We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome stay 12 years later”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at this resort on the Millenium 12 years ago, before the Akumal and Coba were built. The resort is still awesome. Perfect location, great beach towards the Akumal end, plenty of pool chairs and beach cabanas. Staff very friendly. Iguanas everywhere. This resort is huge, but it doesn't feel that way. There are alot of people, but plenty of room to move around. 10 minutes from Xel Ha and 10 minutes to Akumal Bay. Now problems with our stay. Took my 8 year old son and he loved it as well. Food was okay. I don't go to Mexico to eat, but the food was average and there were plenty of choices with the three resorts all exchanging privileges. People complained about the Tulum section being old. Our room looked exactly the same as it did 12 years ago, but it was clean, everything worked, except the fridge one evenining. No biggie they came and fixed it after I brought it to their attention. Had a great Mexican BBQ on the beach for us one night before we left. Had a great vacation. Will definetely return or try a Bahia at my next vacation.

Room Tip: we stayed in villa 7, which was fine. However met people from villa 21 on the 4th floor and they had...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greno86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,593)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,074 - 6,078 of 12,593 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

I traveled here from 2/19 to 2/26. I can`t say enough about Gran Bahia Principe Tulum, Coba and Akumal. The hotel itself was beautiful. The staff was amazing. They are the most friendly and funny people I have ever met on vacation. We had a few problems with our room but 1 phone call rectified the problems........ The food was good.... but I didn`t travel here for the food and the beauty of this paradise makes you not even care. I will give anyone traveling here
advise ... make reservations for the restaurants for every night you want to eat out as they book quick . I loved the Mikado at Coba, we did the show and the food was amazing as was the service ! You can bounce off all 3 resorts via shuttle ! I suggest going to Yal-ku Lagoon, North Akumal for snorkeling...... amazing place . We rented a hut for $20(US) for the day well worth the money ! you wont` be sorry ! we also snorkeled at Akumal Beach.... another amazing experience !
One side trip I highly recommend is Tulume Extreme, we ziplined , snorkeled in the cenotes and saw the Tulum Mayan ruins ( also a fantastic lunch was included) all for $98.00(US).
I am already planning my next trip back here !!!

Room Tip: Just make sure the air works..... they will fix promptly if not : ) The staff is very accommodating...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dsmart1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Like most people I read a lot of reviews of this place and while we are not into the bigger hotels we decided to book it based on the favorable comments. the good points are the incredible landscaping, room cleaning, buffet selection....

The average was the beach chairs (most were worn, lots were broken, never enough unless your up early and saving one) Iguanas everywhere I mean everywhere hundreds of them all over the resort not just in a bush. After days of seeing them all over it became quite unappealing. the room smelled of mould, mildew so bad we couldnt use the air con cause thats where it was coming from. I dont understand why there is drywall on the ceilings??? or the sealed window in the bathroom...its no wonder there is a problem. If your sensitive to this type of smell you wont be impressed. it was so bad i couldnt wear my small jacket back on the plane home cause of the smell in it. You can hear your neighbors having a conversation..paper thin walls. The beds and pillows are the worst we have every experienced.
The rooms are very dated and it would help to have a screen patio door to enjoy the breeze without getting mosquito bites. We requested a king bed and were were moved from building 10 to building 31 to accomodate us. But 31 was very near the dolphin pool so it was very noisy with trucks pumping out tanks at all hours, cleaning of the area, etc..not quiet at all.

And i have to add we felt bad for the dolphins as they are confined to such a small area to call home and subject to show after show that we couldnt go and watch them.

The walking (lots) was enjoyable for us, but they have golf trollies all the time if you want to ride. We head to Coba and Ackumal but again it was just like ours..no big wow.
We took a taxi two evenings to Playa Del Carmen (33.00 USD one way) and had a great time. it was very pleasent to be away from the resort to be honest.
We wouldnt stay here again and would only recommend it to families on a budget. We actually tried to spend the last 4 days at another resort but couldnt get in with the short notice.
We have been to 6 all inclusives at various degrees of luxury and would honestly pay the extra and stay at a higher end, quieter and adults only from now on.

We did meet many couples in Playa with children who also rented a condo for very reasonable prices so this is something else for us to consider.

Room Tip: quiter is 10-18, but its a chance even then due to paper thin walls
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We went to this resort based on the price as we were meeting 2 other couples. I was not expecting too much but I was pretty satisfied with our 2 weeks there.
One major issue for me was that the staff seemed to be distant in how friendly they were with you. We have travelled to Jamaica and the people there are genuinely happy to see you once you get to know them but we noticed at this resort, this was lacking. Maybe due to the amount of people they serve here....All in all, we enjoyed our time though. We stayed in the Hacienda section of the resort and had the option of the quiet pool or walking to the main pool to watch the 'crazy games'. This was very very loud but it was sometimes entertaining to watch the pool games. The cleanup around the main pool area was lacking and there should be more attention paid to this. Some of the chairs were very old and worn and should be thrown out. My kids loved the staff at the kids club, they were very attentive to the kids and I felt very safe leaving my children there. The entertainment at night was pretty good and but it began to repeat itself after a week. I didnt like how long it took to get to the other resorts for dinner reservations but that is due to the massive size of the property. Rooms were clean and beds were decent. I also do not agree with the dolphins being confined to a small pool. It does not seem fair to trap a wild animal in such a small area for human entertainment. They need to be able to swim long distances.
We spent no time on the beach as it was rocky and crowded and there was no bar service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a great week at this resort but would not return. Too far from the airport AND we are beach people and did not like this one. Next time, we would return to the Iberostar.
The staff at this resort are really friendly and the food was excellent. Try the al a carts they are wonderful. Huge resort but never a problem to get a tram ride back and forth. make sure you check out the Akumel pool, it's the best. The grounds were beautiful. In the evening before the stage show, they have a live band which is great for dancing. On Thursday nights, they have a Mexican show at he shopping center BUT it's not included. $15 a person and SO not worth it! If you are like us and have a late flight, they will store your luggage for the day and provide a nice shower area with towels and shampoo(no blow dryer though) lots of stores at the airport and two big duty frees.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBTOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
232.0 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
235.3 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
268.6 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
239.7 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
241.1 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250 | Local B, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: €141 - €363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing