We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
12
12
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
12
6
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This hotel is just across from the smaller town square. Has restaurant on first floor but only had breakfast (which was fine) with a group so don't know if was good. Friendly staff. Very Mexican. Our room had two steps to go to the bathroom if that would be an issue with anyone, My brothers room had living room area and cool art. I would think this is one of the better if not best places to stay in Patzcuaro.

Room Tip: We had a balcony to the street, My brother had living room. Pick what you like
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nodolab R, Representante at Hotel Casa del Refugio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Appreciable guest Taris Travels. What a joy to know that you enjoyed your stay, for us the motivation that moves us to do a job of excellent quality. We hope you visit us soon. Greetings from Hotel Casa del Refugio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Gorgeous colonial hotel in the perfect location. Close to shops, restaurants and activities. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. The inter courtyard is peaceful and there is also a restaurant onsite.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freak4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nodolab R, Representante at Hotel Casa del Refugio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thank you very much for your comment, it's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

This is an old colonial hotel with a range of rooms from large to small. The small ones on the inside of the hotel have no outward windows which is great in winter when the temperatures get down to 10c or colder.

The location is perfect being on the Plaza Chica and only a block from the Plaza Don Vasco. The breakfasts in the hotel are hot and quickly served and the restaurant is open all day.

Room Tip: Ask for interior room in winter as they are warmer
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanPatman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nodolab R, Representante at Hotel Casa del Refugio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Daniel, what a pleasure to know that your stay was good in our hotel and in the city. We are waiting for you again with great pleasure. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

What a wonderful old part of Patzcuaro this hotel is. The vibe is wonderful. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated in an old Mexican/Spanish theme. The check in was prompt. Stay here and you will feel like you are part of the historical vibe of the city centre.
The restaurant is fine and also well staffed.
We hope to return oncemore to this beautiful hotel and town.
Dr.Rico
Canada

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 840rickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Finally after 20 years a dream came true - I got to Patzcuaro. One of the highlights was staying at the beautiful Hotel Casa del Refugio. The rooms, and entire hotel were spotless and beautifully decorated with Mexican art. The staff was very friendly and helpful - and lots of fun! While breakfast in the dining room was a bit chilly we quickly warmed up with some good food. I would highly recommend this lovely old hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the side street are a bit noisy, the other side would probably be better.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Santiagograndma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews