We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch”
Review of The Ancaster Mill

The Ancaster Mill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ancaster Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Ancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wilson Street
Description: The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada"s most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Landmark Group's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from neadby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Brunch for our staff. Had to book in August to get a December booking for Sunday brunch. Food was great- spread out over 3 separate locations. Was very busy with long waits for omelets. Everything else was a short wait. Everything from eggs Benedict to roast turkey. One glass of champagne per person included.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Excelente service, nice environment, food was good however the ration is very small. I will recommend the place

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 591maribelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Buffet selection and food were great. Our waiter was attentive and helpful. We were seating in a lovely corner where our view was phenomenal. The venue is beautiful, both rustic and elegant. The music was fun but very much in the background so that we talked, tasted, ate and had a lovely time together. Buffet seating for 2 allows for only about 90 minutes which we were reminded of when we came to the desk to check in for our reservation and it seems like a long time but we felt a little rushed at the end. Food and selection were absolutely fine for the two of us. We would return.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

All 3 of us had the the prix fixe menu. The coconut squash soup was amazing as was the mushroom pappardelle and the farm duck leg. We found the basque dessert too doughy but the apple pie with gruyère in the crust and the pecan pie were winners. The service and server were wonderful.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Our party of seven adults and two children had a lovely table overlooking one of the many waterfalls and the room, although a tad dated, is still comfortable and inviting. Pre dinner drinks for the table tookt 20 minutes to arrive and a glass of dry sherry was served ice cold instead of room temperature. Our server did offer to warm it up. There did not appear to be enough staff for the number of tables and as a result the service was slow. Appetizers were served first, family style. The chicory salad was plentiful but not remarkable. The so-called “venison terrine, wrapped in bacon”was a complete miss. It was stone cold, completely tasteless with the consistency of spam, under-seasoned and gave new meaning to the word bland. When pointed out to the server he responded that “some people don’t like venison.” A more appropriate response would have been “I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy it, I will let the chef know.” The main course, also served family style was an improvement. The beef short rib was delicious, the halibut was also under seasoned but a bit of salt and pepper fixed that. The “family style” service fell a little flat since mashed potatoes were served on a platter with the veggies rather than a bowl resulting in them being stone cold five minutes after arriving. In addition the platters were so heavy they could barely be lifted for passing. The pies, which the mill is known for, were lovely. All in all the meal was average and at $53 a head I definitely expected better. Many people our party have been here before and loved it so this visit was disappointing. Any restaurant can have an off night or a menu item that misses the mark so I will return for a brunch to give it another shot but this visit fell short of our expectations.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boxtergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ancaster Mill also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to The Ancaster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing