We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best resorts/experiences ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Just returned from a short 4 day trip to the Gran Bahia. Excellent property and staff. We've stayed at about seven different chains in the Caribbean over the years and this is overall probably the best in almost every way. The grounds are beautiful and immense. The trolleys are frequent and the drivers funny, entertaining and very helpful. The staff is friendly, attentive. There are beverage options nearby always. Some resorts don't have drinks by the beach, but this one has many!. We love to snorkel and there is a great reef between the Akumal and Tulum resorts just south of the water sports area. Some of the reef is outside the swimming ropes and sometimes the staff would whistle you back inside. Just be very respectful and don't touch the reef or kick up sand. There can be a strong current there but it brings you towards shore. This resort had fun shows in the evening, some cheesy but always entertaining. There are parties by the beach, music at the Hacienda and lots of options every evening. Great music and dancing at Coba on plaza by the lobby every night. We had something special left in our room everyday. I'm not sure if it's because we had stayed at a Gran Bahia in Punta Cana, or because we booked thru Apple or just won the lottery. Please tip your maid and servers, they work so hard and made our stay wonderful. The food was wonderful. Ate at Mikaido and Tortuga. The meat options were at least 14 on our evening there, more than the menu even. Great variety at the breakfast buffets, including a heart healthy area. Only snacked on great guacamole and pico de gallo at the beach snack shacks. More options but we weren't there long enough and didn't get out of the water. The resort is about the furthest from Cancun, that is the only con. Our pick up time was pretty early before the flight and we missed some fun on our last day. We can't wait to return for a longer trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Estimated Laura:

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the Trip Advisor community. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our Hotel.

We appreciate that you have allowed us the honor of serving you. Your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services whit other hotels. The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,641 - 5,645 of 12,878 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed from 25th december to the 9th of January. Had a brilliants new years with a huge party in resort.
As for the resort itself, i dont think you will find a better place anywhere for the same money! It was always spotless, all the staff were friendly, helpful and very punctual. Every meal we had was of a really high standard. We went the the Tequila restaurant in the Tulum part for our breakfast and lunch most days, mostly due to the staff there. We were looked after by Alfredo who is one of the nicest people we have ever met and really takes his job serioulsy but has great fun with you aswell! We were also looked after by Gonzalo and he was great fun too! The food there on the buffet was really nice and always a good selection of fresh meat and fish with lost of salad and vegetables.
I really could only find one fault with the resort, well it isnt the resort really. Its just when you try and go in the sea at the Tulum end there is a lot of coral as you first enter which is sharp, so take some appropriate footwear! Other than this absolutely faultless!
The little trains that run around the resort are a brilliant idea and help a lot, took us a couple of days to work them out properly but then didnt go anywhere without using them!

Overall i would highly reccomend this to anybody, there is something for everyone here! 5 starts easy!! *****

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear Joe:

We would like to say ¨gracias¨ for deciding to give us an opportunity to enjoy our services and facilities at your second home in the Mexican Caribbean.

We will pass the comments on to Alfredo and Gonzalo, they will be happy to know that you have noticed his services. At the same time we are appreciative with your fine impressions of our New Years party and would like to mention that we will be very happy to welcome you back here at Grand Bahia Principe Resort for more nice memories.

On behalf of the entire team we thank for your positive comments to us moving through this social network always consulted and appreciated by many travelers.

Please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

It was a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend this resort to any family! We did a bunch of research and took the advice from other TripAdvisor users. Our family of four included two kids (6 & 9). My wife and I have had a chance to stay at other 5 star resorts in Jamaica and the Dominican Republic, so we were expecting a great trip to the GBPT.

The bus ride down to the resort was a little long, but worth the wait. It took about 1.5 hours, with all the drop offs of other passengers to their resorts. When we got to GBPT, the bellmen were very friendly and the resort lobby was very beautiful and clean. The front reception employees were gracious and polite. A few time share people trying to pull you in, or as we like to call them "sharks", but easy enough to say no to.

Resort Experience: the entire resort was beautiful and maintained on a daily basis. There were staff everywhere tending the gardens, serving guests and a few photographers with parrots. The beach was beautiful, and yes there are very large sandbags that helped to break waves. It made for great snorkeling as there were various fish species waiting near the sandbags or get closer to the piers on the Akumal side as the fish were MUCH bigger there. The beach was busy, but not overcrowded. Same goes for the pools. Tao Wellness center was nice and great for hatha yoga if you can make the shuttle at 7:15am.

Food: The buffets were decent with a wide selection, and they kept the food as fresh a possible. For picky eaters, this is still a buffet restaurant, so the wide variety helped to make it manageable. I have to say that the servers at the Coba buffet were much friendlier, and we there on several occasions for dinner. We mainly had our breakfast and lunch at the Gran Tortuga which was right outside our villa. Both Ovidio and Francisco were great and helpful everyday! We did our a la cartes at the Portofino, Le Gourmet and Don Pablo. The Portofino food was ok, however, our server Luis made a Mayan coffee which made the experience very cool. If you've never seen one, it is a really nice fire show. Le Gourmet was not a good experience as it took about an hour and twenty minutes before we received our starters (appetizers) and overall service was slow. Not sure if they were under staff that night, but definitely not a recommended restaurant. The Don Pablo was the best of the three, with prompt and friendly service and good food. Even though we were next to the main Tulum buffet, it was intimate enough not to notice. We booked the a la cartes a week before arrival and Massiel was very helpful to making arrangements.

Room: We stayed in Villa 22, and our room was cleaned daily. We had a few kid accidents in our room on a couple of days, but a quick call to front desk and it was taken care of. On one occasion, Manuel (our housekeeper) was turning down the rooms, and when I told him what happened, and he was quick to help make sure everything was cleaned up right away. Thank you for the help! One problem we had was the ants we found on our second night. I notified front desk of the problem and they said that they would take care of it the following day. Instead of waiting, I wanted to insure the kids were safe and used some bug spray I brought and sprayed down the ants and the cracks they were coming from. This resolved the issue until the second to last night of our stay when the ants found another crack to come in from.

Service/Staff: The staff were amazing. They were friendly, happy and willing to help right away!

Kids Club: Not really a big facility, but Saiden was wonderful. She made the kids feel welcome and safe. Our kids were hesitant at first, but enjoyed their time there and the activities they did. We did notice the Coba resort was building a kids waterpark, and if you are planning a trip, see if you can time it so that you get to use the waterpark.

Excursions: Went to Playa del Carmen on the collectivo (35 pesos/person, but if we were locals we would have been charged less). Took about 25 minutes. Cool town and 5th Avenue is definitely where all the shopping is done. I did notice that the Hacienda at GBPT had similar stuff and the prices were the same. Did the Tulum ruins by collectivo (charged 30 pesos/person, but again it was because we are tourists). Only ten minutes away and an educational experience. The walk to the entrance is not far from the highway. Lastly, do the Xel-Ha excursion. It is great for snorkeling, ziplining for all ages, visiting the cenotes, swimming with the dolphins and etc. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: If you are planning to convert USD to Pesos, the hotel has a great rate. It was 13.01 pesos for 1 U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank curioustraveller653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear Family:

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our Hotel. We thank you for your support and above all your recommendation that makes our team proud.

All of our associates are appreciative when they receive complimentary comments like yours, and the fact that you have named some of them makes them feel even prouder.

We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back!!!

Best regards (thank you very much for your comment about my work),
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Just returned from a 14 day trip to the Grand Bahia Principe, Tulum. my wife and I and Brother-in-Law and his wife and what a great time we had, It was our 2nd time in Riviera Maya and their 1st time in Mexico and like us fell in love with the place.
We booked this hotel a few weeks before Xmas and got a great deal from Thomas Cook for an all-inclusive holiday. Unlike many of these types of deal this one didn't stint with quality of the food and the drinks although at times for example you had to ask for Beefeater Gin otherwise you got the local inferior version. No complaints about service, staff, facilities, pools, cleanliness but we did get a bout of upset stomach for 48hours, all 4 of us, we think this was probably from eating at lunch time at the all day cafe in Akumal resort, as the food is out a long time in the heat and we ate late that day.
However once we got over that we were fine. We highly recommend the A La Carte restaurants too, especially, L'Arlequin and Don Pablo. We had a so-so meal in the Italian one, the Dolce Vita, the Tortuga Brazilian restaurant could do with improving the explanation of what you get, we were stuffed up with high quality steak and then the rest of the meat arrived which we couldn't eat!
One gripe though, DO NOT get suckered into the Time share meetings about the Privilege Club! We were told a 90 minute light presentation, no pressure or hard sell, nothing could be further from the truth, 3 1/2 hours later and we were still getting hounded to sign up, once it was clear we were not going to do so they drop you like a hot potato. In fairness, eventually the management responded to the complaint we made and tried to make amends but it does not reflect well on what is an excellent hotel and great value for money.
Would we go again? You betcha, we are even considering the Dominican Republic!

Room Tip: In the Tulum resort get a room if you can by the beach or Delphinarus. If we go back we will opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member:

On behalf of the management and all the staff of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum resort, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing to be guests in our resort. We realize that there is a myriad of other resorts for you to choose from and we are grateful because your choice was to spend your family vacation at our resort.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance at: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com so we can make you next stay great again.

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

In a nutshell, well worth the money, in every aspect, the hotel, service, waiters/ waitress's. the restaurants served A1 cuisine, from Italian, to Japanese . the beaches were amazing, and the entertainment team were on form day in day out.
Local towns are well worth a visit, and these plenty to do if you fancy something different.
A definate return is on the cards...!!! Gracias...!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kinsexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your valuable comments on Trip Advisor and for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Resort for your recent stay.

We feel glad to read that you have left the hotel feeling totally invigorated. Thank you for highlighting our entertainment team.It is important for us to know that our staff’s efforts are appreciated by our guests.

Muchas gracias; Thank you very much for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to send us a note with your wishes before your next arrival to: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com. We hope the sunburn is gone.

Sunny Regards

Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.2 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
3.3 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.9 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,202 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Akumal
Hotel Akumal
#5 of 7 in Akumal
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250, Local B, Akumal, Municipio Tulum, Quintana Roo. 77760 | Local B, Akumal 77776, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: €151 - €365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 4.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing