We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
360
216
152
61
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
216
152
61
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great place auberge du lac get away nice room indoor pool beautiful location outdoor activities our waiter hotel guests walking trails sand beach quiet stay three nights one night stay spa weekend nature
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

The surroundings are beautiful, but the rooms need refreshing. The rooms were nevertheless very clean and the staff we encountered very friendly

I bet when the leaves change colour the view would be breath taking.

Nice retreat ,quiet stay with all kinds of activities that are available to do on site.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Johane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

This is one of my favourite lakes : the beach is actual sand! Soft, comfy sand. No need for aquasocks or whatever. And the water is very shallow for quite a distance. You can even walk to an island several hundred feet from the resort in just 10 inches of water. This means it super safe for young kids, and also warmer water than you might find at other, deeper lakes.

As far as the hotel: we stayed in the "Pinede" condos. They were honestly outstanding. 2 adjoining rooms with a really great kitchen. This looks to have been renovated recently, as everything from the countertops to the bathtub seemed super modern and clean, while still fitting in with the timber frame vibe of the place.

All other fixtures on premises, from the beach shelters to the pathways were either brand new or extremely well maintained. Nothing felt sketchy or unsafe or forgotten here, which I cannot say about other Laurentian places.

What to bring: Everything! Seriously: stock up on food, as there is nowhere near to get anything. Dishwasher soap, dish soap, and a sponge were present, but you need your own paper towels, aluminum foil, butter, etc. If you are barbecuing, you need to bring your own. Snacks, sandwich stuff, drinks, bottled water, breakfast stuff, lunch stuff: stock up! There is a Provigo maybe 20 minutes away, but you don't want to keep running over there.

The only thing you might not need are utensils cups and plates. If you opt for the beach club wristband you don't even need floaty toys or life jackets.

The main restaurant: honestly I would skip it. I have been to this resort twice and each time I come away with a "meh" feeling about the restaurant. It's good, but expensive not for the quality of food, but for the service. It just seems in a disarray like they they are hoping for the best each night with their staff. The basement bistro is a better, quicker bet.

This is my second time at this resort. Once as a couple, once as a family. I was very satisfied each time. That beach!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dothereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

On our first night there even though the restaurant wasn't particularly busy, we sat at a table for at least 15 minutes waiting for a server. I asked the hostess if we could get a server, but none showed. We finally left.

On the second night, we decided to try the downstairs bistro (bar area) and the food was terrible.

Other potential issues to be aware of are the prevalence of smokers. We had an upstairs room with smokers downstairs who started early in the am and smoked late through the night. Smoke wafted into our room during these times. Lastly, there's some sort of dog kennel very nearby, so depending on where your room is located, you may be awakened early every morning by LOTS of barking and howling.

On the plus side, the front desk staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auberge l, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Du Lac Taureau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

We will like to thank you for visiting us. As well as for your comments. The hostess at the restaurant is supposed to bring you the menu and tell the server that there is a new table. Is pretty rare that you wait for 15 minutes, we are sorry about that. The menu at the bistro is different from the restaurant, more informal, we serve Chicken Ceasar Salad, Fish & Chips, Sandwichs, Salads, Deli dish beside others. While the restaurant serves 3, 4, or 5-course meals. Rest assured that we always offer quality food.

The dogs at the snow sledding kennel are not normally agitated, maybe there was a deer close by.

Sorry to learn that you had avid smokers downstairs. Feel free to talk to us during your stay, so we can fix the situation, the reception and the director are there to hear you in order to find a solution and help you fulfill your needs.

We will like to bring to your attention that we received the Trip Advisor Excellence Certificate. We have also been recognized with the award of 'Best Country Resort of the Year' given by the prestigious firm 'Luxury Travel Guide' based in London, UK. This prize is given based on the staff service, the installations and quality of the services.

We will be delighted to welcome you again, come discover the beauty of the winter season, as well as all our activities, including Snowmobiles, Dog Sledding, Ice fishing, snowshoeing and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Location is superb, at the border of Lac Taureau. On site dining is not cheap but good. Nearest village is around 10 km away, with a supermarket and some other dining options. Rooms are nice, but not too big.
Lay out is a bit confusing, but charming nonetheless.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmmzzz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Great rooms, friendly staff, activities for kids like fishing and they get to cook and eat it, great pool, play room and bistro is also friendly for kids. Family oriented, very clean, inside and out. When we were there they were renovating the place .

Room Tip: Ground floors have easy access to the beach
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews