We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,939)
Filter reviews
13,939 results
Traveller rating
7,659
3,829
1,476
572
403
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,659
3,829
1,476
572
403
Show reviews that mention
All reviews don pablo hacienda section diamond club tequila restaurant snack bar a la carte restaurants thomas cook fish gbp tulum bahia principe tulum tulum ruins main buffet dolphin pool show table breakfast and lunch main pool smaller pool
Filter
Updating list...
6,158 - 6,163 of 13,939 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This resort is top notch and is very clean and well maintained. The lobby bar is huge and very relaxing with good service and some live entertainment. The resort is connected to a number of other ones and all are available to you. A golf cart style vehicle conveys you from resort to resort and you can eat/drink at any of the restaurants and bars. The beach is great and water is very nice.

Very close to town and Tulum ruins.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob-Winnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Rob:

It is of great satisfaction for us to know that you have really enjoyed your time at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort.

Being a three hotel complex gives us the opportunity to have several options to offer to our guests.

It was also delightful to hear that you enjoyed the the entertainment. It is important for us to know that our staff efforts are appreciated by our guests. We are proud in creating memories that last a lifetime, give unforgettable experiences to our guests and pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

We look forward to receive you in our resort again and hope you do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have to: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We visited Tulum Resort in Nov 2012. We were celebrating my 50th birthday. Our friends thier 25th Anniversary and both couples had bubbly and fruit bowl on arrival. A wonderful start to an amazing holiday. We found all 3 hotels close at hand to visit all pools, beaches and of course the delicious A la Carte restaurants on foot. Little shuttle buggies pass by all rooms and ammenities every 5 minutes for those who have walking difficulties.
The beaches were beautiful white sand and always plenty of sunbeds to chose from, the herons visiting daily added to the fun.Take your snorkels with you,gorgeous brightly coloured fish swim around you at just a few feet out.
We did loads of trips and most of them by Taxi, easily ordered by the concierge at the front door.Hotel so wel situated to all the local attractions.
Our favourite was swimming with the Turtles at Akumel beach just a short taxi ride away. Tour reps on hand daily to help with trips a little further away. A cultural tour is a must. The Mayans way of life is fascinating.
Food was in abundance in all buffets and so much to chose from, the A la carte restaurants were lovely to experiance but buffets so wonderful your torn to chose.
I would reccomend this Hotel and this area of Mexico, and we will definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karenwestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Karen and Co:

Congratulations first of all, and thank you very much for review. Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthday and your friends wedding anniversary.

We feel glad when we read that our guests feel pampered and that you received the high end service we are committed to provide during your stay. I want to say thank you for writing your valuable appreciation regarding your visit to Grand Bahia Principe Resort.

We will be happy to welcome you and your friends back in your second home in the Riviera Maya.

Sunny Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed February 2 to 9, 2013. Check in was smooth, the staff were all very friendly. We stayed in Villa 18 on the third floor. We had a view of the ocean and pool. We found the food to be good with a nice variety. We ate at the Mediterranean restaurant and Tequila which is the Mexican restaurant service was excellent and the food good.
The Lobbies in all three resorts are very impressive. We opted for Tulum because its closer o the beach. Getting around the resort is easy as they have frequent "trains" to pick you up if you don't want to walk.
My biggest complaint is the smoking in the lobby where the free wi fi is. You could not get away from the smell of cigarettes. It really should be non-smoking. My biggest kudo is the staff, we have nothing but wonderful things to say about all we encountered.
We went into Playa Del Carmen one day. The taxi driver walked us to 5th avenue and waited four hours for us to do our shopping. There was no extra charge and we appreciated him waiting.
The beach was a bit disappointing because it was quite shallow, but we understand a hurricane a number of years ago washed away most of the beach. They have placed large sand bags to stop erosion resulting in it being quite rocky in most places. Anyway it was still a beach in February!
I wouldn't hesitate to return although we might opt for Coba as it seemed to be a bit more rocking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank koolieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user:

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our hotel. We thank you for your support and above all your recommendation that makes our team proud.

It is very nice to read that you have appreciated our check in and the variety of the food. For the improvement of our services, we take your comments about the smoking areas and hope to improve the suggestion of the rocky beach.

Hoping to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Spent xmas and new year 2012 at this supposed 5* hotel, well i think Thomas Cook need to evaluate this hotel closely. It barely passes as a 3* because of its service and poor performance. The mini bar in the room was a joke, consisting of two small bottles of coke, small bottle of sprite and a packet of crisps. O'h nearly forgot the two small cans of beer. The A La Carte restaurants ran out of food on three occasions, how can this happen when you book 24 hrs in advance. Had to wait two days for coffee whiteners to be placed in the room, and to top that im still waiting for the faulty iron to be replaced. Then there was the sports bar - what a joke that was. It consisted of a shabby old pool table, a few tables and chairs and a T.V dating back fifteen years. The Mexican people are very friendly and the manicured gardens look lovely, but if your thinking of spending £4000 of your hard earned money this is definetly not the place to go. O'h and to top that you will be charged £45 per person to leave Mexico, perhaps we ought to think about charging people to enter our country. Summary - Give this hotel a wide berth as it is apparent that they are cutting corners and we the consumer are paying the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Paul:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a detailed review about the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum hotel. It will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations of a five star hotel. Some of the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our values again.

Nevertheless I also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. Our staff is one of our main strength and I am very grateful that you value it so highly. Thank you for mentioning the beatiful gardens.

Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services and trust you will allow us another chance to restore all your confidence in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts.

Kindest regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We just returned from our 4th trip at the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum. The grounds are very well maintained. We have noticed changes and improvements to the snack bar area and new huts around the pools. It's nice to see the improvement and the effort to make the services better.

It is an older hotel and the rooms are starting to show wear and tear. However, you really aren't in your room that much, so as long as it's clean who cares? We were with a group of friends and there were a few issues with our rooms beyond age. One couple had a leak in their ceiling - not to mention tools found in their room upon check-in, another had a toilet that had a water tank not filling, and our toilet became clogged once and it took 4 calls before it was properly addressed - which meant we had a clogged toilet overnight. Not pleasant, but we all survived.

The main reason we come keep coming back is the Customer Service. Melchor Loria and Maxi Agusti have been and continue to be very good to us. We emailed our villa requests and dinner reservation requests before our arrival and they accomodated us to the best of their ability. Melchor called twice during our stay to check in and make sure everything was ok. Reuben at the quiet pool is an excellent bartender and Ursula, Marie and Francesca took very good care of us at the Akumal Bar. Everyone has a smile on their face and is willing to laugh, joke, plain out make sure you are taken care of. We have noticed that the service at the buffets has been a little slow in our last two visits. There were a few times at breakfast we had to wait 5 minutes before we received our coffee. Is that terrible? Not necessarily, but sometimes you need it - especially after too much tequila the night before!

Bottom line, we will most likely return. Hopefully next year, but the economy will have to determine that.

If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere, away from the main attractions that Playa Del Carmen and Cancun provide, than I would highly recommend the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum. It's a good hours drive from the airport, but worth every minute!

Room Tip: You will need to take the stairs to get to your room, so if you have issues be sure to request a ground level room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DLJKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Guests:

We thank you for your loyalty (4th time), and your review about your recent stay with us. We strive to do so through the genuine warmth, professionalism of our staff, and highly personalized service so it is always rewarding to know the suggestions and comments from our guests which help us to be stronger and better and also help to guide us in knowing what areas we need to improve.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more. Melchor and Maxi besides good friends are excellent managers

All in Grand Bahia Principe Resort hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a fifth stay to our resort and we will make sure your stay is nothing else but a lovely experience again.

With Best Wishes,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews