We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$272
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
US$238
US$216
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$226
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$308
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$324
US$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$279
US$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$378
US$313
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akumal Natura Glamping(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,768)
Filter reviews
13,768 results
Traveller rating
7,572
3,799
1,457
558
382
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,572
3,799
1,457
558
382
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablohacienda sectiondiamond clubtequila restaurantsnack bara la carte restaurantsthomas cookfishgbp tulumbahia principe tulumtulum ruinsmain buffetdolphin poolshow tablebreakfast and lunchmain poolsmaller pool
Filter
Updating list...
7,288 - 7,293 of 13,768 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I am 19 went with my sister (25) Grandma (66) and mom (45)
The good:
-It was beautiful scenery from the lobby to the walk to your room... just amazing
-There were iguanas there all the time which was cool
-The rooms are very clean a bit out-dated, but really who is ever in the room
-There is so much to do for night time activities, they have a disco there that is pretty equivalent to a U.S. club//rave.... rave because they play a lot of house music.. a down side is the disco doesnt open till mid-night
-I thought the food was excellent a ton to choose from at the buffet we also went to the japanese restaurant which was good they have good sushi for an appetizer. We also went to the steakhouse which I also thought was wonderful.
-At the hasenda (shopping in spanish) there are so many great stores and only like a 5 minute walk from the hotel... they also have live music and dancers every night at 11pm
-the shows were good but could have been better... but im not complaining because i could never do any of it.

The bad
-The hotel is a hour and half drive from the cancun airport
-The beach directly outside of tulum is very rocky(but if you go to akumal the beach outside there is a little rocky but very still water and very blue and you can snorkel because there is always fish around
-Everything is really spaced out so take your tennishoes if you are gonna walk or just wait 5-10 min outside tulum for a tran ride
-if you want to jet-ski or something like that is a hour away
-xel ha is fun and only 10-15 minutes away
-the only internet connection are in the lobbys

Thats about all I can think of...... so if you have a question just askkk!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mmehd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Sir, Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

The comments we receive from our guests are very important to maintain and/ or improve the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

We thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back soon in the GBP México. Please inform us prior to arrival to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards

Nicki Van den Auwelant
Sub Director Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We visited for 11 days in March. It was a very busy time - primarily Canadians and Europeans at the resort. Service was uniformly excellent - the staff have great senses of humour. We did tip for good service and it was appreciated. The rooms were great, beds fine, very quiet. The buffet had great selection - we will miss the croissants. A la cartes were very good, Arlequin in particular. The staff took particular care dealing with my daughter with life threatening food allergies.
The pool was busy and if you wanted to be in the main section you had to get up early - but there were always chairs on the beach.
The beach is rocky and it is typically wavy - not appropriate for young kids - but great for teenagers - we all had a great time in the waves and the sand whales. We spent 5 days doing trips off the resort and that worked well (self planned not through the hotel or a tour operator).
I would encourage the animation staff to include activities for the pre-teens, (10 to 14), there were many who were too old to be in the kids program but were often excluded from the activities. As well, the Coba site had a great dance party on Sunday nights that should be replicated at the other sites - it was great fun.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2011

Dear Sir, Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We have already sent your nice words and thanks to the departments involved and in the name of the whole Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya resort, we want to thank you again for your valuable comments and for convincing other future travelers to visit our resort.

We want to invite you to visit us again soon, please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards

Nicki Van den Auwelant
Sub Director Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

It was my second stay at Bahia Complex, so I know what to expect, bad alcool at beach bars, so so rooms (clean- room staff is 5*- but with evident signs of usage-and bad maitenance) good food (as long as you use the several restaurants in the complex to get some variety,
But this was clearly my last time because I used the ATM at Hacienda, and my credit card was cloned, I'm pretty sured of was I'm saying mainly to: I keep a record of every account movement, and a couple that we meet at Mexico also get their card cloned.

So beaware you have been warned, the money with you NEVER use the ATM's in the HOTEL.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Truncatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Just got back from a great week with 2 teens at the Tulum resort. It was a pleasure to be there, the kids could participate in activities, or not. I felt that they were safe exploring on their own, whether to check wifi in the lobby or go get snacks or drinks. The staff were all courteous and the grounds immaculate.
Yes, sometimes food that sat in the buffets toasted the end of the serving time was cool, but if thats a concern get there at the beginning of the meal times. There was plenty of variety to serve all of our taste buds and if you didn't want to sit in a restaurant the snak bar had plenty of options.
We did outings to akumal, Playa de Carmen, and the ruins and xelha. My least favorite was playa de Carmen because we just went to 5 th Ave. Which was all stores and vendors. We took a taxi to all the places so we could get there quickly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kootenays64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Dear Sir/ Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and your suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort

It would be an honor to welcome you once again to our resort. Please write us a mail before your next visit and we will do our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards

Nicki Van den Auwelant
Sub Director Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This has so far been the nicest resort I've been to in the Mayan. Buffet is great and food is plenty hot trust me! Every night I ate fish cooked various ways, all types of chicken, salads ( spinach, romaine, mix) every oil and vinegar on earth! Pizza a plenty, great mexican as well. Service is great, we needed a high chair and at times it too a while but only at breakfast and lunch. Trust me the food is wonderful! Don Pablo surf and turf was excellent. Beer is dos exise and good. Only issue here is they only put 2 in the room a day and this is my ONLY turn off!!! If I want 5 put 5 in the fridge. Rooms are very nice, we have 2 kids and a play pen was set up with a single and king bed as well! Pools are great and the lobby is fabulous, nicest I've ever seen! The main bar near the lobby was great for late afternoon drinks and never crowded. Service is great! Folks this is a 4.5 to 5 star and as of now we are going back next year! Oh the 24 hour snack bar is great too for drinks and roasted chicken and fries at night and small buffet for lunch. Coffee here is wonderful as well. March 11-18 sunshine everyday!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cambridgedemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Dear Sir, Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and suggestions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

The comments we receive from our guests are very important to maintain and/ or improve the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

We thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back soon in the GBP México. Please inform us prior to arrival to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards

Nicki Van den Auwelant
Sub Director Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews