We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
20
49
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
49
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest hotel stopped for lunch arrow lake great patio type food no elevator bed was comfortable british columbia hot springs deck lakeside bc motorcycle mountains scenery furnishings canada
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This is the oldest hotel in B.C., and it oozes old-time charm.The pub has a rough and tumble appearance, and steep stairs lead to the bedrooms. The bedroom was like a step back in time with lace curtains at hte windows, but it had all the creature comfort we could ask for. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was small but adequate, and everything was spanking clean.A large fridge, microwave and coffee maker is also provided. The hotel has a beautiful,tree-shaded patio with a great view of the lake, and we had a small meal( salad), which was tasty and fresh. Breakfast was good with average prices. This place can be highly recommended as a home base to enjoy the neighboring hot springs of Nakusp and Halcyon Hot Springs.Please bear in mind that this older hotel does not have elevators, and as a result it is not suitable for everybody.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank CharlotteKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to Nakusp for years but have never stayed at the Leland until now. I think next time the other hotels are full we will just camp...
We checked in Thursday night. They have us the Honeymoon suite, but we would have to switch on Friday because it was already booked by another. We agreed to this.
The room was old but cute and fairly clean. The curtains on the windows looking out to the lake and restaurant patio were lace so did nothing to block Morning light or give much privacy. The problem? NO WATER. None. Couldn't flush, and neither sink nor tub worked. When we told the bar keep they said "oh yeah, it might be a city problem" and offered no solution. We didn't have any water for our one sleep on uncomfortable bed.
The next morning the housekeeping brought us to our new room #16 and graciously let us check the water was running. It was, however DONT BOOK #16 it was incredibly small and grungy and had a funky smell and you couldn't open the window to air that out. The bed was again uncomfortable.
For night 3 we moved to room 5, which was better! Fair size room, fairly clean and Great Lake view. The bed and pillows were much better as well. However at 5:30am a young intoxicated woman was roaming the halls knocking on and trying doorknobs, so I didn't get the sleep in I was hoping for.
In the end, there wasn't any compensation for the no water- just a "sorry about your luck" shrug from the manager which was disappointing. I wasn't even expecting a refund but he didn't offer ANYTHING. No bottled water to drink, no drink on the house when he served us at the bar.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smgee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Enjoyed a pleasant lunch on the deck admiring the beach front along Arrow Lake. just a light lunch but food was good....and service was excellent... terrific view .... a little smoky from the forest fires unfortunately.... would recommend for a drink and good pub type food

Room Tip: can't rate rooms only stopped for lunch on the deck of the restaurant / pub
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Kawakwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

While touring the town stopped for a drink and applies on the deck.

From the outside street area it looks like a biker bar but the deck and restaurant have a different feel.

The specialty beer selection wasn't good enough for our beer lovers however no complaints on the nachos. Just note that the small easily does two and a large would work for a group. Small was $12.95 and it was cheesy. We also tried the sweet potato fries and also a hot.

Friendly staff, great view and tasty appetizers made it a hit. Could the bikers get a muffler, I almost died of shock as I walked through outside they started their bike. Haven't jumped that high in awhile. Only 5 bikes there not a bar as seen on tv or movies. Doable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The Leland Hotel is a bikers or travellers oasis. This is a must to stop at on your journey through the Kootney. The heritage hotel, bar and restaurant has so much history. The restaurant has a patio overlooking the serene lake and is the perfect place to sit and relax with a cold one. The service is exceptional and the food delicious.

It is also situated by the most unique shops with one of a kind designs,gifts and crystals.

Do stopped and enjoy the experience of the Leland hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews