We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baddddd Attitudes!!!!!! All around!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casablanca Winery Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grimsby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Baddddd Attitudes!!!!!! All around!!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I won't bore you with every little detail of our two night stay, in past years I have stayed at this hotel with no issues this time of course was quite different. All three front desk staff members we encountered were rude and not helpful in anyway... This hotel shows signs of age and is in disrepair in many
areas... We paid $199 per night.. I complete ripoff in my opinion for the poor attitudes and poor service... I was going to complain and write a
letter to the hotel owners and/or management but after reading everything here I can tell the problem lies at THE TOP. They need to take a course in hotel
management and operation and realize that people expect more when they're paying top dollar. They expect friendly faces warm attitudes and good service. If the
owners and management don't give their heads a shake and learn how to treat people this place won't be around very long. Regardless I will never stay here again or
recommend anyone else to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Flying12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWI4, Director of Sales at Casablanca Winery Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I am really surprised to hear that the service you received at the Front Desk was not up to our high standards. Our front desk staff are actually know for their positive attitudes and high level of customer service so I am unsure how this happened.

As for the hotel "showing its age", we have just completed extensive maintenance work including painting, landscaping, new TVs and mattresses.

We invite you to come back again some time and see why we are known as the gateway to gracious hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    52
    36
    28
    19
See reviews for
57
55
2
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed on January 20th, 2012. Bartender was excellent, other staff, not so much. Lost lights and power in bathroom, couldn't shower in the dark or use blow dryer. Tried the reset button, to no avail. Called front desk...no answer. Called Housekeeping...no answer. Had to leave without showering....not nice.
Spoke to the "girl" on the front desk. Was very dismissive. Non apologetic. Said she heard the phone ringing but she was "busy".
Companion I was travelling with forgot her boots, called and was told if she had time, the desk clerk would ask housekeeping to "have a look" for them. Not trusting she would get them back, she drove all the way from Brampton back to the hotel to retrieve them before they were "misplaced".

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grimsby hotels

Grimsby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

On December 24th.2011, our family and guests had a wonderful time in the Vintage Room. At 4pm we had champagne and hors d'oeuvres delivered to us by a very efficient waitress followed by an outstanding dinner of Prime Rib and Yorkshire Pudding starting with salad and finishing with a melt in your mouth blueberry cheesecake, tea and coffee. From 4-5pm the hotel supplied us with a screen for a power-point presentation put on by our two married children. The waitress and waiter went above and beyond to make our evening with our family such a success!! Thank you for making our anniversary such a special occasion!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Hallways had major paint chips, rooms seriously dated with small showerheads and old style bathrooms, hideous decor with flowers and stripes everywhere. Stained carpets in hallways and exterior doors had scrub cleaning marks everywhere (the only thing that will fix this is new paint). Our friends had a suite and the fireplace didn't work. This hotel is in serious need of repair. The lobby is nice but in the lobby bar the draft tap didn't work, had to pick another beverage. The 8th floor restaurant is good. I had the salmon and it was good. The caesar salad was average, but the squash soup was excellent. Apple pie desert was good. As a resident from Niagara I would not suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lori-AnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWI4, Director of Sales at Casablanca Winery Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Hello and thank you for your review,

We are pleased to note that the Inn has recently undergone some upgrades. There has been extensive painting, landscaping and we have all new TVs and Mattresses. I apologize that you had an issue with the fireplace. With a quick call to Maintenance, we could have likely rectified this situation for you.

The decor style that you mention is that of a Country Inn - it does not reflect a modern design, but instead a warm, inviting and comfy feel. All Bar Taps in the Lobby Bar are also in working order. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal in Casablanca Steak & Seafood. We've recently been awarded "Best Seafood Cuisine" by Hamilton Community News!

Please come back some time to see the exciting changes we've made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH BAY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Kevin was most helpful in providing me with much needed access to the internet for my meeting in a timely fashion. Michelle's great service in Bogey's dinning room made the meal most enjoyable.

Room Tip: the rooms were quiet even though the front rooms face the QEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famtimeOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
0.2 km away
Super 8 Grimsby Ontario
13.4 km away
Quality Hotel
Quality Hotel
#11 of 20 in Hamilton
179 reviews
13.3 km away
Comfort Inn Hamilton
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
452 reviews
18.1 km away
Best Western Premier C Hotel By Carmen's
27.6 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Winery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Winery Inn

Property: Casablanca Winery Inn
Address: 4 Windward Dr, Grimsby, Ontario L3M 4E8, Canada (Formerly Kittling Ridge Winery Inn and Suites)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casablanca Winery Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Casablanca Winery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Winery Hotel Grimsby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing