We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This year is going to be my 4th visit to this resort. Truthfully, anytime you deal with other cultures you are going to have an experience different than "home". I love everything about this resort and I am visiting this year with another family that has been there 6 times. When you experience a great thing keep it. We have had some frustrating times, waiting for rooms when we arrived early, etc. but the staff were always so awesome. Food, entertainment, relaxation is second to none. We LOVE Coba.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cobalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13,530)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Coba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,963 - 6,967 of 13,530 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our 4th visit to the Coba and probably our best yet. We stayed 10 days (Feb 7-17), arriving by private transfer from the Cancun airport in just over 1 hour. We met people whose trip took 4 hours by large bus due to multiple stops on the way ... not the resort's fault but something to inquire about prior to your trip.
Our check-in was quick and we were pleased to find out we had a 3rd floor room overlooking the quiet pool (32427) as requested. We were given VIP bracelets although we didn't bother to find out what extras (if any) that gave us. We did have flowers, champagne and a fruit basket in our room as well as t-shirts, robes and slippers. Our room was nicely cleaned every day by Fausto and most days our fridge was filled although we didn't partake of much other than the odd beer and potato chips.
Food: thanks to friends also staying at the resort, we combined our a la cartes and ended up going to Le Gourmet (2 times), Don Pablo, Arlequin, Fruitos del Mar (2 times - the waiter even remembered us), Mikado (show table). All the a la cartes were great. The buffets were as expected ... can always find something to eat, but much of the food tastes the same. Having said that, we have also stayed at the Iberostar Lindo, the Palladium and Royal Decameron and I would say that buffets are pretty much comparable at all. We had lunch most days at the snack bars (Tulum, Akumal and Coba) and all were great. Our favourite breakfast place this trip was Le Tortuga at Tulum.
We were invited to a return guests breakfast which was held at Le Gourmet, using the main Kulkulcan buffet. There were people who were on their 2nd visit and some who had been there 8 times. We were also invited to a cocktail party one evening which we didn't attend. I believe the purpose was to gather comments from returning guests.
Drinks: we found the drinks to be fine. We are primarily beer drinkers, but enjoyed the mojitos, margueritas, blue lagoon. We found the amount of alcohol we were served was generally fine although some drinks were a little too strong.
Beach/pools: the towel game continues in full force and we too got up early on a couple of occasions when we wanted to spend time at the pool. We were there to claim our seats by 9:00 am so didn’t feel too guilty about it. We met Felix one day at the pool and took the opportunity to thank him for the great service. We were generally down to the beach before 10:00 am and never found it difficult to find chairs at that time although we did notice that later arrivals spent a lot of time looking for somewhere to sit. There were a number of windy days which washed up a lot of seaweed on the beach. Too bad the resort doesn’t invest in a tractor to sweep the shore as it seemed to be an endless job for the staff.
Entertainment: we only attended the Michael Jackson show which was fine – same thing we’ve seen before but probably fun for those who have never seen it. We spent most evenings at the Premiere Lobby bar. We were disappointed that the little 3 piece band has been replaced – most evenings it was two men playing to canned music; one evening a woman singing to canned music. It was ok, but definitely not as good as in the past. There was a man named Jim from Great Britain who got up to sing on two nights when we were there and he was excellent … perhaps he has a future in Mexico.
We found the service to be great overall, we enjoyed our stay, would recommend to other couples/families and may return again someday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mannfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

On our fourth trip back to Coba, definitely won't be the last. The employees truely give top notch service with a smile. Anyone who complains about this resort simply will never be happy. The food is great, the weather was great, absolutely what the doctor ordered!! Thanks and my sincere appreciation to the staff!!

Room Tip: we found the rooms in the center block were best just for the close proximity to everything, but the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oiltowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Took a chance on the sunquest roulette and our group of 6 landed here. Well run, great buffet, fabulous staff....been to many resorts but this one stands out. Favorite a la carte was Mikado ... Had problems getting pool loungers but always got some eventually...had paella poolside as well as grilled burgers .....were great...awesome drinks...cannot wait to come back... Loved Mari at the Coba bars...so sweet.. Spring break gals provided a great distraction....awesome resort....

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c21realestateguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I am amazed by this resort, Food , people and the rooms are awesome.

Pools are clean and are huge.

You can play at all 3 , and I suggest u do. Food is different at all of them.

Coba was a trolley ride from the beach, but it's free. There are shops everywhere.

Shows were great and night life not so much

Exursions to do Xel-Ha. This one is a snorkeling one. Xplore is zip- lines and underwater caves

And at Xel-Ha you can swim with dolphins for more money. And make sure u do the lazy river there as well.

We went for a wedding, and was really pretty, I would go back in a heart beat. And free wifi in lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cubaforever09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
231.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
234.5 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
267.9 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
238.8 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
240.5 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: €116 - €317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing