We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Lodge at Arrow Lakes(Nakusp)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$420
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Valhalla Inn(New Denver)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
20
47
18
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
47
18
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hotelhoneymoon suitestopped for lunchgreat patioarrow lakegorgeous view of the laketype foodbed was comfortablebritish columbiahot springsdecklakesidebcscenerysinkcanadasummer
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Nakusp is a very quaint lakeside community with an interesting mix of shops that are fun to browse through. It also has a very nice lakeside trail. The Leland Hotel is centrally located with the lakeside trail in front of its patio and the main street shops a half block away. The hotel advertises itself as the oldest wooden hotel in British Columbia. We stopped for brunch on the patio on a beautiful sunny day and it was just an excellent experience. The food was pub style and very good and the service was good. The scenery was some of BC's best. We will stop again the next time we travel through Nakusp.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolsticeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

My wife and I had dinner on the patio over looking the lake on our recent motorcycle trip through BC and Alberta.The Leland hotel is a historic hotel. It was built in 1892 and is thought to be the oldest continuously operating hotel made of wood in BC. The service was great (young lady - sorry didn't catch her name) and the food and beverage quality excellent.

Room Tip: Request a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fayo400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This is the oldest hotel in B.C., and it oozes old-time charm.The pub has a rough and tumble appearance, and steep stairs lead to the bedrooms. The bedroom was like a step back in time with lace curtains at hte windows, but it had all the creature comfort we could ask for. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was small but adequate, and everything was spanking clean.A large fridge, microwave and coffee maker is also provided. The hotel has a beautiful,tree-shaded patio with a great view of the lake, and we had a small meal( salad), which was tasty and fresh. Breakfast was good with average prices. This place can be highly recommended as a home base to enjoy the neighboring hot springs of Nakusp and Halcyon Hot Springs.Please bear in mind that this older hotel does not have elevators, and as a result it is not suitable for everybody.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank CharlotteKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to Nakusp for years but have never stayed at the Leland until now. I think next time the other hotels are full we will just camp...
We checked in Thursday night. They have us the Honeymoon suite, but we would have to switch on Friday because it was already booked by another. We agreed to this.
The room was old but cute and fairly clean. The curtains on the windows looking out to the lake and restaurant patio were lace so did nothing to block Morning light or give much privacy. The problem? NO WATER. None. Couldn't flush, and neither sink nor tub worked. When we told the bar keep they said "oh yeah, it might be a city problem" and offered no solution. We didn't have any water for our one sleep on uncomfortable bed.
The next morning the housekeeping brought us to our new room #16 and graciously let us check the water was running. It was, however DONT BOOK #16 it was incredibly small and grungy and had a funky smell and you couldn't open the window to air that out. The bed was again uncomfortable.
For night 3 we moved to room 5, which was better! Fair size room, fairly clean and Great Lake view. The bed and pillows were much better as well. However at 5:30am a young intoxicated woman was roaming the halls knocking on and trying doorknobs, so I didn't get the sleep in I was hoping for.
In the end, there wasn't any compensation for the no water- just a "sorry about your luck" shrug from the manager which was disappointing. I wasn't even expecting a refund but he didn't offer ANYTHING. No bottled water to drink, no drink on the house when he served us at the bar.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smgee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Enjoyed a pleasant lunch on the deck admiring the beach front along Arrow Lake. just a light lunch but food was good....and service was excellent... terrific view .... a little smoky from the forest fires unfortunately.... would recommend for a drink and good pub type food

Room Tip: can't rate rooms only stopped for lunch on the deck of the restaurant / pub
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Kawakwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews