We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Tuwanek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tuwanek Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Great place, we stayed in the Timberloft cabin just up the road from the main hotel.
Very spacius, loaded with nice stuff.
The area is very beautifull and Chris & Krista/ the people owning the place was very helpfull with loads of good tips for the area.

Room Tip: The cabins are just up the road, the suites are in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Amazing Property very close to the ocean with an amazing creek side hot tub. Cottage had a cabin feel but also had modern features to make it the perfect getaway. The best part about Tuwanek is their hospitality; amazing hosts. Great honeymoon location!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed in one of the cabins the Tuwanek offers " Timberloft Cottage" and it was so beautiful. The cottage had everything you would ever need and it was emmaculate and private. The owners took me on a tour of the bed and breakfast suites and I was blown away. The Tuwanek is very charming and offers old school hospitality, simply the best of the best. Don't miss a chance to visit this amazing place

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We had booked here assuming we would be staying in the hotel, with normal hotel services, although we had made it plain to the travel agent that we were happy to self cater some of the time on this trip around the (liquid) Sunshine Coast. We found we had been allocated Wildberry Cottage, a few yards from the hotel which was entirely self catering. An idyllic spot, well equipped with kitchen hardware and a good spice rack, but no coffee, tea or milk - which necessitated a run back into Sechelt for supplies.. The hotel seemed to be closed the entire time we were there (2 nights) and we got an email from the owner with the door code to get into the cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the cottage was fine despite the rain and the hotel(?) dog became a good friend. When I texted the owner for information the response was immediate and friendly, but it was slightly odd to see no-one, so rating the service is difficult.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johngpsysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at The Tuwanek Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Greetings and thank you for your review. I wanted to drop you a short note as it looks like your travel agent may have booked you into a self catered cottage and not the full service hotel suites which might have been an error on their part. Our self catered cottages are designed for families and couples who are looking for privacy with private hot tubs, full kitchens for cooking, individual amenities and each are located on separate properties with private parking. The hotel on the other hand has full service 5 star appointed large oceanfront suites that include daily service, private in suite dining, full tow course breakfasts served daily and a wide host of amenities. The Hotel suites are all oceanfront and there is a hot tub as well as a steam room on the water and also a full service day spa.
It's unfortunate that the travel agent did book you into your desired accommodations, but we would love for you to come back and stay at the hotel so drop us a line anytime and we would be happy to offer you a frequent traveller discount so you can experience the service level and amenities that keep our guests coming back year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Exceptional - you guys were absolutely amazing and quite wonderful. There isn't enough space in this box to fully describe your kindness, attention to detail, understanding of what makes a great vacation - and willingness to help. To me, the best tourism experiences happen when your hosts not only help you do what you want to do, but also anticipate what you might like to do - and then help make that happen. And you did that, from the wonderful and delicious breakfasts to the restaurant bookings to your suggestions for great places to go and see. You made ours a very memorable first anniversary. Thanks again!

Room Tip: The African Queen room had a fantastic view and was close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 655geofw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
20.8 km away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
412 reviews
20.4 km away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
23.3 km away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
8.4 km away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
134 reviews
15.6 km away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuwanek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuwanek Hotel

Address: 7545 Islets Pl, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range: €185 - €252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuwanek Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tuwanek Hotel, a Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast located on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. This 5 Star Luxury Waterfront Destination is located just a short 45 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC. Situated back in the 1950's this Oceanside Beach House will take you back to a time when life was simpler and less hectic. Each 600 sq. Ft. Luxury Suite has been designed with a theme from the Bogart era and is appointed with some of the finest amenities in Luxury Suite design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tuwanek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing