We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busiest day of their year and was still amazing!”
Review of Port Renfrew PUB

Port Renfrew PUB
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Renfrew Pub is the homey gathering place for locals and visitors at the heart of Snuggery Cove. Friendly and inviting, it’s the sort of place even first-timers swear they’ve been before. The waterfront pub and restaurant occupies an enviable spot, right next to the dock. Our craft brews include crisp, cold favourites from right around here: Vancouver Island Brewery High Trail Honey Ale, Lighthouse Race Rocks, Saltspring Island Golden Ale, Phillips Blue Buck, Granville Island Raspberry Ale. And we’re just getting started. Our food is all about quality with a fresh, homespun focus. Chickens are roasted daily on site; sauces and gravies are built from scratch. The baked goods are handcrafted, fries hand-cut, and herbs pulled fresh. Choose from sumptuous burgers or boat-to-table seafood drawn from nearby waters. The Pub serves breakfast (weekends), lunch and dinner, along with elevated pub fare — wings for the game and gooey poutine. Snuggle up or wake up with a steaming mug of Discovery Coffee from Victoria’s beloved roastery, and let the day unspool.
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Great food and exceptional service. We showed up on the last hour of a long weekend, their busiest of the year, and while some of the menu items were out, they stepped up and made it a great experience. Seafood chowder was 9/10 and fish and chips were top notch.

Thank Bottrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Bottrel,

Thank you for the amazing review! We really appreciate you acknowledging our teams effort in providing the best service during busy times. We're so pleased you had an all around great time with us while enjoying some great dishes and hope you have the chance to join us again!

The Renfrew Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2018

Dropped in here for lunch on the Monday of the long weekend in August. Car park was full and so was overflow but then managed a spot when someone was leaving. Friendly service especially from the male wait person working on the outdoor tables. Orders taken and filled quickly with very nice food. Prices were good especially when you consider where you are. Would definitely go back here for a meal.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Les,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a good review about your time at the Renfrew Pub! We will be sure to pass your kind words on to our amazing staff. We are pleased you had a great time here in Port Renfrew, and hope you get the change to come visit us again soon.


The Renfrew Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Amazing views on the back deck over the water. A range of draught beers and great food for lunch. The waitress was super friendly and helped us out with things to see in the area. Great atmosphere and the whole family enjoyed their food choices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hello Lucy,

Thanks for the great review. We are glad to hear your whole family enjoyed their food at the Renfrew Pub. We will be sure to pass your kind words on to our amazing staff. We hope you get a chance to come visit us again here in Renfrew.

The Renfrew Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Port Renfrew Pub is the pulsing heart of Port Renfrew. Busy, great food, welcoming staff and even provide blankets for the the “chilly” summer evenings when sitting on the balcony. Recommended the tacos and the veggie mushroom burger!. Staff are definitely its best feature. Friendly, welcoming, always putting the customer first.

Thank Chaz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hi Chaz,

Thank you very much for the great review, we will be sure to share with all our amazing staff. It really does take the whole team to make experiences like yours! We are so pleased you had an all-around wonderful time with us and looking forward to the next chance you have to visit us again!

Your Friends at the Renfrew Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Port Renfrew is at the end of the road, literally. The pub is a nice place for lunch, featuring local beers and absolutely fresh seafood (the dock is only 200' away). It appears to be a favorite of the locals, always a good sign.

We had fish and chips, which were excellent. Even the fries (chips) were hot and crispy, not soggy as is often the case.

Good place for lunch after a rice ride through the big tree forests of Vancouver Island.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Port Renfrew PUB, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Mike,

Thank you for visiting us at the end of the road, It is a beautiful drive out to us! Our team works very hard sourcing great local beers and we are very lucky to receive fresh seafood conveniently right off the dock. We are thrilled you enjoyed our Fish n' Chips and looking forward to the next time you can make the ride out here!

The Renfrew Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Renfrew PUB also viewed

Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
Port Renfrew, Vancouver Island
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Port Renfrew PUB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing