We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent, busy, tasty.”
Review of Coastal Kitchen

Coastal Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We have closed for the winter season. Thank you for your interest and support please check back with us in 2019. A local institution for 15 years. The regulars might be known by name, but this is hardly a mom ‘n’ pop fare. This beachy, laid-back restaurant serves all-day West Coast inspired breakfast fare such as Waffles and Eggs Benny. A selection of healthy to-go salads and sandwiches make it a great stop to refuel before hitting the trails or beaches. The focus is local: Free range eggs, in-house baking and prompt friendly service. Fresh ground Fantastico coffee and aromas of fresh baked goods will keep you coming back for more.
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We visited twice. It was packed on both occasions.
The baked goods were passable- not great but did the job.
Breakfast was lovely.
Despite no kids options they made up avocado toast for our kid (typical millenial. No wonder we can't afford a house with all this fancy toast she wants).
We did have a wait on our food because the server forgot to ring it through.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank czeschky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Czeschky,

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with us. We are sorry to hear it took a while to receive your meal but happy you enjoyed when received. It is awesome your daughter went with avocado toast too!

Coastal Kitchen Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We went for breakfast after a long morning on Botanical Beach. My husband and I were very happy with our breakfast entrees but we were disappointed with the options for smaller eaters. Price, size and selection of the regular options were just too 'adult' even for our very hungry 10 year old. We opted for a cinnamon roll & scrambled eggs on the side and not get a full breakfast for her. It was a good option but limited. One waffle with fruit or some French toast would have been a nice 'kids' option. That being said, our breakfast was DELICIOUS! The avocado toast with smoked salmon was so yummy my even if my poached eggs were slightly overcooked. I like my yolk! Hubby's sausage on his platter was also very good. Cute decor & great service. I like that you can eat inside or out.

Thank DenverBlueSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for posting a review on your experience at Coastal. Based on feedback like yours and others, we are in the process of updating our current menu, which are excited to announce will have options for kids. We are so happy you were able to find an option for the children and enjoyed your breakfast with us for this visit. Next time you are at Botanical Beach stop by to try our future changes!

The Coastal Kitchen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Only got cinnamon buns to go. The size of them were huge! Bought 2 to share between 6 adults. They were oooey gooey good!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marinachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hey Marinachica,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our Cinnamon Buns! We will be sure to share with our Pastry Chef Christine! We are happy all 6 of you enjoyed the oooey goodness.

Coastal Kitchen Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We've visited this establishment a few years in a row now and I have to say i'm disappointed in this "new management". It's always been a family friendly restaurant, but now has no kids menu and hardly any kid friendly options! Anything that might be kid friendly is over priced and just too large of a portion. It also seems very unorganized. The plate presentation was very messy, and our over-easy eggs came out with already broken yolks! Servers were friendly but it doesn't make up for a kitchen that just doesn't seem to care.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adventureseeker330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Adventureseeker330,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. First off, we would like to apologize to you and your family for not enjoying your time at the cafe. From being here in the past, we understand that there was a kids menu with more of a selection of items. We are trying a new concept here at the cafe. With feedback like yours and other customers, we are in the process of updating our current menu, which will have options for kids. As for your breakfast, it is not our standard here at Coastal Kitchen. We hope that you can give us a another chance in the future so we can personally treat you to a true fantastic Coastal dish.

The Coastal Kitchen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

There aren’t very many restaurants in Port Renfrew but the ones that are there are excellent. We had breakfast at the Coastal Kitchen and it was excellent with good portions The staff was attentive and friendly.

Thank 997rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hey 997rose,

Glad you had an awesome time at all Port Renfrew restaurants! Especially with us here at Coastal, we are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and our amazing crew. Hope you have the chance to pop in again!

The Coastal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Kitchen also viewed

Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
 
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Shirley, Vancouver Island

Been to Coastal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing