We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
51
23
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
23
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages beautiful view bras d'or lake living room private deck nice cottage light housekeeping cape breton small kitchen two twin beds cabot trail min drive great central location fire pit coffee pot gaelic college front porch
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017

What a place, we loved it! we stayed while on our way from Halifax to cape Breton and back. Sun Rise and Sun set were so beautiful. Your own kitchen, driveway, dishes and the mirror in the front facing sun rise. It was a mesmerizing moment for all of us. Must stay place if got a chance.

Room tip: "Rooms on the farthest are quieter, Cottage 6/8 are the best with beautiful sunrise view"
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This was our first trip to Nova Scotia, and we had no idea where to stay after driving the Cabot Trail. McIntyre's was great! The views of Lake Bras D'Or are wonderful. The cottage was clean and the fireplace was an added bonus, especially in late October!If we ver get back to Cape Breton, this is where we will stay. Great central location.

Room tip: We had unit 4. It was great, but would probably try unit 6 next time because it is on the end, and would be easier with the dog.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janpeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I would highly reccommend staying at the McIntyre Cottages if you plan on spending time anywhere in that area. Our purpose was to hike a few trails (amazing in itself), but whatever your purpose the location and view alone make these accommodations worthwhile. You cannot see them from the road, as they are set up on a hill, giving them a perfect view of the lakes. The cottages are a perfect combination of up-to-date decor and coziness. Obviously, the owner went to great length to make this happen. They come with a fully equipped kitchen, central air conditioner, electric fireplace beautiful deck and ample space for moving around. The property itself is perfectly groomed and the owner could not be more welcoming. I mentioned to her when booking that we liked to play crib and we had intended to pick up a scrabble game on the way up (but forgot). Both were in our cottage, as well as books and other games. The cottages are spotless clean and by the time we returned from hiking the beds were already changed, cleaning done and new towels. And, the prices are more than reasonable (in fact a touch higher would not be unfair). So, it truly is a perfect combination of everything you could hope for in cottage accomodation in Cape Breton.

Room tip: All the rooms are similar - modern, tastefully decorated and cozy
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The cottages are clean and the property is well maintained. The view of the lake is beautiful except for one big tree that blocks some of the view. I loved the cabin..it had everything your average home would have. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very nice folks and were very helpful. I would highly recommend these cottages and would stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tarpondboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Stayed here for one night on our way back to NL. We were very pleased with the cabin (#8). It was clean and really nicely decorated. Everything we needed was there (even board games). One bedroom had a queen bed and the other 2 twins plus there is a foldout in the living room. We had a great view. Cabins are attached (we were attached to #7) but we heard no noise. There is a little play area for kids as well. I wish we could have stayed longer so we could have enjoyed it more.

We left a teddy bear in the room and the owners even mailed it back to us...thank you !

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly_AnneR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews