We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I recommend the management” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Inn Blue River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandman Inn Blue River
Ranked #1 of 1 Blue River B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I recommend the management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

The courtesy, friendliness and professionalism of Manager Gerrit Kruger and his wife, Martie, take the rating for this hotel from average to the next level. The hotel is currently being renovated. We were offered one of the newly upgraded rooms on the top floor, but because we wanted to be close to our vehicle, we chose a room on the ground floor. Although it was obviously not renovated and the bathroom fittings were older, everything was sparkling clean. The beds were excellent - very comfortable, with quality bedding - all very fresh and clean.
The hospitality of the management made one feel that you were staying over with friends, rather than at a hotel.
South African travellers may feel especially at home, as the Krugers are Afrikaans-speaking.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susantrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    39
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
16
41
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

We couldn't disagree more with the previous review .Decided it was excellent value for money. Obviously further on with refurbishment. Room was large, clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate. Not overly quiet as on main highway but OK, though more aware of distant freight trains than traffic! On site restaurant was good for evening meal and breakfast. We were well received by the Krugers ( Gerritt & Martha?) and Mrs Kruger spoke enthusiastically about the plans for the Business Center etc. She also recommended we walked to Eleanor Lake about 20 mins or so away which we did. What a gem! Very beautiful with lots of community amenities including a bathing beach. We were well impressed. Great community spirit seemed in evidence. In our opinion a good stopover. No need to carry onto Clearwater or Valemont! And we certainly didn't like the look of the other establishment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breizhlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Have travelled globally for 25 years and this was one of the worst western hotels I have ever stayed in. It was overpriced, dirty, uncomfortable, lousy amenities and rude staff/management to boot. How this place can actually be in the Sandman hotel chain is beyond me - I am that that disgusted, i will NEVER stay at a Sandman Hotel in Canada!
We stayed in what was supposed to be a renovated room, what a joke, I have stayed in cleaner and better finished rooms in remote parts of Asia and Africa.
If you can;t get a room at the only other hotel in town, definately keep going and stay at Clearwater or Valemont.
WHAT A DUMP!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olbear1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinSandman, Regional Director at Sandman Inn Blue River, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
As Regional Director for Sandman Hotel Group we value all feedback from our guests and take guest concerns very seriously. At the time of this review we were right in the middle of our major renovations and I apologize if we did not meet this guests expectations and have emailed guest to discuss. Blue River Sandman is currently being completey renovated with new windows, roof, flooring, flat screen TV's, top of the line Satellite Internet, upgraded beds and linens, new artwork and many other renovations and upgraded ammenities. We will also be adding Business Center and Dry Room for snowmobilers as well very soon. Our new on site management couple Gerrit and Martha would be proud to welcome you to the Sandman Inn Blue River.

Yours in Hospitality... Kevin White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blue River hotels

Kelowna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

I stayed at the Blue River Sandman in September. It is right on the highway. There is not much in Blue River except a gas station but the area is very beautiful. This is more of a motel style building but when you get in the rooms they are quite nice, and very similar to any Sandman I have been to. The staff are nice and make you feel at home. It looks to me like this is the best game in this little town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel because it was getting late and we wanted to get off the road. It was a Sandman so we figured it would be alright. Wrong! Our credit card was charged right away and the agent tossed our key to us. Thanks.

Walking into the room, we noticed a long orange cord connecting to the TV. We could have easily tripped on it but somehow we stayed safe. Went to use the washroom but the light didn't work. We had to put a lamp on the counter and use that for light. Again, not a good situation. There was hair in the bathtub too. The decor was painfully dated and we couldn't wait to get out of there in the morning. Luckily, we had to hit the road early.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue River
76.3 km away
Glacier Mountain Lodge
Glacier Mountain Lodge
#2 of 4 in Blue River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.1 km away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
76.3 km away
Blue River Motel
Blue River Motel
#3 of 4 in Blue River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
77.0 km away
Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing
12.9 km away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
19.8 km away
Rivermount Motel
Rivermount Motel
#1 of 2 in Little Fort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Inn Blue River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Blue River

Property: Sandman Inn Blue River
Address: 795 Highway 5 South | PO Box 31, Blue River, British Columbia V0E 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Blue River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blue River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandman Inn Blue River 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Vancouver and Edmonton, Blue River is a hot spot for heli-skiing, hiking, and fishing. Only blocks away from the town centre, our Inn features 36 newly renovated guest rooms, including rooms with kitchenettes and an on-site restaurant. Enjoy everything this town has to offer from our convenient central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sandman Inn Blue River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Blue River Hotel Blue River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing