We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied”
Review of Northland Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northland Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Nipigon
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

This motel was nice and cozy. A good experience considering it is a motel in a small city. I didn't expect it to be upscale or extravagent. It was good for a night stay and it was clean. Staff was nice. Wifi was good.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank AniParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny M, Public Relations Manager at Northland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear AniParsons,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. We do our best to ensure that all our customers have a comfortable stay at our motel. We hope you visit us again in the future.

Thank you,
Sunny M.
The Northland Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2016

My Son and I were travelling across Canada we had intended on stopping in Thunderbay but were to late booking - we were very happy to find this quaint little motel an hour down the road - it was a late check in - the gentleman at the front desk was very welcoming despite the late hour.
The contributor that indicated not much for the price... I am not sure where they are used to staying for less but I thought it was a Great spot - especially for the price.
Honestly I did not have high expectations simply because I was very tired after a long day of travel and this is an older Motel along the highway - However I was Pleasantly surprised.
The bed was Comfortable, the Room was clean, The sheets and pillowcases on the bed were crisp and clean and honestly smelled like they had been hung on the clothes line in Fresh air - really quite lovely.
The room is small but not for the time in which the motel was built - it is from the days when a motel is where you stop for sleep, a bath and a bite and if you want to sit and relax you do it out on the front patio.
The bathroom was very clean - Good Shower - tub is itsy bitsy but would be good for children or small adult.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny M, Public Relations Manager at Northland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear Shelley L.,

Thank you for your comments and kind words. It is true, we are a small motel but we take pride in our facility. We have recently started renovating our bathrooms and invite you to come back and stay with us on your next drive through our town.

Thank you,
Sunny M.
The Northland Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We were travelling late and this was the only place with rooms left. The room was clean if a little bit worn and included a microwave and fridge, but no A/C, but did have a fan that worked well.The big killer for us though, was that even though the rooms were no smoking it still smelled like smoke. If it wasn't are only option we would have stayed somewhere else.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank calgaryglobetrotter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny M, Public Relations Manager at Northland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear calgaryglobetrotter8,

Thank you for your comments. We do our absolute best to enforce our no smoking policy. I do apologize that you felt there was the smell in your room. I hope you will give our motel another chance in the future.

Thank you,
Sunny Malhi
The Northland Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Overall the room was clean. I did not see any bugs in the room. The room it self was dated. The bed is hard which is fine but hurt my back after a little while. The bathroom is tiny but functioning. It took a little while for the hot water to work in the shower and the water pressure was a little wonky. The building on the outside looks more appealing then the motel near the Tim Hortons down the road. This motel was also open late at 11pm which is convenient for travellers coming in late. Also would of been nice to get another news channel other then cbc. The price was a little high for what you get.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny M, Public Relations Manager at Northland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Jenn C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. The prices we charge are the average room rates for motels in the area. We actually offer discounts for seniors and CAA members as well.

Thank you again for your comments and we appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Sunny M.
The Northland Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night at Northland. While the beds were comfortable, the place was pricey for what you get. Our room definitely needed a good cleaning including removing dead bugs from walls and windows and there was no a/c available. I would check elsewhere first, but in a pinch it's ok.

Cons-could be cleaner

Pros-comfortable beds and reno'd bathroom.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank brnbrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny M, Public Relations Manager at Northland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear brnbrry,

We are constantly working to improve our services and we appreciate all the feedback we receive. Thank you for your comments and we will keep them in mind as we move forward.

Sincerely,

Sunny M.
The Northland Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Northland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northland Motel

Address: Hwy 17, Nipigon, Ontario P0T 2J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Nipigon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Nipigon
Price Range: €65 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing