We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
58
20
6
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
20
6
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalibutfish processingsilver streakfishing gearhot tubhour drivetrip homefishing resortswartz baygreat salmoncatch fishhiker hutuncle mikefrozen fishthe west coast trailmotel unitsextra night
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I truly enjoyed my stay here, the fresh air, walking in the quiet peaceful nature, fishing. It was a much needed get away from the city. The rooms are clean, and the staff are friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone thinking about spending time in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamblinMan247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Stayed in one of the huts witj shared bath. Loved it. Quiet, comfortable, clean, and close to food, pub, sights. Had a little apprehension based on a lot of the unfavorable reviews, but compared notes with others in the Huts and all of us felt that it was totally fine. A comfortable, economical choice for a night. Only ding might be internet did not reach Huts, but was easily available at restaurant and pub.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenster1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This was our 7th trip to Trailhead Resort. Why do we keep coing back?

Of course the great salmon and halibut fishing the resort accesses some 40 kilometres away at Swiftsure Bank. But so much more.

The resort, in Port Renfrew on the beautiful west coast of Vancouver Island, is only about two-hour drive on paved roads from the BC Ferries terminals at Swartz Bay or Duke Point. Catching the 9:00 a.m. ferry from Tsawwassen gives plenty of time to shop or sightsee in Victoria before taking a leisurely scenic drive to Port Renfrew via Sooke.

The resort's fishing packages include all meals served in their main lodge on fishing days. Uncle Mike Hovey really knows how to cook fish, and his gourmet seafood meals alone are worth returning for! The huge picnic hamper that accompanies every boat is filled with bunwishes, snacks, dessert items, and lots of cold drinks.

Although meals are not provided on the day of arrival or the morning you leave, all accommodations have full kitchens, and access to barbecues outside. Or you can eat at a nearby restaurant on those two occasions.

With a group of four, we usually stay in one of their big chalets, but this time each couple were housed in two of their motel units. Other than a slightly steep staircase, the comfy rooms each have two queen-sized beds, kitchens, and lots of hot water for showers after a day of fishing.

Trailhead Resort has three brawny 10-metre Silver Streak sport fishers to handle all but hurricane-force conditions on the long run to Swiftsure Bank. The sea conditions were unseasonably rough on both days we fished, and many boats had turned back or had left the fishing grounds early, but boats were able to hang in where the guides knew we would get fish.

For a small fee, our catches of salmon and halibut were cleaned, processed into meal-sized portions, vacuum-packed and flash frozen. We were able to drop the makings of many a fine fish supper right into our freezers when we got back home.

We really like the extra night of accommodation after our last day of fishing. No need to drive the windy highway to the ferry until we had a good night's rest.

And best of all, Trailhead Resort has some of the best prices for their fishing packages.

Room Tip: All rooms and chalets are comfortable. Motel rooms require climbing stairs and might be a problem for those with mobility problems.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OneWayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The hiker huts were an oasis after the gruelling Juan de Fuca trail. The huts were clean and warm and it felt great to have a hot shower! The manager even allowed us to use the hottub before and after our trek as business for the resort was slow. She was very accommodating and answered all of our questions. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

It was a small, cute little cabin. Very clean and presentable (home-like feel). We only stayed one night and found it to be a pleasant stay.

Reasonably close to food (pub/restaurant is within walking distance) and nature.

Unfortunately we did not have the time to check out the gift shop, but at first glance seemed worthwhile.

I would recommend to friends and family (and would stay again!)

Room Tip: Reasonable accommodation on the upper store (reasonably quiet)
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews