We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
11
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
11
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

To be clear, this is not luxury accommodation, but it was just perfect for us! The cottage was clean, had all the basic utensils, a good sized bathroom and a flow worthy shower-head! Cannot say enough about Donna, who oversees the property and Gordon who owns it, they are two wonderful people who will do anything for you. The cottage setting was ideal, remote, peaceful, quiet, right by the Margaree river. The location is perfect, anything on the island is easily accessible from Margaree Centre. Cape Breton Clay is just down the road and well worth a visit to chat with Bell Fraser and you have to try the delicious baked goods and bread from The Dancing Goat up on the main road! We stayed a week at Cranton Cottage and just loved it as a home base for exploring the wonders and beauty of Cape Breton.
Price wise this has to be the best deal on the island! And again, many thanks to Donna and Gordon who are never in the way, but always there with directions, a story or to lend a helping hand! Loved the two of them, loved the cottage, loved Cape Breton!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WBHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Got our directions over the phone with lots of detail and local color. Arrived to find a really nice cabin to accommodate 2 adults and our 3 dogs. Housekeeping so we were able to cook there as well. After dinner the owner, Gordon, took our whole entourage on a tour of the area in his car. Great place. We will be back!

Room Tip: An excellent get- away place. Whole place is very quiet. You couldn't go wrong with any cabin.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NmFreeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Loved the cottage, enough beds for three adults - one double and two twins in a two-bedroom unit. The fridge was full size and the bathroom was big. The location is lovely - very close to the river and a trail for ATVs or bikes, possibly walking? Would definitely stay again, everything was clean. This is a great place to stop on the way to or from the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

The cottages are basic but well planned. There is a kitchen, eating area, 1 or 2 bedrooms and a washroom. The kitchen has all the basics - frig, stove, microwave, kettle and toaster along with the tableware for 4 and basic items for food prep and cooking. There is a BBQ outside on the covered verandah.
We prefer cottage #6 because of the fireplace and the larger open concept living room, eating area and kitchen. It has two bedrooms so sometimes we have people stay over with us but not this time. In the past we tried three other cottages on site.
The cottage is close to some good restaurants such as The Dancing Goat ( very good breakfast and lunch type foods plus popular bakery section) and the Normaway Inn Dining Room (wonderful breakfasts and delicious three or four course dinners)
The cottages are a very popular place for sport fishers as there are many noted fishing pools nearby on the world renowned Margaree River.
It is about a half hour away from the Acadian village of Cheticamp and an hour and a half away from the Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Room Tip: Book your cottage early. On one occasion I called five months before I wanted a cottage and they were all booked.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

We had visited in late September 2014 and cant wait to return, very nice cottage fully wheelchair accessible and clean, the owners and sweet people and we have made new friends. Thank you to them both. see you when the snow flies :)

Room Tip: love that all of the cottages are fully wheelchair accessible, made for a very relaxing and carefree weekend.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tammie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews