We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$131
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
292
17
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
292
17
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasablanca roomafrican queensunset beachhot tubloft cottagemovie roomheated floorstwo nightscomfy bedpaddle boardsprivate deckbeautiful spotsechelt inletpool tablegourmet breakfastchrisspa
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Amazing Property very close to the ocean with an amazing creek side hot tub. Cottage had a cabin feel but also had modern features to make it the perfect getaway. The best part about Tuwanek is their hospitality; amazing hosts. Great honeymoon location!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed in one of the cabins the Tuwanek offers " Timberloft Cottage" and it was so beautiful. The cottage had everything you would ever need and it was emmaculate and private. The owners took me on a tour of the bed and breakfast suites and I was blown away. The Tuwanek is very charming and offers old school hospitality, simply the best of the best. Don't miss a chance to visit this amazing place

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We had booked here assuming we would be staying in the hotel, with normal hotel services, although we had made it plain to the travel agent that we were happy to self cater some of the time on this trip around the (liquid) Sunshine Coast. We found we had been allocated Wildberry Cottage, a few yards from the hotel which was entirely self catering. An idyllic spot, well equipped with kitchen hardware and a good spice rack, but no coffee, tea or milk - which necessitated a run back into Sechelt for supplies.. The hotel seemed to be closed the entire time we were there (2 nights) and we got an email from the owner with the door code to get into the cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the cottage was fine despite the rain and the hotel(?) dog became a good friend. When I texted the owner for information the response was immediate and friendly, but it was slightly odd to see no-one, so rating the service is difficult.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johngpsysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at The Tuwanek Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Greetings and thank you for your review. I wanted to drop you a short note as it looks like your travel agent may have booked you into a self catered cottage and not the full service hotel suites which might have been an error on their part. Our self catered cottages are designed for families and couples who are looking for privacy with private hot tubs, full kitchens for cooking, individual amenities and each are located on separate properties with private parking. The hotel on the other hand has full service 5 star appointed large oceanfront suites that include daily service, private in suite dining, full tow course breakfasts served daily and a wide host of amenities. The Hotel suites are all oceanfront and there is a hot tub as well as a steam room on the water and also a full service day spa.
It's unfortunate that the travel agent did book you into your desired accommodations, but we would love for you to come back and stay at the hotel so drop us a line anytime and we would be happy to offer you a frequent traveller discount so you can experience the service level and amenities that keep our guests coming back year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Exceptional - you guys were absolutely amazing and quite wonderful. There isn't enough space in this box to fully describe your kindness, attention to detail, understanding of what makes a great vacation - and willingness to help. To me, the best tourism experiences happen when your hosts not only help you do what you want to do, but also anticipate what you might like to do - and then help make that happen. And you did that, from the wonderful and delicious breakfasts to the restaurant bookings to your suggestions for great places to go and see. You made ours a very memorable first anniversary. Thanks again!

Room Tip: The African Queen room had a fantastic view and was close to the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 655geofw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

What a gorgeous location. We stayed in the African queen room. I could lay in the canopy bed all day staring at that stunning water view.

Breakfast was super as are the hosts. I will certainly recommend to friends heading to the Sunshine Coast

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennyfromtheblock72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews