We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couple”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Tijmen's Eagle
Tijmen's Eagle
Tijmen's Eagle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Karendieh...
Helena, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couple”
Reviewed 27 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a great time at the Azure Blue Beach House. The house is very well equipped and the views are stunning and mesmerizing. The active eagle nest next door was a huge bonus.
Totally recommend this property as a peaceful get away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist68...
1 review
“Pleasant setting”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A wonderful setting. A welcome pack of milk etc would have been appreciated especially as we were not familiar with the venue. Barbeque needs attention on the verge of dangerous. An iron and ironing board would have been useful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMGeneva
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A wonderful house with amazing views. The pictures don't do it justice. For a two bedroom house, the living, dining, kitchen and deck areas are very spacious. We appreciated the binoculars for the hours we spent gazing at the water and the great selection of books on local wildlife.

We very much enjoyed staying in this house and using it as a base for whale watching off Telegraph Cove with Stubbs, Grizzly Bear watching with Tide Rip and exploring San Josef Bay with Cove Adventures in Port Hardy. Would love to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willem w
Bergschenhoek, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Happy reunion with a beachfront jewel”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Azure Blue Beach house in Port McNeill is the place to be when visiting the North Island. It is comfortable, very clean, well equipped (good internet!) and has a very pleasant cosiness, with in many details the enjoyable personal touch of owner Rosalind.
Our first visit had been in July, 2016. Right away, we felt at home again when returning to this beachfront jewel. After having decided to renew the Vancouver Island experience in 2017, we scheduled the trip around the Azure Blue Beach house’s availability. We did not want to miss it!
The view is one of the many unique qualities of the beach house. Kitchen and living have a splendid view on the Broughton Strait’s water, on Haddington and Malcolm Islands and on the distant Coast Range mountains of BC’s mainland. Use one of the provided binoculars to scan the sea, and see whether you can spot dolphins, purpoises or – may be – whales. Or deer and eagles. We saw dolphins in 2016, deer in both years. And eagles? Eagles have a nest in a nearby tree. The resident pair this year was raising one (huge) chick. How thrilling to follow all the eagle parents’ hassle on or around the beach and the nest, feeding the chick, or simply remaining in its vicinity. For safety, or to comfort the offspring? The chick – with love named ‘Tijmen’s Eagle’ by Rosalind - one day came over to visit us. It remained about 20 minutes, seated on the deck’s railing, about 6 meters from the kitchen door. Awesome!
Take one of the lazy seats on the deck, and follow the BC ferry Quadra Queen II on its multiple daily voyages to Alert Bay on Cormorant Island, or Sointula on Malcolm Island, just to mention one of the vessels that pass in front of the house. In 2016, we were surprised to see a huge cruise ship sneak between Haddington and Malcolm Islands. This year, this part of the famous Inside Passage between Alaska and Vancouver ran north of Malcolm Island, apparently, and the ocean palaces remained out of sight. Enjoy the huge and well maintained garden, but be careful not to scare the cute blacktail deer that often roam the garden and this year also the (pebble) beach.
Take your coffee, or glass of wine to the deck, and enjoy the sunset. The colours are unreal.
Port McNeill is less than 10 minutes by car, and location for the BC ferry to the islands mentioned. Excellent place to do your shopping. We did not try the restaurants. Telegraph Cove, the famous boardwalk harbour resort, is 20-25 minutes away. If you want to see whales, or grizzlies, TC is your starting point.
We joined two Stubb’s Island Whale Watching tours, and can only highly recommend the company. We will long cherish the memories of exciting encounters with humpbacks, killer whales, Stellar sealions, seals, Dall purpoises, eagles and many other birds you would find on the ocean. Want fresh grilled salmon? Join the Telegraph Cove salmon BBQ, x-times per week in the summer season (you must inquire, and reservations are recommended). We’ll do the grizzly tour another time.
A different trip was to interesting Sointula on Malcolm Island. A moderately rough gravel road took us and our squeaking MPV to Bere Point on the north shore of the island, providing us with some breathtaking views on Queen Charlotte Strait, and the pebble beaches. The day before we had during our 2nd whale watching tour seen 20-odd killer whales passing the island at a cable length of the pebble beaches. From the land, we unfortunately saw no whales.
Other trip we did this time: Port Hardy, including Coal Harbour. Pretty remote, and quiet, but nice.
Thank you, Rosalind. It was – again – unforgettable, and we will stay in touch!

Tijmen, Liesbeth and Willem (from the Netherlands)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing