The ala carte dining was awesome. Service and food --- so much better than any all inclusive we have visited before.
Plently of beach chairs. Not a long strecth of beach to walk. Mostly coral after you leave the cut out sections of beach. Plently of fish in the coves to feed, no snorkeling needed. Perfect get away.

Room Tip: We chose a garden room to be a little more quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ourtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
238.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
38.3 km away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,340 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
239.7 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
35.5 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
12,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: €137 - €373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing