We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
113
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river bc ferries haida gwaii beautiful lodge magical place short walk provincial park a wonderful stay a special place four days spent a week bucket list tow hill well taken care bald eagles food is excellent the east coast
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

There are too few superlatives in the English language to describe the wonderful time my mother, sister and I had at the Haida House. The welcome we received, the care and attention to our needs, the tours, the food, and above all the people, made this a trip we will not soon forget.
The 7 day package includes so many cultural events and fascinating excursions that I feel I may have just minored in 'Haida Gwaii 101' There is so much more to learn I know I will soon return.
These package trips are for adventure seekers and the curious... the week is jam packed with activities. There is a B&B option if you wish to explore the area on your own.
Many, many thanks to Kathy our tireless and lovely host, Phred our guide through the natural beauty of the forest and sea (and the stories!), Aay Aay, our stoic and patient teacher of the Haida Culture, Dale, James x 2, the Watchmen, Eileen, Leona and all of the tour guides and staff at the Haida House.. you are the best.

Room tip: We stayed in a 'family' suite which was great for the three of us.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantharullin, Public Relations Manager at Haida House at Tllaal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Donna G, we would like to thank for you taking the time to write such a kind review about your stay with the Haida House at Tllaal. We are honoured to hear that you, your mother and sister had such an unforgettable time on Haida Gwaii. We hope to welcome you all back one day soon for another wonderful adventure.

Haawa/Thank you,

The Haida House at Tllaal Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

As an end of summer treat, my husband took me to Haida Gwaii for 4 days. He has been to Haida Gwaii many times for work purposes but I'd never been.

Haida House is the perfect getaway if you want to unplug from the rat race. In Tlell (no, that's not a spelling mistake!), there's no cell/mobile coverage. The House has WiFi if you really need contact with the outside world. There's also a television in the Den; a room that's out of the way so as not to detract from the cultural feel of the House.

Haida House is located at the southern tip of Naikoon Provincial Park, and although it's not quite halfway between Masset, on the north end of the island, and Skidegate on the south, it's a great base for exploring various parts of the most inhabited island of Haida Gwaii. Both Joelle, the GM, and Cathy, made sure our visit went as smoothly and comfortably as possible, arranging a tour and a traditional dinner for us.

The House's focus is cultural and I came away with both more knowledge and a deep appreciation of the Haida people, both from the staff and our experiences on the islands.

Overall, due to being 'unplugged', I felt time slow down and our overall stay felt deep and rich. If that's a little confusing, go and visit and you'll see what I mean.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank ReniePenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantharullin, Public Relations Manager at Haida House at Tllaal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

ReniePenie, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with the Haida House at Tllaal. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to unplug and experience the deep and rich culture of Haida Gwaii. We hope that you and your husband return for another memorable adventure.

Haawa/Thank you,

The Haida House at Tllaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Wow what a Wonderful stay we had at this Beautiful lodge the people are warm and welcoming, the food is great... we had perfect weather and seen bald eagles, black bears, more many dear, you can't beat the location!! Thank you for your hospitality

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantharullin, Public Relations Manager at Haida House at Tllaal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review about the Haida House at Tllaal. We hope to welcome you back to the Haida House one day soon!

Haawa/Thank you,

Haida House Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful, enlightening experience in the most friendly place.
An outstanding introduction into the culture and heritage of the Haida Gwai Nation.
At the Haida House, with Kathy, Joelle and their knowledgable, friendly staff, all your needs are taken care of. This all made our stay all that more pleasurable.
The food is excellent and accommodation is comfortable.
The Zodiac tour and Heritage Museum are highlights of the four night stay.
Your days are full and you gain an insight into the Haida Gwai culture and heritage.
We have wonderful memories of our stay in Haida House and the Haida Gawai people will hold a special place in our hearts.
Strongly recommended.
Haawa

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ronaldjgerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantharullin, Public Relations Manager at Haida House at Tllaal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

ronaldjgerrard, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the Haida House at Tllaal. We are positively delighted to hear you enjoyed the staff, food and were able to gain an insight into the Haida culture and heritage. We hope to welcome you back one day soon for another adventure on Haida Gwaii.

Haawa/Thank you, Haida House Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Staying at the Haida owned House at Tlaal was fortuitous, and laid the base for an unusually beautiful foray into BC. Haida House offers packaged tours of Haida Gwaii. The House is a great place to stay. The food is delicious and plentiful, served in a knotty pine dining room overlooking the river. Our cultural guide, Aay Aay, was lots of fun. Aay Aay is knowledgable, solicitous, and all was spiced with a sense of humor. The cultural tours during the day were encompassing: architecture, history, art, food, economics, national park walks, politics... Aay Aay touched on many subjects. The boat trip to the island was also wonderful, as was learning to weave with Aay Aay after dinner one evening. This is an excellent package, and would recommend it highly. Travel to the island takes some time, so be prepared for a full day of travel in both directions from the east coast of USA. It's worth the effort. We have such fond memories. Kathy, Joelle, Phred, Aay Aay, and Leona worked hard to make this package fantastic! And the chef too! Can't beat the meals!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shebaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantharullin, Public Relations Manager at Haida House at Tllaal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Shebaq, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Haida House at Tllaal. We are positively thrilled that you enjoyed the cultural tours and that you have so many fond memories about your stay. We trust that the memories you made on Haida Gwaii will last a lifetime and we genuinely hope to welcome you back soon.

Haawa (Thank you)

The Haida House at Tllaal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews