We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$272
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
US$238
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$226
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$308
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$324
US$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
US$313
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
US$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Akumal Natura Glamping(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,766)
Filter reviews
13,766 results
Traveller rating
7,571
3,798
1,457
558
382
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,571
3,798
1,457
558
382
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablohacienda sectiondiamond clubtequila restaurantsnack bara la carte restaurantsthomas cookfishgbp tulumbahia principe tulumtulum ruinsmain buffetdolphin poolbreakfast and lunchshow tablemain poolsmaller pool
Filter
Updating list...
6,154 - 6,159 of 13,766 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed from 25th december to the 9th of January. Had a brilliants new years with a huge party in resort.
As for the resort itself, i dont think you will find a better place anywhere for the same money! It was always spotless, all the staff were friendly, helpful and very punctual. Every meal we had was of a really high standard. We went the the Tequila restaurant in the Tulum part for our breakfast and lunch most days, mostly due to the staff there. We were looked after by Alfredo who is one of the nicest people we have ever met and really takes his job serioulsy but has great fun with you aswell! We were also looked after by Gonzalo and he was great fun too! The food there on the buffet was really nice and always a good selection of fresh meat and fish with lost of salad and vegetables.
I really could only find one fault with the resort, well it isnt the resort really. Its just when you try and go in the sea at the Tulum end there is a lot of coral as you first enter which is sharp, so take some appropriate footwear! Other than this absolutely faultless!
The little trains that run around the resort are a brilliant idea and help a lot, took us a couple of days to work them out properly but then didnt go anywhere without using them!

Overall i would highly reccomend this to anybody, there is something for everyone here! 5 starts easy!! *****

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear Joe:

We would like to say ¨gracias¨ for deciding to give us an opportunity to enjoy our services and facilities at your second home in the Mexican Caribbean.

We will pass the comments on to Alfredo and Gonzalo, they will be happy to know that you have noticed his services. At the same time we are appreciative with your fine impressions of our New Years party and would like to mention that we will be very happy to welcome you back here at Grand Bahia Principe Resort for more nice memories.

On behalf of the entire team we thank for your positive comments to us moving through this social network always consulted and appreciated by many travelers.

Please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

It was a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend this resort to any family! We did a bunch of research and took the advice from other TripAdvisor users. Our family of four included two kids (6 & 9). My wife and I have had a chance to stay at other 5 star resorts in Jamaica and the Dominican Republic, so we were expecting a great trip to the GBPT.

The bus ride down to the resort was a little long, but worth the wait. It took about 1.5 hours, with all the drop offs of other passengers to their resorts. When we got to GBPT, the bellmen were very friendly and the resort lobby was very beautiful and clean. The front reception employees were gracious and polite. A few time share people trying to pull you in, or as we like to call them "sharks", but easy enough to say no to.

Resort Experience: the entire resort was beautiful and maintained on a daily basis. There were staff everywhere tending the gardens, serving guests and a few photographers with parrots. The beach was beautiful, and yes there are very large sandbags that helped to break waves. It made for great snorkeling as there were various fish species waiting near the sandbags or get closer to the piers on the Akumal side as the fish were MUCH bigger there. The beach was busy, but not overcrowded. Same goes for the pools. Tao Wellness center was nice and great for hatha yoga if you can make the shuttle at 7:15am.

Food: The buffets were decent with a wide selection, and they kept the food as fresh a possible. For picky eaters, this is still a buffet restaurant, so the wide variety helped to make it manageable. I have to say that the servers at the Coba buffet were much friendlier, and we there on several occasions for dinner. We mainly had our breakfast and lunch at the Gran Tortuga which was right outside our villa. Both Ovidio and Francisco were great and helpful everyday! We did our a la cartes at the Portofino, Le Gourmet and Don Pablo. The Portofino food was ok, however, our server Luis made a Mayan coffee which made the experience very cool. If you've never seen one, it is a really nice fire show. Le Gourmet was not a good experience as it took about an hour and twenty minutes before we received our starters (appetizers) and overall service was slow. Not sure if they were under staff that night, but definitely not a recommended restaurant. The Don Pablo was the best of the three, with prompt and friendly service and good food. Even though we were next to the main Tulum buffet, it was intimate enough not to notice. We booked the a la cartes a week before arrival and Massiel was very helpful to making arrangements.

Room: We stayed in Villa 22, and our room was cleaned daily. We had a few kid accidents in our room on a couple of days, but a quick call to front desk and it was taken care of. On one occasion, Manuel (our housekeeper) was turning down the rooms, and when I told him what happened, and he was quick to help make sure everything was cleaned up right away. Thank you for the help! One problem we had was the ants we found on our second night. I notified front desk of the problem and they said that they would take care of it the following day. Instead of waiting, I wanted to insure the kids were safe and used some bug spray I brought and sprayed down the ants and the cracks they were coming from. This resolved the issue until the second to last night of our stay when the ants found another crack to come in from.

Service/Staff: The staff were amazing. They were friendly, happy and willing to help right away!

Kids Club: Not really a big facility, but Saiden was wonderful. She made the kids feel welcome and safe. Our kids were hesitant at first, but enjoyed their time there and the activities they did. We did notice the Coba resort was building a kids waterpark, and if you are planning a trip, see if you can time it so that you get to use the waterpark.

Excursions: Went to Playa del Carmen on the collectivo (35 pesos/person, but if we were locals we would have been charged less). Took about 25 minutes. Cool town and 5th Avenue is definitely where all the shopping is done. I did notice that the Hacienda at GBPT had similar stuff and the prices were the same. Did the Tulum ruins by collectivo (charged 30 pesos/person, but again it was because we are tourists). Only ten minutes away and an educational experience. The walk to the entrance is not far from the highway. Lastly, do the Xel-Ha excursion. It is great for snorkeling, ziplining for all ages, visiting the cenotes, swimming with the dolphins and etc. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: If you are planning to convert USD to Pesos, the hotel has a great rate. It was 13.01 pesos for 1 USD during our stay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank curioustraveller653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear Family:

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our Hotel. We thank you for your support and above all your recommendation that makes our team proud.

All of our associates are appreciative when they receive complimentary comments like yours, and the fact that you have named some of them makes them feel even prouder.

We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back!!!

Best regards (thank you very much for your comment about my work),
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Just returned from a 14 day trip to the Grand Bahia Principe, Tulum. my wife and I and Brother-in-Law and his wife and what a great time we had, It was our 2nd time in Riviera Maya and their 1st time in Mexico and like us fell in love with the place.
We booked this hotel a few weeks before Xmas and got a great deal from Thomas Cook for an all-inclusive holiday. Unlike many of these types of deal this one didn't stint with quality of the food and the drinks although at times for example you had to ask for Beefeater Gin otherwise you got the local inferior version. No complaints about service, staff, facilities, pools, cleanliness but we did get a bout of upset stomach for 48hours, all 4 of us, we think this was probably from eating at lunch time at the all day cafe in Akumal resort, as the food is out a long time in the heat and we ate late that day.
However once we got over that we were fine. We highly recommend the A La Carte restaurants too, especially, L'Arlequin and Don Pablo. We had a so-so meal in the Italian one, the Dolce Vita, the Tortuga Brazilian restaurant could do with improving the explanation of what you get, we were stuffed up with high quality steak and then the rest of the meat arrived which we couldn't eat!
One gripe though, DO NOT get suckered into the Time share meetings about the Privilege Club! We were told a 90 minute light presentation, no pressure or hard sell, nothing could be further from the truth, 3 1/2 hours later and we were still getting hounded to sign up, once it was clear we were not going to do so they drop you like a hot potato. In fairness, eventually the management responded to the complaint we made and tried to make amends but it does not reflect well on what is an excellent hotel and great value for money.
Would we go again? You betcha, we are even considering the Dominican Republic!

Room Tip: In the Tulum resort get a room if you can by the beach or Delphinarus. If we go back we will opt for any rooms in Akumal or Coba resorts as they tend to have better facilities, bars and buffets and more of them to hand.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member:

On behalf of the management and all the staff of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum resort, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing to be guests in our resort. We realize that there is a myriad of other resorts for you to choose from and we are grateful because your choice was to spend your family vacation at our resort.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance at: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com so we can make you next stay great again.

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

In a nutshell, well worth the money, in every aspect, the hotel, service, waiters/ waitress's. the restaurants served A1 cuisine, from Italian, to Japanese . the beaches were amazing, and the entertainment team were on form day in day out.
Local towns are well worth a visit, and these plenty to do if you fancy something different.
A definate return is on the cards...!!! Gracias...!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kinsexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your valuable comments on Trip Advisor and for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Resort for your recent stay.

We feel glad to read that you have left the hotel feeling totally invigorated. Thank you for highlighting our entertainment team.It is important for us to know that our staff’s efforts are appreciated by our guests.

Muchas gracias; Thank you very much for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to send us a note with your wishes before your next arrival to: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com. We hope the sunburn is gone.

Sunny Regards

Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Check in: Our 4th visit to GBP and I had emailed the resort beforehand to let them know. Didn't seem to make any difference. Received regular color bracelet as everyone else and regular room. Found front desk staff not as pleasant as the rest of the employees.

Room: It was fine. A/C didn't work well and we called to have someone come take a look but that never happened. Ensure your sliding glass door and front door are completed closed for the A/C to work (that wasn't our problem, but it will shut off if the doors are open/not completed closed).

Grounds: Beautifully manicured. Geckos and Iguanas around. Also saw some cats, raccoons and other animals. The raccoons hang out in the evening at the entrance to the lobby bar. Please remember they are wild animals. Saw people trying to go up and pet them and they just about lost a finger. Large resort with golf carts to shuttle you around.

Staff were great. We always tip... bartenders, waiters cleaning staff, activity staff, spa employees, etc. One bartender showed us his paycheck. For 1/2 month he took home $1300 pesos - around $120. Ouch. These people need tips to survive so if you're so inclined, they are very grateful for it.

Restaurants: The a la cartes were okay. We have had much better at other resorts. The main buffet had great variety. We stayed at Tulum and went to the Coba buffet for dinner a couple of night. Even more variety there. The snack bar for late in the evening was disappointing.

Ocean: Rocky on the northern end, better on the southern end. They have man made breakers which people sit on. The water was very rough and it was red flags our entire stay.

Excursions: Went to Chichen Itza. Rented a cab for the day instead of going on a tour bus. We find this the best way to go. We stopped at a cenote for swimming and at a school in Coba to deliver soccer uniforms that we had brought with us. Great day.

Snorkeling on Cozumel was disappointing, but I think we're spoiled. Found lots of fish right at the resort, especially if some bread fell in the water.... :-)

We stayed for 11 nights and had a very enjoyable time. Very multi-national - met people from Russia, GB, Italy, France, Canada, US, Poland, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wally98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Guest:

For the Grand Bahia Principe Resort all observations, suggestions or criticisms are very important, because our clients are the best supervisor we have.

We really appreciate that you took part of your valuable time to share your opinion. Regarding the front deskt we have reviewed this issue with the Reception manager in order to introduce corrective actions or improvements where necessary.

Sending you our kindest regards and hoping we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews