We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,118)
Filter reviews
6,118 results
Traveller rating
4,852
1,041
191
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,852
1,041
191
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi bar akumal bay one man band paddle boarding beach manager fidelity club lobby bar yoga classes fish the penthouse gourmet restaurant sea turtles jacuzzi on the balcony sushi chef main pool brazilian steakhouse stayed in building
Filter
Updating list...
3,942 - 3,947 of 6,118 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2015

overall my family and I had an amazing stay, the food was probably the best food we've had at any resort including any resort we've been to in Mexico, Cuba and the Dominican. the staff is very friendly and helpful. the entertainment staff was exceptional, they always kept us entertained and every single one was very nice, also seemed to truly care about their guests as they engaged in conversations with us on just about anything, and always had smiles on their faces, in particular two of the female entertainment staff, Jacqueline and Karla were amazing to us and made our experience that much better. Beach volleyball was great as we played every day and there was always a solid level of competition, which kept the games very intense, interesting and fun. the resort is very small compared to many we have been to but this proved to be a huge plus as everything was very close by. the beach was excellent and the snorkeling was phenomenal, as we got to see the turtles which were spitting distance from the resort.

Room tip: ground floor room was not our first choice but ended up being really good
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKUMALBR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Thank you very much for your feedback of your past stay with us.
We are delighted to read you had a great experience with us and that our food and staff were outstanding, will make sure Jacqueline and Karla and the rest of our Entertainment team get your kind comments about their exceptional service.
Hope to have you again soon visiting us.

Zenia Aldana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

We visited this resort on May 17 to 24 we had great time the room is very nice very clean very big the food you have too many choices is really good you can find food anytime the buffet always has too much food and many choices for sure we love the food but the only thing I don't like is there is nothing for kids to do .like activities is very much you can call this place very quite and the staff is very friendly and helpful we really appreciate everybody there

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
8  Thank 546mahas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKUMALBR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and taking the time to review our hotel, this is truly important for us.
We are glad to read you enjoyed our food, facilities and the service of our staff, as well we will follow up your constructive comment about Kid´s activities.
Hope you honor us soon with your visit.

Zenia Aldana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Our experience at Akumal Bay (May 9 – 17, 2015) was beyond our expectation. We had such a wonderful week of celebrating our anniversary and my wife being cancer free. From our welcome upon arrival, to our room (Modern and nice. Awesome views. Wonderful hot tub on the balcony!), to the (fine and casual) dining, to the beach (WOW! The colors, snorkeling, turtles – in the past we had pay to take excursions to see things like this - often not as good!), to the tidal pools with critters, to the grounds and landscaping, to the service of the staff (Zenia – ensured that our vacation was flawless and Irene kept our wine glasses full!), to walking to and exploring Akumal, to walking down the beach with the one I love, to . . . Truly a beautiful resort, a wonderful experience. We have visited many 4 - 5 star all inclusive resorts, but never had the desire to return. We WILL be returning to Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort in the year ahead!

Before booking Akumal Bay we followed the positive; and yes, some negative comments on Trip Advisor. Feedback from us? Opinions are like belly buttons! We all have one! Can you complain about things? Sure, or you can choose to be positive, have a great moment and a wonderful day, try some new food you’ve never eaten before (The food, presentations, options were interesting, delicious and INCREDIBLE!), and be patient and kind to the people you meet, those who are trying to serve you. That is how we lived for 8 incredible days.

So, if you don't like a dining option, go to a different one, try a different menu item, or go to the cafeteria or snack bar. Seaweed on the beach happens. (We were so impressed with those men who worked to clear it up day after day – they deserved a tip and applause as well.) No chairs, never a problem. No snorkel gear - we brought our own. Problems with the room – we didn’t have any. Really, our only negative . . . we were sad to leave!

Room tip: Buildings 1 & 2 around the pool are more active and tied into programing at the hotel. Buildings 3 & 4 are more quiet.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKUMALBR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, they definitely inspire us!
We were truly happy to welcome you and your wife in such wondeful celebration and making this a happy memorable experience.
Hope to have you soon again with us and pamper you as our repetitive guest.

Zenia Aldana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

This is our second trip in two years to this resort. They are fantastic. Things slip up here and there but they are eager to correct the problem. We did not have hot water in our room and with a quick phone call it was fixed. The updates are incredible, it is amazing what they accomplished in one year. Overall though it is a beautiful area, with the best snorkeling around. The workers bust their butts and always have a smile on their face. We can feel how hard everyone works to keep that place sparkling. Bring lots of money for tips because everyone you come in contact with deserves it!

Room tip: Building 1, 3, 4 for the best ocean view 2 for the pool and closest proximity to bars/restaurants 1 and 2 recommended for those with kids.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKUMALBR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Thank you very much your comments of how much you enjoyed the upgrades done to our facilities as well as the outstanding service of our staff, this encourages us to continue working from our hearts!
We hope to have soon the opportunity of welcoming you once again as our repetitive guest.

Zenia Aldana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

This was my husband's and my third trip to this resort (we've been to 30+ all-inclusives in Mexico) but our first since it was renovated and renamed the Akumal Bay Beach and Wellness Resort. We had liked the resort before (we called it a 3 star hotel with a 10 star beach) so we were interested to experience all the changes in person (after reading about them on tripadvisor.com for several months before our trip). There are many positive changes and only a few negative changes – but one of the negatives is huge, in our opinion.

I'll write this as a list to keep it short(er)...

Positives (in no particular order):
*the entire resort looked more polished and updated
*rooms have been nicely remodeled (new entrance doors that seal better, new door locks that use cards rather than the old keys, new shower and toilet area doors, larger balconies with hot tubs, new sliding doors to balconies that work well, new ceiling fans, new memory foam mattresses, new room safes big enough for a laptop, new minibars kept well-stocked)
*buildings 3 & 4 (used to be 6 & 7) each have a plunge pool by the building (on the ocean side)
*all four buildings have stucco half walls as barriers on outside corridors of upper floors instead of the old railings made from tree limbs
*wifi is free and worked well in the reception area and in the room (in building 3)
*there are new wide concrete sidewalks (replacing the uneven flagstone) throughout the resort
*many of the walkways in the core area are covered
*seating in the main area by the lobby bar is more comfortable and there is more of it
*all employees we encountered were hard-working and genuinely friendly
*minor maintenance issues (we had two) were taken care of quickly
*bands played every night from 8:00-10:45 in the lobby bar area
*all-inclusive bracelets were made of macrame' cording and were more comfortable than the usual plastic bands
*the buffet had a different theme every night for dinner and had plenty of choices of food
*there were four a la carte restaurants (Mexican, Brazilian, Asian and Gourmet International) – no reservations needed; no limits on visits to each restaurant; Gourmet is only one with dress code; we tried the Mexican and the Brazilian and liked both
*snack bar by pool has been improved: new tables and chairs; attentive waitstaff; 24 hour service (you have to order food at off times – it's not always offered as a buffet); buffet breakfast with 15-20 choices including eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, hash browns, fruit, cereal, yogurt, pastries, etc (nice alternative to breakfast at the main buffet); buffet lunch with 15-20 choices including burgers, fries, rice, chicken, fish, vegetables, salads, chips and guacamole, desserts, etc (you can also order hot dogs and pizza)
*there is a sushi bar between the main pool and the beach (we didn't try it)
*room service is now available (we didn't try it)
*beach waitstaff was constantly coming by to see if we needed anything
*the animation staff invited participation but was not pushy
*there was no loud pulsing resort music played by the pool
*resort provided a free shuttle to and from Playa del Carmen (one day notice required)

Negatives:
*THIS IS THE ONE THAT IS HUGE TO US AND PROBABLY A DEAL-BREAKER AS FAR AS RETURNING: lack of adequate shade and seating on the beach and by the pool: new shade structures on beach provide only partial shade because they are made of thin tree branches nailed to a wood frame and there are spaces between all the branches (½ of your body is getting sun even when you're under the structure) – I'm sure the goal was a clean, zen look, but as far as providing good shade, they are lacking – because they are flat and not dimensional like traditional palapas, they provide almost no shade when the sun is lower in the sky (before 10:00 AM and after 3:00 PM); the pool area has only beds with fabric curtains for shade on the top and 2 sides – again, not enough shade – and no lounge chairs, umbrellas or palapas; because of the lack of shade and beach/pool seating in general, the towel game is in full effect, more than at any resort we've been to – the first morning we got to the beach at 6:45 and secured the next-to-last available shade structure so after that we set our alarm for 5:30 AM (ON VACATION!) - we actually stayed on the beach from then on each day except for the times we left our shade to go eat breakfast and lunch or to snorkel, unlike some who came out early to put a towel and a flip flop on each lounge chair under a shade structure and then didn't return to the beach until almost noon – there are signs on each structure that say that staff will remove belongings of those who leave for more than 1 hour but that is not enforced (it would be almost impossible to do so, so they should probably just remove the signs); the solution on the beach is adding actual palapas or adding more shade structures and tacking shade cloth to the top of all of them; the solution at the pool is adding umbrellas or palapas and lounge chairs
*there are so many snorkel tour groups being brought to the area that the snorkeling experience is diminished (not the resort's fault but occurring nonetheless); how will it be once the new resort to the north is finished?
*there are now time share sales (since we are adamantly not interested, we declined the invitation to the welcome breakfast)
*wifi signal poor to nonexistent by lobby bar
*air conditioning in building 3 never got our room cool (we were told that it worked well in the other buildings); this same building, then called building 6, also had A/C problems during our previous visits; luckily we once again brought our portable 12” fan!
*because of the way the rooms are laid out, there is no privacy in the bathroom area (could especially be an issue for families with older children); this could be corrected inexpensively if management hung some sort of drapes with tiebacks in the opening between the main area of the room and the bathroom
*there are no chairs in the rooms, not even one at the desk
*there is only one accessible electrical outlet in the main part of the room and one in the bathroom (bring an extension cord)
*there is only one chair on the balcony of each room (makes it hard to sit out there with your spouse, friend, etc)
*there is no “do not disturb” sign available in the room to hang out to alert staff not to knock
*the food in the main buffet was always lukewarm; even the omelets were not cooked enough for the cheese to melt
*there were lots of flies on the food at the salad bar of the Brazilian restaurant (even though it's an indoor restaurant, there are spaces where the walls meet the palapa ceiling so that's probably how they get in)

Would we go back for a fourth visit? It saddens me to say this, but right now we are not sure. Although we appreciate many of the improvements at the resort (even though we liked it just fine before the renovation), the lack of shade at the beach and lounges and shade at the pool, combined with the A/C problems, are major shortcomings, in our opinion. We will be reading reviews of the ABBR over the next few months to see if these deficiencies are remedied before we decide if we'll return.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank frugaltravelerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKUMALBR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation and taking the time of providing us with your positive and constructive comments, these are very important. We will be thoroughly reviewing them and taking actions where improvement is required to fully satisfy the expectations of our guests.
As well we would like to take the opportunity to extend the reasons for our "palapas" having their current design: due to our location being in a Sea Turtle nesting area we try our best so our facilities generate the least possible impact in the beach; therefore the "palapas" roofs will allow rain water to go through easier which will help keeping the natural humidity of the sand; further actions such as removing these and beach loungers may take place in case a nest is threatened by them.
We hope to have the opportunity in the near future of once again honoring your preference as our repetitive guest.

Zenia Aldana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews